We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveller rating
245
25
8
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
245
25
8
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews settlement beach banyan suite kentia palms banyan trees front of house light lunch fish included meals snorkeling equipment other guests pre dinner drinks bbq lunch world heritage listed sashimi staff were superb staff went out of their way five nights
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 282 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2017

It is the Welcome and staff that make the difference in this retreat. Pleasant and genuinely helpful, with lots of background knowledge, and experience in making you feel relaxed and rested.
The surrounds and comfortable rooms, amid Banyan trees and subtropical shrubs, offer peace and quiet. Little touches, fresh hibiscus and tea and fruit on the reception table, warm spacious lounge indoors and out, to sit and meet new friends and partake in the the nightly ritual of happy hour prior to dining. The ayurveda Spa is a must after walking and cycling the island, Margie has magic gentle treatments in a purpose built Yert. James and the other kitchen staff make great use of kitchen garden which adds to the unique and interesting dishes of fresh island produce daily. Remember you are on an Island which is supplied fortnightly, some items may not be plentiful but there is a wide variety and all tastes catered for.
So much to do, Chase and Thyme Island tour was terrific on day one as it set up what we wanted to do over the weekend gave a wonderful history on all things flora and fauna and for us the flying boat history of the transport between the mainland and the island over the last century. Lots of interesting bike rides, Ned's Beach walk about with naturalist was really informative, with a story under every rock. Sooty Terns nesting and blue bottles aplenty. I could go on and on, with many highlights.
it is the front of house staff who seem to get the accolades here at Arajilla this is well deserved with Rebecca leading a great team. But the house keeping, maintenance guys were all great. Bill the owner,shared his 30 years of travels and running his retreat, it has a guesthouse feel. Thanks for our relaxing week everyone.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Seekerh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill S, Owner at Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Dear Seekerh

Thankyou so much for your review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us at Arajilla, we are truly lucky to be able to share our piece of heaven with you and there is so much history on Lord Howe Island it really is a hidden gem in Australia.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future and sharing more stories with you

Thankyou Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile

On our first visit to Lord Howe Island we couldn't have been happier with our choice of Arajilla Retreat. Lovely setting amongst the Kentish Palms, but just a minute or two walk to Old Settlement Beach. The meals are an art form in themselves and we looked forward to experiencing the ever changing gourmet creations that the chefs produced at each meal. The Pre diner drinks provided an excellent way to get to know fellow travellers and made us all feel part of a family. Without exception the staff were superb, nothing was too much trouble and they always had a friendly smile. Well done Arijilla Retreat you have the right recipe! And as for Lord Howe Island, it's fantastic!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Lorraine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill S, Owner at Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Hi Lorraine

Thankyou so much for your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time on Lord Howe Island and especially with us at Arajilla. Lord Howe Island is an amazing place and we are so lucky to share our piece of heaven with you.

We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Thankyou Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

We have just returned from Arajilla and cannot fault it. We spent 7 nights in a Kentia Suite which was perfect for two younger active people who spent more time away from the room than in it.

Arajilla is perfectly situated - it is at the opposite end to the airport which makes it very quiet and is just a short walk to Old Settlement Beach with direct access to many hiking trails and is a short bike ride into town.

The service is personal and the food is exceptional. There was nothing on the menu that we didn’t like and the serving sizes were good. In addition to this, nothing was too much trouble – we were able to get breakfast trays and lunch delivered the night before our big days out with early starts. The barbeque packed lunches are a nice touch also and if you are unable / unwilling to bike / walk it to your barbeque location, Arajilla will drop it off and pick it up for you at your requested time!

The day spa is lovely with a good range of reasonably priced treatments available. Margie's hands were magic following my Mt Gower hike - i didn't want to leave the massage table! My tip for you – book your spa treatments in advance to ensure you get the days and times that you want.

Thank you Bill, Margie, Phoebe, Rebecca, Sonya and Surrey for making our two year wedding anniversary experience one to remember. We promise to return to Lord Howe Island and can't imagine staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank djk085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill S, Owner at Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Thankyou so much for your review and we are so glad you enjoyed your holiday and happy 2nd anniversary, we are delighted you celebrated by staying with us at Arajilla. We are very proud of Arajilla and we are lucky to share our piece of heaven with you.

We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Thanks Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017

We spent an amazing week at Lord Howe Island staying at the wonderful Arajilla Retreat.
The accommodation was great and the room staff were so accommodation - you even got your bed turned down at night.
The food was fabulous - a different dinner menu each day and breakfast and lunch also included. The dining staff were super - nothing was too much trouble. The free Wi-Fi and the free bikes to ride around the Island made everything so good.
We recommend everyone to visit LHI sometime and when you do - you must stay at Arajilla Retreat.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jharley21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill S, Owner at Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Thankyou so much for your feedback and we are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time on Lord Howe Island and especially at Arajilla. We love sharing our piece of paradise with guests and look forward to welcoming you back and spoiling you again.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

Wed., The tiny Dash 8 aircraft lands for a 5 day stay,thrilling. We are greeted and housed in a fab suite. After lunch ( you can have a b/b/que on the beach if desired) we pedal around. Pristine. Perfect. Get our bearings. Big smiles. Next day Airport closed...weather. Not bad, just the amazing swirling mists of the mountains. Get travel insurance! Beautiful days; walking, snorkeling, pedaling. Evenings drinks in the lounge, on the house. Great food. Chase ' n' Thyme well worth taking a tour, you learn alot, there is lots to learn!
Mon., Ideal day. Airport open. Grrr...thanks for looking after us so well...we'll be back!

Room Tip: Unless you need a big room, go for the cosier ones.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill S, Owner at Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Hi Fiona,

Thankyou for your review and we are delighted you had a wonderful time and enjoyed our piece of heaven.
Yes we do recommend travel insurance due to the weather however we are glad you experienced the beauty of the island and we look forward to welcoming you back oneday.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews