We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (544)
Filter reviews
544 results
Traveller rating
455
71
12
6
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
455
71
12
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private beach chris eden amuse bouche course tasting menu michelin starred chef roseland peninsula superb food the cliff three nights small hotel sea view each evening cooked to perfection lovely room fantastic views feel very welcome mawes
Filter
Updating list...
402 - 407 of 544 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Service to die for from the minute we arrived until we left - great room overlooking the sea made it something special. The Hotel was so very good - Nothing was too much trouble. Nice walk to Portscatho along the cliff path (passing the cliff top cafe mentioned by Caroline Quinton) simply gave us the appetite for what was to come. We have been lucky enough to eat in some very nice places (many before Tripadvisor came along) but this was simpy the best - seared John Dory to start with crisp shoulder of lamb/Roast Sea Bass to follow - the highest quality ever. Coffee in the lounge with a wide selection of goodies - attention from the staff was out of this world. Saving up to come back again.

Room Tip: All good but why not try the 'Cabin' - a small wooden cabin halfway down the path to the private beach but with access to all of the facilities of the hotel.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ahoydickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in a large double room with sea views. We have stayed at a number of hotels in this area, including Tresanton at St Mawes and Driftwood is the best by a very long way. From the friendly welcome from the owner to the fabulous views and walks to the excellent restaurant, be it for dinner or breakfast this hotel ticks all the boxes for a break in Cornwall. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mirjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Dinner at Driftwood with good friends visiting from London was just superb, from start to finish.
Fabulous location and views.
Food unfaultable.
Service impeccable.
Congrats on the Michelin star.
Better / less knowingly good than Rick Stein's (albeit excellent as long as you stay on the a la carte menu) restaurant in padstow, without the palaver of trying to get into padstow at the height of summer.
Driftwood is tucked away on the lovely Roseland peninsula. Loads of little beaches. And St Mawes to discover. And nearby is a farm shop that sells terrifically fresh fish - caught by the owners reportedly dishy sons! Freshest mackerel we have had for a long time. And great lobsters too.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Technical_Terry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We do not pretend to be food experts but know what we like. We both commented after our first night here that dinner was the best meal we could ever remember.

We ate out on the second day but the only slight disappointment on the third night was that the menu was almost identical to the first. It would have become a bit boring if we had dined in each day.

The whole 3 night stay was excellent with very comfortable rooms having spectacular views. We look forward to returning next year if we are able.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Just home after our stay at Driftwood Hotel. It was all amazing - magical in the cabin in perfect weather, dinner so memorable we are still talking over the delicious flavours of it all and such wonderful unspoilt scenery. Simply cannot wait to return and we are already looking for a window in our diary to book.

Room Tip: We loved the cabin given the perfect weather and my husband had the opportunity to fish for mackerel from the beach!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Superdippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews