We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (545)
Filter reviews
545 results
Traveller rating
456
71
12
6
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
456
71
12
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private beach chris eden amuse bouche course tasting menu michelin starred chef roseland peninsula superb food the cliff three nights small hotel sea view each evening lovely room fantastic views feel very welcome mawes path
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 545 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2017

We have been able to visit the restaurant twice this year and each time have enjoyed excellent and unusual food with very attentive service.
However something really needs to be done about the welcome as you feel you are intruding on their evening and if you have not been before it is not too clear where to go.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cynthia_david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Owner at Driftwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Thank you, I am pleased you enjoyed yourselves, could you possibly call me and I can find out more about your welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

This boutique hotel is in an exquisite location with terrific coastal views. We had a standard room which was really nice and comfy. It was excellent. However the main reason that we stayed was for the dining experience. Wow we were not disappointed. The service was brilliant with very attentive helpful staff and the food from the kitchen was something else. Chris Eden is a Michelin star chef and it shows with what the kitchen produced for us. Unlike some other chefs/cooks in Cornwall he is not a one trick pony just cooking fish. The dishes we had were many and varied and the flavours and textures were amazing. It was a real pleasure to eat the in the restaurant. Thank you so much.

Room Tip: A standard sea view room in the hotel is excellent
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Owner at Driftwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

No, thank you, I am delighted that you enjoyed yourselves so much. Please do come and see us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

We spent a delightful two nights relaxing at this small hotel nestling on the cliffs on the Roseland peninsula. The room was very comfortable with a wonderful view over the sea. Staff couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming. It was a pity we were here in November because the grounds including the private beach would have offered peace and solitude from a hectic life. A further major attraction is the Michlen starred Restaurant!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Dr_David_Taylor2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Owner at Driftwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Thank you, please do come and see us in the spring or summer so you can enjoy the gardens and the beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

We had a really great time thanks to Paul and his team. We loved our room so much, our daughter wanted to move in!

The hotel was impeccably clean, gorgeous REN products and an exemplary housekeeping team.

We loved our gorgeous breakfast and choices offered.

The setting is stupendous and that view from our room...

Only suggestion would be to please replace the beds or mattresses as they are very soft and the bed in the second room wobbles like jelly. Also the duvets are far too warm.

Also perhaps an update on decor and furnishings to match the excellent hotel facilities, food and services.

We hope to be back.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Freedom697646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Owner at Driftwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Thank you, it was a pleasure having you to stay. We do have lightweight duvets on request but our duvets are the mid tog and the mattresses, similarly are a mid level of firmness. I hope we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

My husband and I celebrated our joint 60th birthdays at The Driftwood Hotel last weekend and it was a weekend to remember! From start to finish the staff at The Driftwood could not do enough for us. They made sure everything ran like clockwork and made us all feel very welcome. We all ate in the restaurant on the Saturday evening and everyone is still talking about it now! Yes it's expensive, but it does not disappoint!

Room Tip: Any with a sea view.
Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank DorsetMillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Owner at Driftwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Thank you, it was a pleasure having you all to stay and I am delighted that everyone had such a good time. I hope we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews