We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cancelled a confirmed booking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in The Lizard
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We booked this hotel as part of a 2 week walk along the SW path, each leg carefully planned so that we had hotel accomodation to stay in. We were able to book this hotel on booking.com, received a confirmed notification and then had a phone call from the hotel itself to say they would not accept the booking for 1 night. The lady was quite abrupt, gave the impression that we shouldn't have the nerve to try to book a premier room in their establishment for 1 night. We contacted booking.com who did an investigation and were able to confirm that the hotel had put a restriction on bookings (minimum 3 nights) AFTER we had booked. Despite much work by booking.com to get the hotel to honour our booking they refused, leaving us with a real problem. This level of customer service is appaliing. Clearly you cannot make a booking with this hotel and expect to get what you arrange. Do not use them.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
13  Thank sophia27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfred M, Manager at Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2012

I would firstly like to thank you for your review. I am sorry for the inconvenience that this may have caused, but frankly I think it's absurd that you think (bearing in mind we have a 3-night minimum stay policy at this time of the season) that any small Hotel business, would give up a premier room for a one-night stay at the height of the season. This review website is for people to comment on their stays, the fact you didn't even stay at our establishment baffles me as to why you would take the time to try and belittle our establishment. Once again thank you for your concern, however as a strict policy that has been in place for quite some time now, we will not be taking your comments on board. Alfred.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 163 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2011

We decided to have a day break on our working tour of the South-West of England. We decided we wanted to see both Land's End and Lizard Point and decided on staying at The Housel Bay Hotel, close to Lizard Point.

On arrival we were upgraded to a bigger room free of charge. A nice touch and something we'd not expected. We were very pleased with the room. A lovely four-poster bed and a stunning view. A large bay window overlooking the bay below the hotel and the gardens.

Free WiFi, tea and coffee making facilities, trouser press and iron / ironing board all included.

The staff were friendly and efficient and the service was good.

We ate in the restaurant and enjoyed a lovely meal in good surroundings. The food was reasonably expensive, but excellent quality and extremely tasty.

One note of point to travellers - go prepared. This is a hotel, on a cliff, next to a lighthouse. It's the first place the weather hits and if it's bad weather they sound the fog horn. It's audible inside the hotel, although not too loud. Likewise, even with the curtains pulled you could still see some light from the lighthouse. Neither were a problem for us and actually added to the experience in a strange way!

Somewhere we'd definitely stay again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smurf4568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Well as I sit here, still slightly lost for words (still - considering my stay was over a month ago!). I have finally found a moment to share with you, the details of my experience at the Housel Bay Hotel. Upon arrival I was greeted by Alfred (Who somewhat reminded me of George Clooney) & Iona (Alfred's wife) who were simply gracious people! They made us feel so welcome and comfortable. We were directed to our rooms and had someone transport our bags up to the room for us. We were briefed at reception and given all the details we needed. We walked into our lovely spacious A room which over looked the incredible views of the bay and were overwhelmed with the cleanliness and charm of our room - what a perfect start! After settling and unwinding in our room we headed down to the restaurant for dinner and were greeted by a very polite and lovely polish waitress who tended to our every need! The food was out of this world, it was honestly the best meal that me and my husband have ever had the pleasure of eating. And this was followed by a heavenly desert for both of us. What a wonderful hotel. A real hidden secret. Would recommend to anyone visiting cornwall for a heart warming experience! Thanks Alfy & Iona. You are truly wonderful people!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EPT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We stayed in this Hotel for nine nights in their middle range executive room. The Hotel is old but with character and friendly staff. A comfortable lounge and small bar leading through to the restaurant with sea views. We found the Breakfast ok but not outstanding with no problems with the 'full Housel English' but the fish option both over and under cooked. We had one evening meal in the restaurant but chose to eat out from then on. From our room the view was fantastic with a full view of the sea and the Lizard light house. The window was fitted with two blinds plus curtains so we were not affected by the Light House beam at night although could hear the Fog Horn occasionally. The main criticism was with our room although clean and recently decorated was a bit cramped, the web page picture is deceptive. The bathroom was ancient and very confined circa 1970,s with a hand wall mounted (5 feet high) shower mounted over a slightly stained bath. The sink had one of those skirts around its base and a single glass shelf with no other storage space. Overhaul a Hotel in a great location but rooms and in particular bathrooms requiring updating.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfred M, Manager at Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2012

Firstly, I would like to thank you for your time and your review. I am extremely glad to hear that you appreciate our unique location and incredible views. I am deeply apologetic to hear that your breakfast was not up to standard, but I would like to notify you we have a recently appointed, extremely talented new head chef, and our highly acclaimed, Rosette standard food is back to its superb standard. Unfortunately, as for the Fog Horn, this issue is our of our hands, we do however, like to think it adds to the individuality of Housel Bay! There is a reason why our rooms are not modern, we try not to update them hugely, this is because the Hotel is Victorian, it is 118 years old, and people actually beg us not change anything, because it would kill the Victorian character and charm that we pride ourselves upon so much. Once again thank you for your helpful review, we will take your comments on board and try to resolve as many of the issues as we possibly can. We do hope to see you again at Housel Bay, so we can provide you with a comfortable and memorable stay, and change your opinions of Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant. Alfred.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We didn't stay in this hotel, but stumbled across the restaurant for dinner, and although a bit pricey, the food was EXCELLENT! The lobster risotto and the seafood platter were both excellent and the desserts were perfect too. I would come back here for a meal any time!

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank princess_galadriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Lizard
7.3 km away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
626 reviews
7.7 km away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
820 reviews
9.8 km away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coverack
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 km away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
701 reviews
33.4 km away
Tregenna Castle Resort
22.7 km away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Housel Cove, The Lizard TR12 7PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > The Lizard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in The Lizard
Price Range: €120 - €137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated in a spectacular location at the Lizard in Cornwall. A lovely sandy cove nestles beneath the Hotel, and the Cornish Coast Path runs through the gardens and cliff lands. A place in which to walk, to eat and drink well and to set aside the cares of the world. Unspoilt scenery, outstanding cuisine (AA Rosette and RAC Dining Award) and a healthy lifestyle, we are also home to Britain's most southerly webcam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Housel Bay Hotel And Restaurant
Housel Bay The Lizard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing