We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$511
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Swagman Chalet(Perisher Valley)
US$673
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Snowy Gums Chalet(Smiggin Holes)
US$720
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Winterhaus Lodge(Thredbo Village)
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Alpenhorn Lodge(Thredbo Village)(Great Value!)
US$375
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$281
US$274
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Perisher Valley Hotel(Perisher Valley)
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sundeck Hotel(Perisher Valley)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Marritz Hotel(Perisher Valley)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
33
10
2
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
10
2
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool tablequirky barsmaller sideother guestsski tubebreakfast and dinnerquad chairkids dinnerfront doordining roomdrying roomfamily holidayend of the daynight skiingfood was amazingkarenspa
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 50 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2018

What sets Chalet Sonnenhof apart from all the other on-snow accomodation options at Perisher is owners Karen and Nev. Every time i have stayed at 'the Hoff', they have gone above and beyond to make sure not only myself, but all guests feel right at home.

Then after a great day out on the hill, there's nothing better than being able to come back to a delicious (and filling) meal and quiet (at times!) drink at the bar! The rooms are cosy, warm and always clean. The one downside is when i have to leave knowing i won't be able to visit my home away from home again til next season! Amazing location with easy access to the Quad Express - perfect!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room that looks out over the valley - an amazing sight to wake up to!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Alice J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

After an amazing day on the ski slopes there are some basic requirements that enable you to get up and go for it the next day.
The smiling, helpful owners and their team at Chalet Sonnenhoff far exceeds the basics.
The location is ideal with the first run of the day being from the front door to the resorts chairlifts. They offer pick up in the afternoon to spare those tired legs. Once back at the chalet soothe those tired muscles in the spa and sauna.
There's plenty of character to the quirky bar where you'll find other guests eager to share a drink and tales of the days fun in the snow.
After a wonderful home cooked meal you could have a game of pool, sit by the fire or as I did most nights retire to your comfortable room, curl up in a ball and fall asleep with a huge grin from ear to ear.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Matt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Perfect doesn't come close .
My daughter and I arrived on Friday and were picked up from the ski tube by Nev and dropped to the Chalet where Karen greeted us . The room was comfortable and toasty warm . The three coarse dinners were excellent , prepared by a real chef with a good wine list and the a la carte breakfast was served at 8 , the eggs benni were a treat. The bar was fully stocked and made a welcome sight at the end of each day with friendly accommodating staff .Plenty of areas to relax with ragging fires , pool table , TV's and lounges to chill . We skied out each day with an easy run down to the village and had the option to be picked up near the quad chair bridge at 430 to 5 each day for the ride home .
Cloudless days mixed with soft snow we'll be back .
Jayde and Waz

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warwick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

My fiance and I stayed for 4 nights at Chalet Sonnenhof.

Karen and Neville were lovely hosts and greeted us warmly when we arrived. Our room was ready early too which was lovely. The room we had was on the smaller side (let's say they were cosy) but given we were there to snowboard, we weren't phased. They were clean, tidy and the beds comfortable, so that was the key for us.

There was a drying room for your outer snow wear which was great, and a section to leave your boards and skis safely inside. The oversnow pick up each day was great, and the drop off to the centre when we had to depart was much appreciated.

The food for dinner each night was delicious, very well presented and were great servings. Breakfast was equally impressive, with a variety of cereals, toast, cooked bacon and eggs (cooked as you arrive in the dining room, so they are never cold and always fresh).

The only thing that detracted from our stay was the inconsiderate behaviour of both children and their parents on the floor above us. The rooms are not the most sound proof, and I do sleep with ear plugs, but unfortunately the sound got through. Unfortunately our sleep quality was quite poor because of this. The children on the second floor ran around uncontrollably (it literally thundered across the roof in our room) and despite my best efforts to politely address this with the parents, I was treated as though I was a thorn in their side and my request to have their children walk upstairs went unheard. Whilst kids will be kids, the quiet enjoyment of all guests should be respected by other guests. Our room shared a wall with the stairwell to the upper floor, so it was quite loud very early in the morning with the stairwell door slamming closed from guests on the upper level.

Thank you to Karen and Neville for your hospitality.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the stair well if you want to have a good night's sleep
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BrookeDillon11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

Friendly hosts- Karen & Neville, great bar staff (make a mean margarita!) and talented chef. Lovely heated spa (perfect after a day on the slopes), quirky bar to unwind and fantastic 3 course meals + log fire to chill out with a Gluwein before bed (very comfy!). Great to get picked up off the slopes (you could walk, but who wants to in boots) and hang gear up in drying room. Great value for money- in fact we stayed an extra night!

Room Tip: We experienced 4 different rooms as a group and all were good!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debthechef66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews