We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure escapism”
Review of Driftwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Driftwood Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rosevine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We came here with my mother and her husband at the beginning of September as a special treat. We live in Australia and wanted a lovely holiday together on our trip back to the UK. We chose this place after careful research on tripadvisor and if anything it surpassed all our expectations.

The setting is stunning. The approach to the building is probably the most disappointing thing about the whole experience - the entranceway and approach to reception is probably the least attractive aspect of the building. however, as soon as you get inside, the care and attention to detail of the deoration is immediately apparent and the views from just about every window, absoloutely breathtaking.

It makes sense that the reception is at the back of the hotel as it frees up the sea views for communal areas and the bedrooms. I'm not sure if they all have sea views, but we were in one of upstairs annexe bedrooms and my Mother in a room on the ground floor of the main hotel and we both had spectacular views overlooking the gardens to the sea.

Furnishings were very 'House and Garden', beautifully maintained and of a very high standard. The only slight grumble was the softness of the beds, but that is personal preference. I know some hotels now have pillow menus - is there such a thing as a mattress menu...?

Staff and owners were really friendly and helpful, with suggestions on where to go, what to see and other good places to eat - not at all concerned when we cancelled our booking at the restaurant on a couple of evenings to try other places. They seem to have a constant waiting list for the restaurant tables but give hotel customers priority. The meal we did eat there was excellent and breakfasts were fantastic.

All together this is a dream like experience - how you hope your holiday will be but how they very rarely live up to. I know my parents our looking to go back again soon and it will remain as a highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paperduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (503)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

362 - 366 of 503 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2012

Service to die for from the minute we arrived until we left - great room overlooking the sea made it something special. The Hotel was so very good - Nothing was too much trouble. Nice walk to Portscatho along the cliff path (passing the cliff top cafe mentioned by Caroline Quinton) simply gave us the appetite for what was to come. We have been lucky enough to eat in some very nice places (many before Tripadvisor came along) but this was simpy the best - seared John Dory to start with crisp shoulder of lamb/Roast Sea Bass to follow - the highest quality ever. Coffee in the lounge with a wide selection of goodies - attention from the staff was out of this world. Saving up to come back again.

Room Tip: All good but why not try the 'Cabin' - a small wooden cabin halfway down the path to the pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ahoydickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in a large double room with sea views. We have stayed at a number of hotels in this area, including Tresanton at St Mawes and Driftwood is the best by a very long way. From the friendly welcome from the owner to the fabulous views and walks to the excellent restaurant, be it for dinner or breakfast this hotel ticks all the boxes for a break in Cornwall. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mirjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Dinner at Driftwood with good friends visiting from London was just superb, from start to finish.
Fabulous location and views.
Food unfaultable.
Service impeccable.
Congrats on the Michelin star.
Better / less knowingly good than Rick Stein's (albeit excellent as long as you stay on the a la carte menu) restaurant in padstow, without the palaver of trying to get into padstow at the height of summer.
Driftwood is tucked away on the lovely Roseland peninsula. Loads of little beaches. And St Mawes to discover. And nearby is a farm shop that sells terrifically fresh fish - caught by the owners reportedly dishy sons! Freshest mackerel we have had for a long time. And great lobsters too.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Technical_Terry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We do not pretend to be food experts but know what we like. We both commented after our first night here that dinner was the best meal we could ever remember.

We ate out on the second day but the only slight disappointment on the third night was that the menu was almost identical to the first. It would have become a bit boring if we had dined in each day.

The whole 3 night stay was excellent with very comfortable rooms having spectacular views. We look forward to returning next year if we are able.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosevine
8.2 km away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
216 reviews
4.9 km away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#1 of 5 in St Mawes
419 reviews
26.2 km away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.3 km away
Boskerris Hotel
Boskerris Hotel
#1 of 4 in Carbis Bay
790 reviews
0.6 km away
The Rosevine
The Rosevine
#2 of 2 in Rosevine
142 reviews
6.2 km away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Hotel

Address: Rosevine | Near Portscatho, Rosevine TR2 5EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Rosevine
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rosevine
Price Range: €237 - €323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Driftwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine your perfect holiday - a stylish, privately run Cornish Beach House Hotel, overlooking the stunning Gerrans Bay, near the pretty village of Portscatho, near St Mawes South Cornwall. Driftwood is like no other boutique hotel in Cornwall. Driftwood has the friendly informal service, a michelin star restaurant, and the efficiency you would expect. Where else can you walk down a wooded path, to your own beach and cove? Where else can you lie back on a steamer chair, with a glass of wine, and enjoy an unbroken sea view. Where else can you eat the best, locally sourced food, perhaps lobster caught that morning, or crab from the bay? Whoever you are or whatever your looking for, whether that be a family holiday, a boutique or romantic hotel in Cornwall, Driftwood is perfect for all your needs. At Driftwood, families can be as well looked after as romantic couples or small groups of grown-ups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Driftwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Hotel Rosevine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing