We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveller rating
49
68
16
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
68
16
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews anchorage restaurant water bottles post office laundry facilities neds beach small tv transit lounge superior apartment perfect location dishwashing liquid level walk electric blankets on the beds toilet and shower rooms are clean easy walk bike racks general store
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 138 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

Couldn't reccomend somerset apartments highly enough. We were a big group of 19 with 9 kids under the age of 12. The staff were so accommodating and professional but with enough sass to make it fun and full of personality... the rooms were clean, of good size and well equipped (umbrellas,
Backpacks and drink bottles to use) the beds are comfy which is always important. Quality clean BBQ's throughout the park and laundry facilities that provide the detergent and are reasonably priced. Location is perfect close to the "CBD" in between the lagoon and neds beach easy walk to both... we will return one day to your magical part of the world. Thanks for a great holiday Gai and staff.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank KarlaG316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somersetlhi, Front Office Manager at Somerset Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2018

Hi Karla, Thank you for reviewing Somerset. We all enjoyed hosting you and are so pleased you all enjoyed your stay! What a fantastic family you have!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018

Stayed 5 nights and felt very relaxed, Location is excellent and the apartment had everything we needed and are quite spacious. Bed very comfortable and on a cold night we appreciated the electric blanket.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BronwenSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somersetlhi, Owner at Somerset Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review Somerset. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018

This Hotel - Motel is fabulous for a short or longer stay. The rooms are spacious, very clean, the bedding is good with great pillows, always a bonus; so is the electric blanket for the colder nights.
Amazing kind and professional service, everything is here from umbrellas to rucksacks to cooking utensils, etc.
The best: the staff, and Gai, the owner/manager with a no nonsense personality..
You will not regret your choice of apartment, close to the famous CBD of Lord Howe :).
Mariana Amar

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Edelweiss_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somersetlhi, Owner at Somerset Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Mariana, thank you for reviewing Somerset. We have enjoyed your company so much and hope to host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Comfortable, clean, spacious, Summerset Apartments are recommended. We stayed in the Hibiscus section. Mid range in price. Apartment is 1 main double bedroom with a sitting/single bedroom, kitchenette /dinning room, plus large under cover balcony. 8 steps to apartment.

Suitable for couple plus adult / teenager.

Dinning table for 4 pax. Kitchenette has microwave and cutlery / crockery for 4 pax. Electric frypan is available from the office on request.

Lush sub tropical landscape that is delightful and kept well. 2 BBQs are outside apartment with outdoor seating for 12 pax. Well lit at night. BBQs seemed to be cleaned daily.

Hosts are available to assist. They stay in the background. We met a character 'Nobbs' (he uses his surname). If you get the chance, watching Nobbs pick the Kentia palm seeds from high up the trees is a real treat- activity is seasonal.

Interestingly, there were no keys given for the apartment. We left our room open (flt screen shut). Felt 100% safe, even leaving minor valuables in the room. Best not to bring your antique jewelry or gold bars.

Summerset guests are greeted at the airport by Nobbs. He'll give you a quick guided tour of the key points when driving 5 minutes from airport to apartment.

Summerset Apartments are on Neds Rd 500 metres from lagoon beach and 500 or so metres to Neds Beach on the opposite side of the island. Easy walks.

Apartments are centrally located. Short walk to Thompson's Store (mini mart), Post Office, Anchorage Restaurants / cafe / bakery. Convenience plus.

There are many restaurants on the Island. Nobbs takes guests to chosen restaurant at 6:30pm each night. If busy, Nobbs does 2 or more trips. Restaurants do the return back to Summerset. So convenient.

Oh, best to buy liquor from The Top Shop.

Lord Howe Island has amazing scenery, walking trails for all levels of fitness, and the swimming / snorkeling in cyrstal clear waters is world class. Fish feeding at Neds Beach is a fabulous experience.

Lord Howe Island is a MUST visit. On one's bucket list. Summerset Apartments is a strong choice fora LHI stay....

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somersetlhi, Owner at Somerset Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Wow, thank you for your fantastic review! It is great to hear when people enjoy Lord Howe and Somerset so much. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

The best thing about Somerset Apartments is its position. You are walking most of the time and being central is great. The apartment was clean and well presented and suited our needs. Laundry facilities were an asset. We had little interaction with staff in the week as it was not necessary. It is not a luxury property but is all you need in thebest location. I would stay here again.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Doug C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somersetlhi, Front Office Manager at Somerset Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review Somerset. We do have a great location, central and no big hills to walk up! We hope to host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews