We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
36
10
2
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
36
10
2
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews few drinks pool table quirky bar smaller side quad chair ski tube other guests breakfast and dinner snow fields kids dinner front door dining room drying room family holiday end of the day night skiing karen
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2017 via mobile

This hotel is near the piste and has a beautiful view at the mountain. The owners are really very kind and very helpful to make your stay as comfortable as possible. There is a big snooker table and the waitress was so kind to teach us the rules. The food is good, the cook loves to put a nice breakfast or dinner at the table.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Quirine52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomPerisherValley, General Manager at Chalet Sonnenhof, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Thank you for taking time to write your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you return one day. Kind regards from all of us, at the "Hof"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

Second time at Sonnenhof. This time we brought our 4 years old boy and my mom. We stayed on a family room super comfortable. They have an early dinner organized for all kids and later for adults. Food was amazing and staff friendly. The big jacuzzi was a must after a day on the snow plus our boy lovers it.

Stayed: September 2016
Thank Renato G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomPerisherValley, Manager at Chalet Sonnenhof, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2018

Thank you for your review :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2016

I am a repeat offender and have returned to Chalet Sonnenhof at least four times. Ok it is not the Hilton, the rooms are small but they are clean and if you get a room at the front of the Chalet amazing view of Front Valley. I have traveled the world and I have stayed in tents to the Hilton at Whistler. So why do I come back... the staff are amazing and the food is always excellent. It feels like coming home after a day of skiing (Neville picks you up with a smile from Front Valley or you can walk) to a warm spa/sauna, cold drink and amazing food. I love that the kids eat their meals before the adults and they can watch DVDs and just be kids.
Yes, the bar is small but the Margaritas are second to none and you can get a cold Beer, Cider or whatever Spirit you want. I love the place, Karen and Neville along with the staff each year make it feel like coming home without the work.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Front Valley.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomPerisherValley, Manager at Chalet Sonnenhof, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2018

Rachel, Thank you for your review :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Karen and Neville were very hospitable and we felt very welcome at the Sonnenhof. We met some lovely people. A 3 course dinner and breakfast was included and the food was great. They fed all the kids prior to the adults which was a great idea as they watched DVD's while the adults had time to enjoy their meal and the company. There is plenty of space in the Sonnenhof for the amount of guests that it accommodates. The rooms are adequate although it would have been nice to have a bar fridge in the room. There is a spa which was also good. For those that come back from skiing a bit earlier, it would have been nice to be opened before 4.30pm. Overall it is a great convenient location. Nev will pick you up from the bridge each afternoon between 4.30 and 5pm and he drops you to the oversnow to and from the chalet with your baggage. Lovely people and we will stay again. Hannah, Georgia and the girls were also fantastic and very helpful.

Room Tip: The views facing the Village 8 were nice and sunny and had a good view of the Mountain.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomPerisherValley, Manager at Chalet Sonnenhof, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2016

Thank you for your review, we would love to have you and your family stay with us again, its guests like you that make us feel the job we do is worthwhile :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

Friendly staff, nice food and great views from the restaurant. Bar very basic. Rooms disappointing. No TV, small, very small bathroom, bad pillows and could hear everything going on three rooms down and above. Difficult to get out to other facilities. Paid an average of $500 per night! One step up from a backpackers.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank BradsEcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomPerisherValley, Manager at Chalet Sonnenhof, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2016

Hi, I'm glad you enjoyed the meals and our staff are friendly and attentive. We are lucky to have such a happy work environment. The rooms are small compared to hotels and motels in the city, we can't remedy this," it is what it is". The rooms are comfortable, warm and clean. We understand everyone is different when it comes to pillows so we offer a range of pillows for your selection, just ask a member of staff.
Before booking you should have visited our website, we advertise comfortable "lodge style" accommodation, and never claim to have TV's in the rooms. We have several TV's in the lodge for your convenience. With your accommodation you receive a delicious 3 course dinner and full breakfast delivered to the table by our experienced staff. We also offer courtesy transport daily from the lifts as well as a spa/sauna when you come back from skiing. I'm sorry if we didn't meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews