We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great group lunch”

Rick Stein at Bannisters
Ranked #2 of 10 Restaurants in Mollymook
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Our restaurant is a reflection of Rick's passion for seafood and the coastal lifestyle which he has enjoyed for most of his life. As Rick says: "nothing is so exhilarating as fresh fish, simply cooked". He believes that fresh seafood should speak for itself. While he enjoys occasional fine dining, his food is much more about what he really likes to eat: a plate of Clyde River oysters, a pot of Illawarra prawns with mayonnaise, a mound of spanner crab, a slice of blue eye or a perfectly grilled sand whiting. We like our service to be informal but observant and we have a local team who will greet you with a warm, genuine welcome.
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

We were a group of 6 in a restaurant full of couples. We had a really lovely lunch here. Food was excellent and good sizes. I had 2 entrees and we shared 3 desserts. I was so full! Wine list was good by the glass and our waitress was knowledgeable about the menu. I'd return (probably as a couple where we may have more luck getting a table with a view).

Thank Jeanenekke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lola W, Guest Relations Manager at Rick Stein at Bannisters, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Rick Stein at Bannisters.

We do have a lot more options for window seats for couples and only a few options for larger tables. We look forward to seeing you next time.

Kind Regards,

Lola Wood

BANNISTERS HOTELS
Bannisters by the Sea | Bannisters Pavilion
P 02 4455 3044
E feedback@bannisters.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 117 of 1,150 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2018

What we expected from Rick's menu selection, being a keen observer of his cooking odyssey. Fresh vibrant ingredients, good combinations, unpretentious & importantly the seafood is left to be the hero of the dish. Let it speak its character & quality.
Entrees of Grilled scallops with toasted hazelnut & coriander butter.
Coconut Chilli prawns with Cumin Puris. Both finger licking good.
Scallops perfectly cooked!!
Mains: Bombay Salmon Masala Curry, coconut spice paste, tomatoes & tamarind.
& Californian Fish Stew w Snapper, Sword fish, local mussels, squid & Prawn.
Both delicate and well balanced in flavour. The side of broccolini with capers, chervil and Dijon Vinaigrette was the perfect choice. We were lucky enough to get a seat outside facing the view. The white wine of choice was fab! We loved it. The main entrance/Lounge area with bookcase, art, wall tiles etc is a light, colourful & uplifting space. Good vibes, thank you.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DonnaH939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lola W, Guest Relations Manager at Rick Stein at Bannisters, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2018

Dear DonnaH939,

We're delighted to read you enjoyed your experience at Rick Stein at Bannisters.
I do hope we will see you again soon!

Kind Regards,

Lola Wood

BANNISTERS HOTELS
Bannisters by the Sea | Bannisters Pavilion
P 02 4455 3044
E feedback@bannisters.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018

Our party of 11 was split between two tables--that's the restaurant policy--but although our intent was to be served all together, the tables were treated entirely separately and with no attempt at coordination. One table finished their mains well before the other table had even been served theirs.

The staff dropped off meals but no one seemed to be responsible for checking that ordered items arrived--and, as it happened, one of our party's cocktail--and later, his meal--were never delivered, requiring various of us to have to get up at various times to try to get the attention of the staff. . . the kitchen scrambled to produce our friend's missing lamb dish, which was delivered about 20 minutes after the rest of us had finished.

Those were the lowlights, but honestly, the evening was marred by faulty service from the very beginning: . . a request to be provided a separate glass for red wine never fulfilled. . . we were left unchecked-on for long periods of time, with dirty plates piled up on our table for a very long time before they were cleared. . . We basically just gave up on getting prompt attention from the staff, even getting out of our seats to fetch our own missing glassware.

The timing between courses was haphazard: we got our entrees fairly promptly, but there was a very long gap between entrees and mains that is hard to justify given that we were one of the first set of diners on a Thursday evening.

Our server apologized and said she would 'comp' our bill for our friend's late-arriving lamb dish. When the bill arrived, the lamb dish had been dropped off as promised--but we found an additional error: that we'd been charged for two bottles of wine instead of one (we'd ordered a second bottle, but they were out of it). The server duly left again to correct this error, taking the wine off our bill. BUT the next morning, when reviewing our final bill, we discovered that the "comp'ed" lamb dish had been popped back onto our bill. Irritating, frustrating, and now, too late to do anything about it.

When things started going awry during dinner, I started to study the dining room to try to figure out why things were going so spectacularly wrong. It seems apparent that there's a need for a complete service overhaul and re-allocation of staff concentration. For instance, couldn't the host/floor manager be more involved in what's going on? (After greeting and seating us, the host/floor manager never once moved in our direction the entire evening, keeping close to the host stand and engaging in light conversation with just a few select tables near him.) Our server seemed to be the only person taking orders for a very large section of tables, with 'runners' then delivering items. It was simply too many tables for one person to handle well, leaving her little time to return to our table to check on us. This approach to service--orders taken by one person and fulfilled by another-- only works if nothing ever goes wrong. There need to be adequate servers to re-visit tables at important intervals, to ensure that the drinks-and-food runners make the requisite deliveries to the table.

As to the food? Nice sauces and flavors, okay presentation, BUT. . . Portion sizes were puzzlingly uneven: the lamb dishes, for example, were piled high with multiple potatoes and generous slices of meat, while the seafood dishes were in some cases --e.g. the scallops--laughably tiny. Also, most of us had arrived planning on ordering the very popular and much-lauded fish pie, only to find it had been unaccountably dropped from the menu, a fact that puzzled the server as much as it did us.

Would I go back? Maybe. I don't think I'd take another group there until the place addresses the really poor coordination of course delivery. It was, overall, a pretty disappointing experience, but it'll sure give us something to talk about for years to come!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank marji1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lola W, Guest Relations Manager at Rick Stein at Bannisters, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

Dear marji1,

Thank you so very much for your very informative review. We very much appreciate that you not only brought these issues to our attention but also took the time to observe how and why these things appeared to be going wrong.

We are very disappointed to read that you did not receive the service which we strive to provide and will certainly be addressing the issues you have mentioned.

We will be discussing the specifics of your feedback with our head chef and restaurant manager to ensure they are addressed immediately.

If you would like to contact me directly on the below details, I would be delighted to discuss your feedback further.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to look after you in the future to ensure that you receive the Rick Stein experience which we strive to provide and will continue to improve on.

Kind Regards,

Lola Wood

BANNISTERS HOTELS
Bannisters by the Sea | Bannisters Pavilion
P 02 4455 3044
E feedback@bannisters.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018 via mobile

You can’t go to Mollymook without having a meal at Rick Stein at Bannisters. The flavour s never disappoint, the casual atmosphere adds to the ambiance and the staff are excellent. A must for all foodies

Thank hidee5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lola W, Guest Relations Manager at Rick Stein at Bannisters, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

We're so glad you enjoyed your experience at Rick Stein at Bannisters.

See you next time!!!

Lola Wood

BANNISTERS HOTELS
Bannisters by the Sea | Bannisters Pavilion
P 02 4455 3044
E feedback@bannisters.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018 via mobile

Six of us went to Mollymook with a friend from the UK specifically to visit Bannisters
We had all been to his Barnes restaurant in November and loved it.
Table not ready , had to sit in lounge and order cocktails ( added to bill)
I’m so sorry to say we were really disappointed:(
Service friendly but the waitress filled glasses with wine insitu with a different wine, poured without checking, shouldn’t happen in this class of restaurant .
My fish pie topping was very undercooked
Starter awful
None of our party were overwhelmed
Rick Stein you should visit Bannisters more often, your name is not enough
Great venue though

Thank Phetita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lola W, Guest Relations Manager at Rick Stein at Bannisters, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Dear Phetita,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give your feedback on your recent visit to Rick Stein at Bannisters.

We're sorry to read that you found your visit to be so underwhelming. We do agree that a change of wine without changing your glasses is not acceptable and we will be sure to pass this feedback onto our restaurant manager and sommelier to be immediately addressed with the floor staff.

We have Rick over every few months where he conducts food tastings, his last visit was last month and he is back in April. As with all feedback, we will be ensuring he gets your review also so any necessary action can be taken.

If you have any further specific feedback, please feel free to contact me on the details below.

Thank you again.

Lola Wood

BANNISTERS HOTELS
Bannisters by the Sea | Bannisters Pavilion
P 02 4455 3044
E feedback@bannisters.com.au


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rick Stein at Bannisters also viewed

Mollymook, Shoalhaven
 
Milton, Shoalhaven
Ulladulla, Shoalhaven
 

Been to Rick Stein at Bannisters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing