We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Pinetrees”
Review of Pinetrees Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pinetrees Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2008

We have just returned from spending 7 wonderful nights at Pinetrees ..... We loved every minute of it. The Lodge itself was clean and tidy and the staff were fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble. We loved the 'no mobiles, no TV (at Pinetrees), no clocks etc ..... We thoroughly relaxed and didn't have to worry about anything (except what we were doing for the day). All meals were just excellent, and very ample servings. Lord Howe is not the sort of place if you want nightclubs and parties etc., but if you just want to unwind, relax and recharge your batteries, then it is most definitely the place to go. You can do lots during the day if you want, or you can do nothing. The scenery and wildlife is beautiful, and all the locals (and the holiday makers), are very friendly. Next to no vehicles, but lots of pushbikes (and even 3 wheelers for the not so steady on two), and lots of pedestrians. We WILL be going back again in the very near future and taking family/friends with us to enjoy the wonderful experience of Lord Howe and of course ..... Pinetrees.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Arwon35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

441 - 445 of 447 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2008

Lord Howe Island is paradise, all within a 2 hr flight of Sydney. Pinetrees is in keeping with the friendliness, warmth and relaxed atmosphere of Lord Howe Island. The accomodation was neat and well kept, and the food was marvellous. Pinetrees offer the fully catered experience and I was all for it, with baby and husband in-tow.

Pinetrees lent us a stroller, baby cot, baby cath and provided a high chair at all meals. They also provided our baby with mashed food at every meal. In addition to the cooked breakfast and dinner, we had the option of a BBQ lunch (which was delivered to our destination), or a picnic lunch (which we carried with us on hikes). Dinner always consisted of a soup, choice of 2 mains (in which one was always Kingfish) and choice of 3 desserts. We enjoyed every meal and am in awe of the freshness and the quality of the food provided.

We hired bikes and cycled around the island for the majority of the trip. We succumbed to hiring a car for the last few days of the trip because our muscles were aching from cycling and hiking! Every day, Pinetrees updated their noticeboard with daily tours, and we were able to use their phone to ring the tour companies for bookings. We did 3 tours - the Glass Bottom Boat and snorkelling tour, the specialitiy snorkelling tour and the South End tour. We had a great time on all the tours. We also visited Neds Beach on quite a number of occasions to snorkel and feed the fish. The size of the Kingfishes were unbelievable! We also hiked up My Lidgbird to the Goathouse Cave. In retrospect, I would not reccomend doing the hike like we did with a 11kg baby in a backpack, tripod and camera equipment, but we made it and were proud of our efforts. Next time, we will be investing in a babysitter at Pinetrees!

Pinetrees captures the spirit and the unique atmosphere of Lord Howe Island. We look forward to visiting PInetrees again when our baby is a little older and can pedal herself around the island.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Jellytree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
St Andrews, Scotland
134
Reviewed 23 February 2006

Lord Howe Island is a unique and special place, but it's not for everyone. If you want the buzz of nightlife, plus a coral reef experience then go to Cairns or Cooktown or one of the Whitsundays. LHI is a throwback to the 50's, undeveloped (save for one new resort); there are no cellphones, no TV, no Internet and no cars.

If you want total relaxation with the family or a stack of books, without the crowds, but with plenty of outdoor activity in a perfect natural setting, then LHI is your destination. LHI is an island of contrasts, surf beach on one side and lagoon on the other. Mountains and rainforest on one end of the island and low hills easily ridden on a bike at the other. The fishing is phenomenal, in fact you could pick them up in your hands at Ned's beach every day at 4PM if you are quick enough.
We stayed at Pinetrees resort which is across the road from the lagoon. We loved Pinetrees...it's not your 5* resort...it's a throwback, but we were perfectly comfortable, the food was great and the hospitality genuine and personable.

Everything is fully catered and kids loved it. We would often set out on our bikes with a barbeque lunch in a knapsack provided by Pinetrees - perfect for one of the dozens of bbq sites around the Island. The Island is fuly licensed and Pinetrees has a good wine list and plenty of beer, so don't worry about bringing any alcohol. It's perfectly safe for your kids and it's not too hot or humid as it is constantly cooled by sea breezes.

It's relatively hard to get to and in peak season often fully booked; compared to the mainland it's expensive, but its more than worth it. A LHI experience will never be forgotten...can't wait to go back.

34  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank tgbaumann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Amelie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lord Howe Island hotels
1.7 km away
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Isl...
#3 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
249 reviews
0.6 km away
Leanda-Lei Apartments
Leanda-Lei Apartments
#4 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
97 reviews
1.2 km away
Somerset Apartments
Somerset Apartments
#5 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Lorhiti Apartments
Lorhiti Apartments
#1 of 11 in Lord Howe Island
303 reviews
1.1 km away
Beachcomber Lodge
Beachcomber Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lord Howe Island
84 reviews
0.2 km away
Milky Way Holiday Villas
Milky Way Holiday Villas
#5 of 11 in Lord Howe Island
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinetrees Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinetrees Lodge

Address: Lagoon Road, Lord Howe Island 2898, Australia
Region: Australia > Lord Howe Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Lord Howe Island
Price Range: €503 - €1,578 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pinetrees Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinetrees Lodge is the perfect place to relax and escape the stress of everyday life. We provide exceptional meals, personalised service, elegant accommodation and a beautiful waterfront location on Lagoon Beach. Our boatshed is a great place for a shower after your swim in the lagoon, or for a cold beer or champagne while watching the sunset. Enjoy world-class snorkelling, diving, surfing, walking, kayaking and gold, or just relax on Australia's most beautiful island. Stay with us once and you'll understand why so many guests come back to visit every year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Pinetrees Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinetrees Lord Howe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing