We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Views but room accomodation needs updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in The Lizard
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We stayed in this Hotel for nine nights in their middle range executive room. The Hotel is old but with character and friendly staff. A comfortable lounge and small bar leading through to the restaurant with sea views. We found the Breakfast ok but not outstanding with no problems with the 'full Housel English' but the fish option both over and under cooked. We had one evening meal in the restaurant but chose to eat out from then on. From our room the view was fantastic with a full view of the sea and the Lizard light house. The window was fitted with two blinds plus curtains so we were not affected by the Light House beam at night although could hear the Fog Horn occasionally. The main criticism was with our room although clean and recently decorated was a bit cramped, the web page picture is deceptive. The bathroom was ancient and very confined circa 1970,s with a hand wall mounted (5 feet high) shower mounted over a slightly stained bath. The sink had one of those skirts around its base and a single glass shelf with no other storage space. Overhaul a Hotel in a great location but rooms and in particular bathrooms requiring updating.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfred M, Manager at Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2012

Firstly, I would like to thank you for your time and your review. I am extremely glad to hear that you appreciate our unique location and incredible views. I am deeply apologetic to hear that your breakfast was not up to standard, but I would like to notify you we have a recently appointed, extremely talented new head chef, and our highly acclaimed, Rosette standard food is back to its superb standard. Unfortunately, as for the Fog Horn, this issue is our of our hands, we do however, like to think it adds to the individuality of Housel Bay! There is a reason why our rooms are not modern, we try not to update them hugely, this is because the Hotel is Victorian, it is 118 years old, and people actually beg us not change anything, because it would kill the Victorian character and charm that we pride ourselves upon so much. Once again thank you for your helpful review, we will take your comments on board and try to resolve as many of the issues as we possibly can. We do hope to see you again at Housel Bay, so we can provide you with a comfortable and memorable stay, and change your opinions of Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant. Alfred.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
There are newer reviews for Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 166 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2011

We didn't stay in this hotel, but stumbled across the restaurant for dinner, and although a bit pricey, the food was EXCELLENT! The lobster risotto and the seafood platter were both excellent and the desserts were perfect too. I would come back here for a meal any time!

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank princess_galadriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

I have to say the views are fantastic, and the grounds of the hotel are well kept and a pleasure to sit in and enjoy a drink. When we first arrived it did have the WOW factor, sadly things weren't all they seemed.
We booked for 2 nights, and only stayed for one of them, This was down to the uncomfortable bed. To say it was hard is an understatement, it was on a par with sleeping on the floor.
We asked for another room and we were told all the beds are the same, so there was little point on switching to another room, i appreciate some people like hard beds and some like softer ones, but only providing hard beds means some customers will be unhappy, and we were. The shower head would not fix into the holder, so you had to hold it whilst washing yourself, also i have to say i have a personal dislike of carpet in bathrooms, it is most unhygenic.
The food was very expensive, and very small portions, an example of this is if you want an additional item for your breakfast ie: extra sausage or bacon or maybe 2 eggs not one, then its £5 per item !
The hotel is very outdated and shabby, the glass was missing in one half of a coffee table, i nearly put my drink down on it , without realising
Staff talking to each other in their native language is a little rude in front of customers, but generally the service was good. The owner was also very pleasant when faced with my complaint about the bed. So if you don't mind hard beds, carpeted bathrooms , showers you have to hold, and expensive food, with fabulous views, then the HOUSEL BAY hotel is the one for you

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank soulfixins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfred M, Manager at Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2012

Thank you kindly for your review. I am extremely sorry to hear that your stay was so disappointing, we did check your room to try and resolve the issues that you have listed, however the shower did seem to be working fine, and firmly attached. As for the beds, this is the first complaint of it's kind, so we understand this is really a matter of opinion, but your opinion we do appreciate. I must stress to you that the food is Rosette standard, and we would't have been awarded a Rosette if it wasn't. Again, this is all down to your opinion, very rarely, if ever, do we ever recieve negative feedback about the food, however we do appreciate your comments. As for your comment about the breakfast menu, it is the first any of us at the Hotel have heard about breakfast being £5 per additional item, I am not sure if you were looking at the correct menu, but I am very sorry that this is what you thought. The Hotel may well be shabby & outdated in your opinion, but it is a 118 year old, Victorian built Hotel, and what kind of Hoteliers would we be if we tried to restore it to modern day. If you don't appreciate the Victorian charm, beauty and character, then I suggest you stay in the nearby Premier Inn. Oh and we agree with you on one thing, the views are fantastic! Alfred.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Spent one night here in July 2011 and had a fantastic time. Our room on the second floor had a view to die for. The owner and his wife and staff were constantly trying to please. We had a great dinner (excellent sea food) and a fantastic full English breakfast before leaving in the morning. All of the seating in the conservatory style dining room had terrific views of the sea and the lighthouse. The furnishing throughout are a bit 70's but that laid back effect is comforting after a long day on the road. Good job Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant.
~Rich

Room Tip: Get seconf floor room with sea view. Worth the price.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ernrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

i'd been recommended this hotel by family and had been warned that it was a touch out dated but was surprised by how shabby the hotel was. bedroom had creaky floorboards, threadbare carpet and very old fashioned bathrooms but was at least clean. the service was at times rude from the owner, however the waitresses were polite and friendly. the restaurant serves good food but is expensive, no cheaper bar menu option although in the information folder in the bedroom it states there is.
location and views are fantastic.
hotel could be so much better and should be for the price you pay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jojofruity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfred M, Manager at Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2012

I am terribly sorry that your stay with us was not satisfactory. You might think that the Hotel is outdated and shabby, however I cannot stress enough that the building is Victorian, and was built as a Hotel, 118 years ago. We have tried our up-most not to restore any of the Victorian elements of the Hotel, such as the floorboards, original stone walls etc... If you cannot appreciate the original character and charm that this Hotel was built upon 118 years ago, then I must suggest that you stay in the nearby Premier Inn and enjoy their views over the fields, rather than ours over the Ocean. As for the menu's and food options, our recently appointed, extremely talented, Rosette standard head chef has taken care of all of this and has provided a fantastic variety on our new menu's, we also have an a la carte, ready for action this season. I hope you understand what I am trying to get across, and if you ever were to stay with us again, I believe we can show you why Housel Bay is so special to so many people. Thanks again for your time. Alfred.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Lizard
7.3 km away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
602 reviews
9.8 km away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coverack
214 reviews
7.7 km away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 km away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
198 reviews
16.3 km away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
691 reviews
16.1 km away
Angel Hotel
Angel Hotel
#3 of 3 in Helston
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Housel Cove, The Lizard TR12 7PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > The Lizard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in The Lizard
Price Range: €113 - €172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated in a spectacular location at the Lizard in Cornwall. A lovely sandy cove nestles beneath the Hotel, and the Cornish Coast Path runs through the gardens and cliff lands. A place in which to walk, to eat and drink well and to set aside the cares of the world. Unspoilt scenery, outstanding cuisine (AA Rosette and RAC Dining Award) and a healthy lifestyle, we are also home to Britain's most southerly webcam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Housel Bay Hotel And Restaurant
Housel Bay The Lizard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing