We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveller rating
254
25
8
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
254
25
8
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews banyan suite settlement beach kentia palms banyan trees light lunch complimentary drinks fish young staff other guests snorkeling equipment pre dinner drinks bbq lunch sashimi bbq pack staff were superb attention to detail world heritage listed
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 291 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2018

We had an amazing stay at Arajilla where we felt very well looked after. The villa was beautifully appointed and spacious with a mezzanine floor where the TV was. Decor was light and fresh looking and the bathroom very spacious. King bed extremely comfortable. The chefs worked very hard to present first class food and we enjoyed all the fish we ate very much.
The staff was very accommodating and nothing was too much trouble for them.
All in all, we had the best time ,riding around on bikes ,snorkeling boating and seeing the reef, as well as walking. There are many walks from simple to extreme ,so something for everyone. A real nature lovers paradise with all the birds, fish and turtles.
The coral was better than we had seen in the Barrier Reef and the fish were unbelievable. All in all, a wonderful resort and island to visit and we will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: All rooms would be quiet as there are only 12. I cannot rate the hotel above as it would not let me click on . Top rating though
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank 769helenmaryw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill S, Owner at Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thankyou so much for your review and we are glad to hear you were able to experience the island by riding your bike and snorkelling and walking all the different tracks, there is so much to do on Lord Howe Island and we hope to see you back in the future and we can look after you again.

Kind Regards
Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

Hi every one this resort is one of the best we have ever stayed in it has got every thing required for a great break the people are fantastic the food is extremely good it uses mostly home grown food the meals are just the right size and not over done staff second to none and I know I might be raving but there not enough great word to describe this place I wish the sty could have been longer but it was great 6 days of heavan

Joe

Room Tip: all suites are great just come
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A8915RRjoec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill S, Owner at Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear Joe

Thankyou so much for you review and we are so glad you got to experience 6 days with us and hopefully next time you can stay longer and explore some more of this beautiful island.

Kind Regards
Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2018

Just back from a 5 night stay at Arajilla Lodge. Lord Howe is a special place and Arajilla Lodge is a very special place.
The staff are wonderful, the day spa first class (best facial I've ever had), the food is Michelin Star quality & the attention to detail is second to none.
I have traveled all over the world and stayed in some fabulous places, this was equal to the best and the location is a piece of paradise.
Lord Howe is a hidden gem of Australia, its like taking a step back in time in a good way, no need to lock rooms or chain up bikes or belongings. No phone service BLISS!
The offering from Arajilla is relaxed, attentive and unique. Everything is considered, from supplying, bikes, bike helmets, back packs, beach towels, snorkel gear, the generous supply of things you don't want to carry like shampoo, conditioner and body lotion, plus they book the trips and activities you want to do.
One of the fabulous services they do offer is to deliver either a picnic or bbq lunch with drinks to a location on the island of your choice at the time of your choice each day if you choose not to stay at the lodge for a delicious light lunch. The picnic or bbq pack is picked up later when you've finished so no need to carry everything back to lodge after.
Lord Howe is a unique experience and my trip to this wonderful place was enhanced by Arajilla Lodge.
The Lodge is pristine the rooms are immaculate and nestled between Banyan trees, palms and tropical plants it is a quiet paradise.
The staff make the experience, they are friendly, helpful, knowledgeable & professional. Nothing was ever too much trouble for them.
i will definitely be going back to Lord Howe and I will definitely be staying at Arajilla Lodge.
I would recommend Arajilla to anyone planning a trip to Lord Howe or for anyone wanting a holiday to completely escape, relax and enjoy wonderful healthy food in a little piece of paradise.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nessie180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill S, Owner at Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear Nessie

Thankyou for your review and we are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed Lord Howe Island. There are so many wonderful and different locations around Lord Howe Island this is why we love to set up your picnic at different places so you get to enjoy the peace and quiet and the serenity of this beautiful island.

We are glad to hear that you were able to relax in our spa, it is a little hidden gem and best way to be pampered.

We look forward to welcoming you back oneday in the future and letting you explore more of the island.

Kind Regards
Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018

One is beautifully looked after at Arajilla. Comfortable spacious rooms nestle among the palm trees. It is just a short walk to Settlement Cove for swimming and it is a short swim out to some beautiful coral reef with lots of colourful fish. Bike hire and snorkeling equipment is provided - a real plus.

On top of all this the food is gourmet! Every evening there are complimentary pre-dinner drinks on the veranda. The staff go out of their way to be helpfil.

The relatively high price is more than justified and so we highly recommend it to all.

Of course, Arajilla is set in one of the world's most wonderous places - Lord Howe Island with its scenery, bush walking, coral, fishing, snorkeling.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill S, Owner at Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear Andrew

Thankyou for taking the time to provide us with your review and we are delighted to hear you had a wonderful time on Lord Howe Island and while staying with us at Arajilla.

We are extremely lucky to share our paradise with guests and yes Lord Howe Island is magnificent.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018

Have just returned from a 5 night stay at the resort and were sorry to leave.The stay exceded our expectations and the staff were superb and so well trained, nothing was a problem to them.

I have no hesitation in recommending the Resort to anyone who is looking for excellence

Room Tip: The Banyan Suites are very good
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lachlan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill S, Owner at Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2018

Dear Lachlan

Thankyou so much for your review and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay, we are lucky to share our piece of paradise with guests and we love to hear your stories and see your photos.

We look forward to welcoming you next time.

Kind Regards
Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews