We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (462)
Filter reviews
462 results
Traveller rating
220
163
46
21
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
220
163
46
21
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews church bells groupon deal premium room eden project steak and ale pie pub hotel no lift central location public areas town centre sunday lunch cornish breakfast walk in shower lovely hotel stayed here for one night very pleasant stay short stay
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 462 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2018

I had a lovely well appointed en-suite room with a very modern bathroom. The cleanliness in the room was just what you would want and the bed very comfortable. The staff during our stay were friendly, helpful and very welcoming. We stayed for 2 nights enabling us to visit the Eden Project on one day and the Lost Gardens of Heligan the next - both are within very easy driving distances from St. Austell. I very pleasant couple of days.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALB140-17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

Lovely hotel close to everything... We stayed here as our friends were getting married 2.5 miles away. It was a really lovely hotel we stayed in room 19 which was like an outside annex which was lovely and private. The room was very clean and very modern. The only thing was there was no mirror for me to do my hair and makeup but I rang down to reception and they got one to us in 10 minutes. The breakfast was lovely we had a choice of a hot breakfast or there was a continental bar with cereals and fruit juices and toast or croissants. Im not sure about the pub food as we didn't eat here but someone at the wedding we were at said they ate there and it was really nice. Overall a lovely stay and I would return x

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Aimeejukes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

Booked a 4 day break, to use St Austell as a base to explore Cornwall for the first time for me with my hubby who knows it well. The Hotel is lovely with a small private car park. Clean comfortable rooms with fantastic wholesome food. Only downside ...lots of steps so not suitable for those with limited mobility

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 102weblet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

2 visits to the white hart in st austell Town in the last 3 months.
Centre of town which is a bonus
Great Rooms
Excellent food and friendly staff
Andrew lovely guy and very similar to Peter Butterworth in Carry On Abroad seems to be everywhere helping out with excellent Customer Service and will go far in this game
Entertainer on Saturday 4th August strong and creates atmosphere.
Clean and tidy and will be back
Well done Andrew and all the team at the white hart

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank ALFIE99TAUNTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018

Unfortunately I had a really bad experience of this hotel. Booked 2 nights a few months in advance as part of a planned trip to Cornwall and Devon. Booked as a base to explore the area. Allocated room 8 on arrival and paid for 2 nights up front. Unfortunately room 8 was not of a good standard and I was told they were full so couldn't move me. After a lot of thought and hassle on the internet, I cancelled the second night and booked somewhere else. Since then I have tried unsuccessfully to get a refund on my second night. Hotels.com were very helpful (asked the hotel to refund me) but the hotel itself was like hitting a wall. Refused refund as I hadn't cancelled 48 hours before I arrived. Room was very tired, nothing like the pictures on the internet, in need of a complete overhaul, smelled old and dirty, had stains and generally wasn't a good place to be. I didn't see any other rooms so couldn't comment on them but the complete lack of customer service and the state of this particular room were really bad. I have stayed at a lot to hotels over the years and never had such a problem.

Room tip: Don't choose room 8
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AbbieJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews