We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable return visit”
Review of Driftwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Driftwood Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rosevine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We first visited this hotel 11 years ago and found we had been assigned the same room. It was all much the same --- spacious room with sitting area, comfortable superking bed, plenty of cupboard space and a lovely sea view from the dual aspect windows. The bathroom was adequate with a shower over the bath and plenty of toilettries but could do with a lick of paint.My one criticism of the room was the various rugs scattered around which could be a trip hazzard for the more elderly of us!
The dining experience was rather different from our first visit. We have dined in Michelin restaurants in the past and the food at the Driftwood certainly lived up to expectations. However, is it necessary to describe in minute detail every ingredient in every course? Also, when dinner is £65 per head can it be justified to have a £5 supplement on several dishes. We were there for 3 nights and the menu was exactly the same each night. Breakfasts were very good, an excellent selection of cereals, fruits, yogurt and pastries with an interesting assortment of cooked dishes.
The staff were all very friendly and welcoming but it would have been nice to have seen the owners at some time during the evenings.

Room Tip: Room 10 has sea views and superking bed but is accessed through the dining room and up a narrow stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LadyGAxbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Owner at Driftwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you, it was a pleasure having you back after so long. The essential style of the hotel has not changed much over the years but the decorative side certainly has. We do run seasonal menus, normally a choice of five or six dishes per course and the cost of some shellfish are so high, we do have to occasionally charge a supplement. Fiona and I are around during the day but in the evening, we leave guests to themselves and in the capable hands of our restaurant team. Please do come back and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 503 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have been able to visit the restaurant twice this year and each time have enjoyed excellent and unusual food with very attentive service.
However something really needs to be done about the welcome as you feel you are intruding on their evening and if you have not been before it is not too clear where to go.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cynthia_david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Owner at Driftwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you, I am pleased you enjoyed yourselves, could you possibly call me and I can find out more about your welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This boutique hotel is in an exquisite location with terrific coastal views. We had a standard room which was really nice and comfy. It was excellent. However the main reason that we stayed was for the dining experience. Wow we were not disappointed. The service was brilliant with very attentive helpful staff and the food from the kitchen was something else. Chris Eden is a Michelin star chef and it shows with what the kitchen produced for us. Unlike some other chefs/cooks in Cornwall he is not a one trick pony just cooking fish. The dishes we had were many and varied and the flavours and textures were amazing. It was a real pleasure to eat the in the restaurant. Thank you so much.

Room Tip: A standard sea view room in the hotel is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Owner at Driftwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

No, thank you, I am delighted that you enjoyed yourselves so much. Please do come and see us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent a delightful two nights relaxing at this small hotel nestling on the cliffs on the Roseland peninsula. The room was very comfortable with a wonderful view over the sea. Staff couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming. It was a pity we were here in November because the grounds including the private beach would have offered peace and solitude from a hectic life. A further major attraction is the Michlen starred Restaurant!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dr_David_Taylor2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Owner at Driftwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you, please do come and see us in the spring or summer so you can enjoy the gardens and the beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
63
Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

We had a really great time thanks to Paul and his team. We loved our room so much, our daughter wanted to move in!

The hotel was impeccably clean, gorgeous REN products and an exemplary housekeeping team.

We loved our gorgeous breakfast and choices offered.

The setting is stupendous and that view from our room...

Only suggestion would be to please replace the beds or mattresses as they are very soft and the bed in the second room wobbles like jelly. Also the duvets are far too warm.

Also perhaps an update on decor and furnishings to match the excellent hotel facilities, food and services.

We hope to be back.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Owner at Driftwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you, it was a pleasure having you to stay. We do have lightweight duvets on request but our duvets are the mid tog and the mattresses, similarly are a mid level of firmness. I hope we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosevine
8.2 km away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
214 reviews
4.9 km away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#1 of 5 in St Mawes
418 reviews
26.2 km away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.3 km away
Boskerris Hotel
Boskerris Hotel
#1 of 4 in Carbis Bay
790 reviews
0.6 km away
The Rosevine
The Rosevine
#2 of 2 in Rosevine
141 reviews
6.2 km away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Hotel

Address: Rosevine | Near Portscatho, Rosevine TR2 5EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Rosevine
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rosevine
Price Range: €236 - €320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Driftwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine your perfect holiday - a stylish, privately run Cornish Beach House Hotel, overlooking the stunning Gerrans Bay, near the pretty village of Portscatho, near St Mawes South Cornwall. Driftwood is like no other boutique hotel in Cornwall. Driftwood has the friendly informal service, a michelin star restaurant, and the efficiency you would expect. Where else can you walk down a wooded path, to your own beach and cove? Where else can you lie back on a steamer chair, with a glass of wine, and enjoy an unbroken sea view. Where else can you eat the best, locally sourced food, perhaps lobster caught that morning, or crab from the bay? Whoever you are or whatever your looking for, whether that be a family holiday, a boutique or romantic hotel in Cornwall, Driftwood is perfect for all your needs. At Driftwood, families can be as well looked after as romantic couples or small groups of grown-ups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Driftwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Hotel Rosevine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing