We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$148/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$206
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$230
US$199
AscendHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brandywine River Hotel(Chadds Ford)(Great Value!)
US$146
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$120/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$200
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$185/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Sentinel Motel(West Chester)(Great Value!)
US$154
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brinton Hotel(West Chester)(Great Value!)
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn At Wilmington(Wilmington)(Great Value!)
US$117
US$112
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveller rating
99
18
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
99
18
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslongwood suitelongwood gardenssitting roomfront porcheach morningother guestslocal attractionsb and bfresh fruitnice visitwe loved our staybreakfast was deliciousboth morningswithin walking distanceshort drivewould definitely stay here againthree nights
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 122 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2010

This well-maintained B&B is conveniently located near Brandywine Valley attractions (Longwood Gardens, Brandywine River Museum). Our hostess Gilja was cheerful, eager to please, and served a lovely breakfast. Pay attention, however if you are booking a room with a private, but "adjacent" bathroom. That means the bathroom is yours only, but you walk out into the hall to get to it. Gilja provides robes in the closet to make that easier. But if you were planning on stumbling to the bathroom in your underwear, think again. Gilja provides good restaurant recommendations. We had a great dinner at Catherine's. Sound from the street and other guests was noticeable, but not enough for us to turn on the provided white noise machine. The entrance is actually on N. Garfield street, so don't be alarmed if your GPS directs you to a barren rock wall on State Street.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Udi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2009

My husband and I were very pleased with our stay at Kennett House Inn B & B in Kennett Square, Pa. Our room had lots of thoughtful extras: robes, high quality linens, well-placed lamps, and it was spotless. The host Gilja took great pride in her breakfast, as well she should. Good food, perfectly served. Comfortable and friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanellen9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2009

Gilja does a fantastic job of maintaining this grand old Arts and Crafts style home and of taking care of her guests. We thought the breakfasts were great---I can't imagine needing more or better, and she was a lovely host. My husband and I like B&B's and would highly recommend this one to fellow travelers. It is a great place from which to explore the beautiful Brandywine Valley (highly recommend Longwood and the Brandywine Museum---we enjoyed both shuttle tours out of Brandywine...fantastic tour guides)

Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank blountstreetadvisors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2009

Not a fan of B&Bs but none the less have stayed in many throughout the U.S & Europe. The Kennett House is spectacular--- more like a boutique inn with its quality ammenities & tasteful decor. No detail is overlooked. The breakfasts are gourmet made with the freshest ingredients. Gilja is a hostess par excellence. We stayed in the Delaware Room, very private, very quiet. The Kennett House location is perfect. We walked to the Kennet Inn(just a restaurant-no rooms despite the name) & enjoyed lovely dinners outside on 2 consecutive evenings. A very short drive & we were at The Hagley, Winterthur, Longwood Gardens, Brandywine Museum, & wine tasdting at the winery. Leaving the Kennett House was painful after our luxurious stay. Gilja felt like a dear, dear friend.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMCPittsburgh_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2008

This is a fantastic historic home, with many unique features. It's located really well, close to Brandywine Battlefield, right on the edge of Amish country, and within easy driving distance of Philadelphia. The town itself is very quiet and friendly, and the place lends itself to a relaxing stay away from the hustle and bustle of the big city.
The rooms itself are all nicely updated, while retaining their authentic character. Bathrooms have all the amenities, including great supplies from high-quality soap and shampoo, to little touches like q-tips and cotton balls. It is these little accents that make the place so incredibly comfortable.
The beds are better than some of the bedding at high-priced hotels: very soft sheets but firm, good quality matresses and pillows.
As a business traveler, I especially appreciated the (free) WIFI connection throughout the property, as well as the good selection of channels on TV.
The innkeeper was extremely accommodating and made you feel like part of the family without being intrusive or awkward about it. The breakfast she cooks up is made to order and so plentiful and varied (with fresh fruits, as well as delicious bacon), that it is a true joy to come down for that meal. My favorite memory was waking up in the morning to the delicious smell of fresh bacon and coffee from the kitchen downstairs.
Great place! I'll be sure to return.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BavarianDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews