We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (314)
Filter reviews
314 results
Traveller rating
287
19
6
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
287
19
6
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf buggy lagoon loft mt gower plunge pool spiral staircase kangaroo island mini bar green pastures course degustation incredible views tuesday night food and wine very special place other guests before dinner attention to detail whisked away
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 314 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2017

My husband and I recently returned from our honeymoon at Capella Lodge on Lord Howe Island. We had high expectations and were not disappointed. The island itself is as picturesque and breathtaking as any I have seen with a lovely temperate climate. The lodge is situated at one end of the island in a beautiful spot with views over the ocean, Mt Lidgbird and Mt Gower. As it is away from much of the other accommodation it has a very exclusive feel. It is a brief walk to many of the stunning walks and secluded beaches. We were so impressed with the snorkelling and hiking available on the island but the lodge was even more impressive. It is luxuriously comfortable and peaceful with a relaxed atmosphere that captures the mood of the island. The staff are incredibly helpful, friendly and professional and all went well beyond normal expectations of hospitality staff to ensure we had a sensational holiday. They were all very versatile and knowledgable about the island and activities and thought of all our needs before we did! Dining each night was a delicious experience, better than many hatted metropolitan restaurants, and we loved the sunset canapés and drinks each evening. I cannot speak highly enough of Capella Lodge.

Room tip: All rooms would have a spectacular view
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elisecharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

Exceptional and ever changing views of two volcanic plug mountains on a nearly unique island in the Pacific. Very attentive and professional (but not intrusive) service in a country not renowned for its service (too much turnover). Dont need to lock anything up as no one will take anything. Excellent food. Great walks and snorkelling.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank squirrelislander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2016

We were met at the airport by our wonderful hosts, Libby and Mark. They shuttled us to the lodge which is nearby, truly a five minute drive but we took our time so that we could learn a bit about the island and the many sights, beaches, trails, golf course etc...that were close by. The lodge is set back from the road and the entrance is simple and deceiving for what lies beyond, a gorgeous setting overlooking the beach and mountains. We were greeted by staff with cool drinks and towels to freshen up while we were given a brief presentation of the property, meals, inclusions, activities, etc. Our room was fantastic, a Lagoon Loft with breathtaking views from the upstairs bedroom deck and a perfect lounging area downstairs with it's own balcony in the palms. Very comfortable, well appointed, and plenty of room for two people.

Room tip: From what we saw, we don't think you could get a bad room at this property.
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CrisG98908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2016

Can't recommend Capella Lodge highly enough. The facilities are outstanding, staff were exceptional in every way. Guided walks are not to be missed. The food......unbelievably good! A magnificent destination so close to home.

Room tip: There are only 9 rooms and they are all exceptional.
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016

If I could be marooned anywhere in the world this would be the place I would choose.
Nestled at the isolated southern tip of Lord Howe with views dominated by the towering cliffs of Gower and Lidgbird standing aloof over this once volcanic island, Capella provides you with the escape and comfort that the marooned could only dream of. The cuisine is exquisite and ever changing and there is nowhere else better for sharing a drink and stories as the sun sets over the sea to the west. It is a paradise for those who love the sea and the mountains and Mark and Libby ensure that you have every access to the treasures that this island and this resort have to offer.

Room tip: The suites at the western end of the resort provide the best of the panoramic views,
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank richardgS3923CF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews