We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holmbush Inn
Ranked #21 of 153 Restaurants in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$21
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Holmbush is a lively and friendly pub, situated in St Austell. It is a family pub with a delightful beer garden and conservatory. Other facilities include an excellent pool area and wide screen TV's showing terrestrial sporting events. There is also a good sized car park on site. Peta and her team look forward to welcoming you to the Holmbush Inn!
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

Amazing scampi and chips, enormous portions though so have the small one unless you have an enormous appetite!

Thank SnessieK8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Holmbush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review, we hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 83 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2016

We've been regular visitors to the Holmbush for years and last weekend we went out for tea. We reserved a table at 4.30pm on a Sunday eve as had our 18month old son with us with the hope we'd be eating by 5pm ish. We got there and it wasn't very busy so this was ideal, however we had a 50 minute wait which was unexpected as it wasn't very busy. My husband and Dad both had steaks, my sister had ham, egg and chips and I had lasagne. My husband found an extra ingredient in his steak which was overcooked aswell (we are not the sort to complain as my husband used to work in a local pub nearby and know how hard everyone works in this industry and how quick some people are to complain) - the lady clearing up other tables took the suspicious looking 'hair' like thing to the kitchen and came back saying the chefs said it was just thread off the aprons. She offered him a fresh meal but after a long wait with a hungry and getting tired toddler this was of no use to us. No other options were suggested so was left to it. This put a dampener on our evening and was a bit disappointed as we've always enjoyed our visits here as knew we could get great family meals but this was not the case on this occasion. No one came to ask if meals were OK either which used to happen. Hopefully on our next visit it will be back to how it used to be!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mrs_K_Marie_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile

Came here with a friend for dinner and had a great time the food was delicious and the staff friendly it would have been better of it was waitress service but that was the only fault

Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Holmbush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2016

Thank you for the review! We aim to take all customer comments on board, and use them to improve. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

I often eat and drink here. Amazing food with huge portion sizes. Very friendly staff and extremely clean. Highly recommend.

Thank Clairestfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Holmbush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2016

Thank you for the 5* review! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent meal, and we hope to welcome you back again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2016

We visited this pub as part of a short break in the area. The pub was warm and inviting. Friendly staff and clean tables/bar area.

There is a good choice of food on the menu along with extras on the specials board. The staff were excellent, checking to make sure the food was ok, and it was served in a timely fashion.

Good portion sizes from the suf n turf to the steak and ale pie. If we are ever back in the area then we will come again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Superhoop68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Holmbush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review - we are so pleased that you found our establishment warm and inviting. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Holmbush Inn also viewed

Charlestown, St Austell
 

Been to Holmbush Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing