We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was good but it should be great !”
Review of Lorhiti Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lorhiti Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2017

Everyone MUST visit Lord Howe Island. It is a World Heritage site for good reason. Congruent with its magnificence, local providers should therefore be committed to working together to provide services that are congruent with the extraordinary experiences offered by LHI. That they didn't and probably don't was disappointing.

It was July School Holidays and most of the island services were in close down mode. Apparently, fatigue from the summer deluge of visitors had set in. Instead of joyfully magnetising Australasian families to this haven during the freshness of winter and blowing us out of the water with extraordinary services and experiences, island businesses stop communicating with each other. They look after their own needs and go through the motions. Why they can't rest AFTER the holidays ... just three weeks later doesn't make sense. Anchorage Restaurant, Ron the Rambler, Clive and Dave from Greenback are exceptions to this sentiment.

Unfortunately, our place of stay was in such a floating mode and while the rooms and grounds are VERY GOOD, I would recommend that you thoroughly research other services before committing to Lorhiti. I suspect the owners will find this harsh, but most businesses need a jolt to be reminded of greater possibilities. Mine does all the time and so too does Lorhiti.

No room service over the 5 days ... not even a change of towels or sheets once ... no hot water upon arrival ... we ran out of coffee and milk in two days and were not even offered a satchel to replace them ... no continental breakfast package on offer ... and no brief as to what is happening on the island ... were noticeable shortcomings. We missed valuable experiences because we simply didn't know they were on. No one cared to inform us.

We chose Lorhiti because many reviews mentioned the wonderful and personal connection of guests with the owners. We saw their son at the start and at the end of our stay for the transfers to the airport. He was most pleasant, but apart from that, there was no contact with the very people who others had gloated about so wonderfully. We were disappointed.

In summary, most of our review is as much about the current silo, 'look after self' culture of the island, as it is about the Lorhiti experience, but the lack of responsibility from so many to provide an experience congruent with this glorious environment appears to be endemic. The island and its Board need a good shake up and re-visioning of its responsibilities. IF IT IS TO BE CUSTODIANS OF A WORLD HERITAGE SITE THEN BE COMMITTED TO OFFER WORLD CLASS SERVICES. Lorhiti should lift its eyes, raise its vision and re-energise its offerings. There is a magnificent opportunity on the island for those who care to do so. They will stand out like the beacons, which once steered ships into the clutches of this glorious and extraordinary environment. Bernie Kelly

Room Tip: Be clear before you arrive on what services are and aren't on offer, so you can make an informed...
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Bernie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorhiti, Public Relations Manager at Lorhiti Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Thank for your review of your visit to Lord Howe Island .

I can see you have taken time to write your review and I am pleased that we could respond . My response may be a little long but I feel I should address each point . Our property and guests are very important to us and we take all comments both positive and negative very seriously .

Firstly , we appreciate you making mention that the grounds and rooms are very good . Thank you . We believe the Apartments and grounds play a major part in our guest’s experience .

We have put considerable time into formulating an information pack which we email to guests prior to their arrival . Your information pack was sent on the 6th of May . This provides information on Weather , Transport , What’s On, What is provided in your apartment etc . We hope that this helps our guests with prior planning of their visit .

On arrival we then have further detailed information in the compendium in your apartment . I feel that perhaps some of this information may not have been read as some of your points you make are covered in this information.

You mention no room service , change of towels , replacement of coffee etc .

We advertise as "Self contained Apartments" (not a hotel) , where we provide enough towels & linen and a starter kit of Tea,coffee, milk etc , so that guests can enjoy a coffee or tea on arrival before going to the shops to buy their supplies for their self contained holiday apartment.

One of the attachments in the information sent to you was "What is provided in your apartment". This makes mention that the apartments are self contained and that a "Starter Kit" of tea & coffee is provided and that all linen is supplied.

Our compendium information makes mention that your apartment has been provided with towels and linen for your stay and that a full linen change is provided after 7 days. It mentions that daily room service is available at a charge .

Being self contained apartments , we make no mention of providing food anywhere in our advertising, so unfortunately there is no breakfast package on offer as you suggest. However , there are properties that do offer this on Lord Howe and as such advertise this service and charge accordingly .

It sounds as though a Hotel stay or different style of accommodation may have better suited your needs for your holiday but we are very transparent in what we offer at Lorhiti .

You mention that you missed valuable experiences because we simply didn't know they were on. No one cared to inform us.

Our Compendium in your apartment lists the following information...

TOURS: Please see your monthly news sheet . Reservations can be made by phone, at the shops or the Lord Howe Island Visitor’s Center , located at the Museum. A Monthly "Whats On" News sheet is provided in your apartment on arrival and spare copies are available in the Guest Transit Lounge. This lists all the tours and phone numbers , so that guests can use our free phone to speak personally with all tour operators.

The Compendium also lists...
TOUR INFORMATION FOLDER: Located in the Transit Lounge. ( This is quite detailed information on all the tours on offer on Lord Howe )

Also on display on the noticeboard in the Guests Transit lounge ( where the free phone is located) is a "What’s on today" sheet . This information is emailed to us from the visitor centre each week and displayed with updated tour information for guests .

You also mention....
You chose Lorhiti because many reviews mentioned the wonderful and personal connection of guests with the owners but that you were disappointed as you didn't receive this service.

We are very sorry that you did not experience this personal service . My wife went to your apartment several times over your stay to see you but you were out each time. She became concerned as your curtains seemed to be in the same position each day, so actually spoke to the guests in the apartment next door to ask if they had seen you . They said you seemed to be out all day . You also mentioned to my son on the way to the airport that you were "on the go the whole time", so perhaps this is why we didn't see you. My son did mention he spoke with you when providing transport for you to a restaurant one evening and again to your wife after your Mt Gower tour , to see how she enjoyed it . Having said that , I do sincerely apologize that we were not up to the standard you had hoped for and kept missing you when we went to your apartment.

You mention that properties on Lord Howe should be committed to offering WORLD CLASS SERVICE . I believe we do our best to offer our guests the best possible accommodation and service we can for the price that we charge.

Our service seems to be reflected in many reviews . Interestingly a guest who stayed in the same week as you wrote a review on another site on 8 July - the day prior to your review being published . They say......
"Owners seemed to genuinely care about their guests and make it their job to ensure their stay was excellent , though they were not at all intrusive"

I do realize that this review from another guest means nothing, as your experience was not the same and we do apologize .

Lord Howe has a cross section of accommodation . Rates at one of these properties is $1,450 per night per person . I do feel for the special winter package rate price you paid at Lorhiti , we did our best to offer you a value for money stay .

I do understand that you are reflecting your personal experience of your stay on Lord Howe , which is the great feature of Trip Advisor - to hear individual personal experiences .

We are very sorry that you felt the attention and service was lacking at Lorhiti . We have taken time to address your concerns and respond at length , as we take all feedback very seriously .

Your comments are taken on board and we will always continue to work hard to ensure our guests have the best experience possible .

We do hope you will visit Lord Howe again .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
There are newer reviews for Lorhiti Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2017

These self contained apartments are quiet, set in beautiful gardens and well equipped.The rooms are a good size and spotlessly clean, with quality linen and towels. There is a lovely walk through Banyon trees to Ned's Beach and an easy walk into "town", so this is a good location to access walks and beaches on Lord Howe. The staff were very supportive and helpful when our flights were cancelled for several days due to bad weather. They provide transfers to the airport and a transit room with a bathroom and kitchenette for arriving and departing guests, as well as the free transport to restaurants in the evenings. Thank you to Fletch, Di and Gary for a great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Virginia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorhiti, Public Relations Manager at Lorhiti Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Thanks for your fantastic review . It's great for us to hear back from guests and read how you enjoyed the gardens , well equipped apartments , location and appreciated the help from the staff .

With only 6 apartments , we love being able to look after our guests on a personal level . It is so good to hear back from guests and know it is appreciated . We are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

We do hope to welcome you back again . Please contact us direct for the best rates .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

Lorhiti is situated in beautiful gardens and is peacefully quiet. It is only a short walk to the "town" and it is a bonus to have a private walkway, through tropical foliage, to Neds beach. The apartment was spotlessly clean, had lovely crisp bed linen on a comfortable king size bed,and quality towels. The furniture in the living room was fairly basic but you are only there at night and it was perfectly adequate.The barbecue and outdoor areas were beautifully kept, once again in beautifully lush gardens.The transit room was convenient and also stocked books, games and a phone for free calls for restaurant bookings. The free transfer to all restaurants was fantastic and all restaurants will transfer you back to your accommodation. What great service!
The staff were friendly and efficient at all times.
The only disappointment was that we didn't realise that a lot of things on the island close down at this time of the year.

Room Tip: All rooms are very similar I would think.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Discerning983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorhiti, Public Relations Manager at Lorhiti Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Thanks for your fantastic review . We really appreciate your glowing comments and are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us .

We enjoy looking after our guests and love trying to make sure you have everything you need to enjoy your holiday both inside and outside the apartment .

It nice to read your comments on how much you enjoyed the apartments , gardens and facilities .

We do hope you will visit again . Please contact us direct for the best available rates .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017

modern clean unit with everything available for self catering holiday. Private access to spectacular Neds beach, excellent staff that will meet & greet at airport And will ensure you are transported(free) to your chosen eatery at 6pm each night

Room Tip: all rooms seem similar
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rik m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorhiti, Public Relations Manager at Lorhiti Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2017

Thanks for taking to time to post a review . Its great to hear you enjoyed your stay and the facilities and services offered at Lorhiti .

We are very fortunate to have spectacular Neds beach right at our doorstep and glad you enjoyed our location .

It was a pleasure having you with us and we hope to welcome you back again .

Please contact us direct for the best rate .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017 via mobile

Beautiful garden setting. Clean and thoughtfully equiped
including milk and a bar of chocolate in the fridge .Short walk to
stunning Ned's beach , shops and bike hire . Plenty of activities
for the fit and able and very restful holiday. Will definitely
return for another holiday .

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Judy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorhiti, Public Relations Manager at Lorhiti Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2017

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your holiday at Lorhiti.

We love hearing from our guests . It's great to know you enjoyed the beautiful gardens and appreciated the well equipped apartments , facilities and the short stroll to Ned's beach .

Thanks for choosing to stay with us and letting us know you will definitely return . Please contact us direct for the best rate .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lord Howe Island hotels
0.8 km away
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Isl...
#3 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
235 reviews
0.5 km away
Somerset Apartments
Somerset Apartments
#5 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
115 reviews
1.8 km away
Pinetrees Lodge
Pinetrees Lodge
#1 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Beachcomber Lodge
Beachcomber Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lord Howe Island
78 reviews
1.6 km away
Milky Way Holiday Villas
Milky Way Holiday Villas
#6 of 12 in Lord Howe Island
80 reviews
3.5 km away
Capella Lodge
Capella Lodge
#2 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorhiti Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorhiti Apartments

Address: Anderson Road, Lord Howe Island 2898, Australia
Region: Australia > Lord Howe Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Lord Howe Island
Price Range: €180 - €314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lorhiti Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LORHITI BOUTIQUE SUITES. An oasis of seclusion in one of the best locations on Lord Howe Island, Lorhiti is the closest resort to stunning Ned's Beach and central to Island facilities, beaches, tours, and attractions.Six Bali/Thai style one bedroom King Suite apartments surrounded by a 2 hectare oasis of secluded tropical gardens. Property Features: BBQ, gazebo, laundry, private beach access, stunning gardens, transit lounge and library, away from main roads, public telephone, free evening transport to restaurants, 24 hour caretaker. Rooms Features: modern amenities, flat screen TV/CD/DVD, free movies, free in-room Wi-Fi, king or twin king single beds, full kitchen, sandwish press , airy veranda's, ceiling fans, insect screens, King & King single bed, en suite bathroom, electric blankets and heater, excellent lighting, beach towels, linen, towels, ceiling fans, coffee plunger and sandwich press, iron, ironing board, vacuum cleaner, back pack, hair dryer, clock radio, sarongs and bathrobes, insect spray and air freshener, torch, games and cards and umbrella. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Lorhiti Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorhiti Apartments Hotel Lord Howe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing