We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (286)
Filter reviews
286 results
Traveller rating
249
25
8
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
249
25
8
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews settlement beach banyan suite kentia palms banyan trees front of house light lunch complimentary drinks fish snorkeling equipment other guests pre dinner drinks bbq lunch world heritage listed sashimi staff were superb staff went out of their way packed lunch
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 286 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

We visited here as a for a quick unplanned babymoon.
A highlight was the staff who were personable, and provided great service (& not just the front of house staff).

The accomodation is very clean, well serviced, and very comfortable. The only fault (based on my preference) is that the majority of accommodation lacked privacy. The bedroom and deck open onto a main pathway of the property (note it is a very small place so not many people walking past).

Food is great, however as we stayed for awhile (& maybe as I was pregnant) I would have liked a choice of some simple options, rather than the fancy restaurant 3 course meals every night. Meals were always great, and dinner each night was amazing, some meals were exceptional. As mentioned in other reviews, lunch hampers are provided which are wonderful, or you can choose to eat at the restaurant. Note the only drinks included are at breakfast, water at lunch, tea /coffee and the pre-dinner drinks.

Lord Howe is absolutely beautiful, more than I expected.
I enjoyed our utterly stay but felt it was expensive at full price. The island and staff make this place somewhere i would return for a short stay.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BB0777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill S, Owner at Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Thankyou so much for your review and feedback and congratulations on your babymoon.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and when you return please feel free to talk to our very talented chefs and they can make you anything you wish in the restaurant, our chefs and staff are accommodating and want to ensure everyone has a great time and enjoy their meals.

Due to transport to the island prices can be a little higher than on the mainland as we are very limited to how we received goods to the island and where possible we will grow our own vegetables, herbs and try and source local fish as much as possible.

Lord Howe Island is hidden gem and it is a beautiful island and we look forward to welcoming you back with your child oneday.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018

This resort has it all; idyllic location, excellent accommodation with a first class restaurant serving gourmet meals. What really makes the resort stand out from others we have been privileged to stay at is the excellent staff.

Nothing was a problem to them, they all went that extra yard to ensure your stay was a memorable one. To the extent that all residents names were known and used to make you feel even more at home.

The accommodation is not inexpensive but well worth every cent.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gavin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill S, Owner at Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Dear Gavin

Thankyou so much for your review and we are delighted you had a wonderful time on Lord Howe Island and while staying with us at Arajilla.

Our staff are wonderful and they make everyone feel like they are at home and our chefs are extremely talented.

We look forward to welcoming you back one day.

Kind Regards
Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018

We have just returned from a wonderful week’s holiday here at Arajilla. The team at the resort were warm, friendly and helpful; the meals were delicious....what the chefs can do with provisions that have to come on a two hour flight from Sydney is amazing. Whilst our fitness level precluded us from attempting some of the more challenging walks, we enjoyed several of the easier ones, supported by Diesel, the resort mechanic, who dropped us off at the beginning of the walks, and collected us at the end! We both managed to hop on bicycles as well....one of our highlights was a BBQ on Ned’s beach; again the eski, filled with seafood, steak, salad and cake was dropped of, and collected, by Diesel so we did not need to carry it ....what service.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 424sally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill S, Owner at Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Thankyou so much for your review and it is wonderful that you had a great time, we take enormous pride in our guests and we want you to have a memorable holiday one definitely to remember forever.

Diesel is fantastic and he is always happy to help out our guests and ensure you are well looked after.

We look forward to seeing you again and welcoming you back to Arajilla.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2018

I chose Arajilla Retreat as a surprise for my wife on her retirement. The setting is superb surrounded by Kentia palms and rainforest and within walking distance of Settlement Beach. Two things stood out for us. First the wonderful service we received from the staff. It's what you come to expect at this level, but it's always a delight to experience thoughtful and pleasant staff. It made our stay memorable. The second was the thoughtful meals provided. Having stayed at other resorts that offer all meals , often you end up over eating and become tired of large breakfasts and 3 course dinners. Food sizes at Arajilla were not over indulgent in size and meal choices though limited were beautifully presented and created from wonderful produce. Service again was excellent . Lord Howe Is was wonderful beyond words. If you enjoy walking, kayaking , snorkling, swimming, fishing and stunning natural beauty and birdlife, don't hesitate , go there .You wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill S, Owner at Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Dear Paul
Thankyou for you review and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Arajilla and on Lord Howe Island. Our chefs are extremely talented and they have designed the menu so you get to try everything and experience all the flavours.
Lord Howe Island is a piece of heaven and we are delighted to share it with you.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Bill S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2018

We spent 5 night on Arajilla last month and I couldn’t fault a thing. The service is absolutely amazing - nothing is too hard. My husband has recently diagnosed food allergies which we were anxious about, but they happily adjusted meals to suit that. The food is amazing and the rooms are lovely. Lord Howe is beautiful, the coral and wildlife is gorgeous and the controlled number of visitors means you can find a beach to yourself. As a retreat from the world, there’s nothing better.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank nmans0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill S, Owner at Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Thankyou very much for you review and we are delighted to hear you had a wonderful time on Lord Howe Island while staying with us at Arajilla. We are glad that we were able to help with your husband's allergies, our chef and his team are extremely talented and will accommodate everyone.
Lord Howe Island is a very special place and we are lucky to share this with you.
We look forward to welcoming you back oneday.
Kind Regards
Bill S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews