We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“a house with great character in a secluded setting”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Merryfield Manor

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private, Heated, Indoor Swimming Pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Private, Heated, Indoor Swimming Pool
The Great Hall From The Minstrels Gallery
Example of one of our twin rooms.
Example of one of our double rooms.
Kitchen Cookery.
Kitchen Sides.
Dining for 10.
External panoramic of the grounds.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Pensilva, Liskeard, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chinese (Simplified) first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Sally B
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“a house with great character in a secluded setting”
Reviewed 7 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We filled the house with a multigenerational family gathering and it was well equipped to cope with all our different needs including 2 dogs.
The house and rooms were interesting and the minstrels gallery great fun. We enjoyed the barbecue and the gardens. The pool and sauna were an added bit of fun for the younger ones in our party. Only thing which caused a lot of discussion was missing locks on Jack and Jill bathrooms but decided best just to sing when using them!
The owner was very chatty and full of local information. I would reccomend this to any large party.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the double height sitting room
Liked least: did not find any walks straight from grounds which did not involve walking along very narrow roads where traffic can speed along.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2017
Hi Sally, thank you for your your review, it was great to have your family stay with us at the Merryfield Estate. We are glad that the property was able to meet the needs of your family and you enjoyed exclusive use of the indoor pool.
We look forward to hopefully seeing you again in the future.
All the best from Sian at the Merryfield Estate.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie S
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing place to stay”
Reviewed 23 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We have just returned from staying at Merryfield Manor in Liskeard and can honestly say it was a fantastic week. The house is absolutely amazing and having our own pool was fantastic. We went as a group of myself, husband, two daughters and their husbands plus 3 young grandchildren. The house had beautiful bedrooms and bathrooms all of which were really comfortable . The downstairs living area was great for relaxing in the evening and the kitchen more than adequate with cooker, microwave, fridge, freezer , washing machine and dishwasher. Outside the views are breathtaking. Countryside as far as the eye can see. We all loved the wild rabbits that came into the garden and the robin that visited daily. There are so many places to visit nearby and this was a fantastic base, though a car is essential. The owner,Simon, was so friendly and helpful. We all will definitely be going back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2017
Hi Debbie, thank you for an amazing review of the Merryfield Manor. We are extremely happy that we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable for all the family, and that the property met all your needs.
It was a pleasure to have a family that enjoys our beautiful county as much as we do.
We very much look forward to seeieng you and your family again in the future.
All the best from Sian at the Merryfield Estate.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom U
Falmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Countryside comfort with a rustic edge and fantastical feel.”
Reviewed 17 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

To back up my friend Catherine's comments, a group of 10 of us stayed for 3 days at Merryfield Manor.

Everything was considered and we were made to feel most welcome, CD (Simon) our host has put his heart into the property and it shows in the all the little details and the service he provides. All facilities were perfect for our needs with the pool, sauna, fires and table tennis getting used heavily over the few days we were there.

Would be a perfect space for a reunion of friends, family event or like us a business retreat. Get someone on cooking duty, fire up the range and main stove then relax!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2016
Thank you Tom, Catherine and all at The Peloton
Accounting and Business Consultancy in Falmouth.
for choosing The Merryfield Estate in Cornwall for
your business development break. You were a lovely
party and we would love to see you again and any
of your clients too.. Thank you for your kind words and
my brace of pheasants it was a lovely thought..... ;)
Business breaks and specialist short stop overs are an
increasing part of our range of our lovely accommodation.

Cu again we hope
Cornish Dragon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catherine...
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Perfect venue for our team retreat”
Reviewed 10 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

10 work colleagues descended on Merryfield manor and Simon our host. Nothing was too much bother., Simon allowed us to use all the facilities in both properties , two pools, games room and endless supplies of coal and wood for the fire and aga. It was a wonderful space and we had a lot of fun.
Thank you.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Feb 2016
Thank you Catherine, Peloton Accountancy
and Business Consultancy of Falmouth, Cornwall...
It was a pleasure to host for your working business
development weekend. Thank you for my lovely brace
of pheasants they were a very well grain fed pair and
now converted to a red wine game casserole !
Would welcome you back any time and any other
businesses from Cornwall or in fact any where in
the world who need a retreat for us to 17 people ...
CU again I hope.. !
Cornish Dragon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Char567
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Memorable stay in a lovely house with gardens, a private indoor pool and sauna”
Reviewed 5 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

My husband, 3 children (aged 8, 7 and 4) and I stayed here during half term in October. The house is huge with a grand fireplace which we used constantly. The kitchen is very well equipped and we ate most meals at home. The children loved the indoor pool and sauna and we used this twice a day. The manor house is well situated for exploring Cornwall and we did day trips to both the north and south coasts during our stay. The owner, CD, was very helpful and had many local tips for us during our stay. I would highly recommend this rental for large groups, couples, friends, or 1-2 families with children. We were only 5 people but that was fine as well, although our daughter struggled to choose which bedroom she preferred to stay in as they were all so nice. We will definitely return and would also consider booking Merryfield Farm as an alternative as that property, separate but next door to Merryfield Manor, also looked ideal for a holiday rental.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2015
Hi Charlotta and family...
A big thank you for your lovely review of my
home at Merryfield. It is so rewarding when
we are visited by happy people who have so
enjoyed their stay....
I can not praise this family high enough in every
aspect and such well behaved children.
Yes do please come and holiday with us again
and we would welcome your friends and family
from Scandinavia too...
Thank you

Cornish Dragon x
( aka Simon )
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing