We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely home cooked food”
Review of The Four Lords

The Four Lords
Ranked #5 of 26 Restaurants in Par
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$27
Description: Please note the restaurant is now closed.
Restaurant details
Description: Please note the restaurant is now closed.
Reviewed 4 September 2016

This was the first time we had visited the pub since it was taken over( shame on us). We went for Sunday lunch today and were very unpleasantly surprised by the light decor and the cleanliness of the place. The food was very good and plentiful and after reading previous reviews on portion sizes we asked for small portions. I still could not finish mine but hubby helped me out, he is very picky about veg and would only eat his peas so obviously he still had some room left. We enjoyed the food so much we are planning to come back during the week to sample their pies. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and they appear to have a variety of entertainment on all week, maybe not my sort of thing being a crabby o.a.p. but nevertheless as we only live down the road the will get more of our custom. I must congratulate them on making a successful business of what used to be a dingy pub. May they go from strength to strength after all their obvious hard work.

1  Thank Normasavory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil C, Owner at The Four Lords, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

Thank You Norma for your review.
It is great to see the locals returning to the Four Lords. We have slowly improved the appearance and quality of service and now is becoming a welcoming place to come to. I know you said music is not your sort of thing, we do have a varying choice of music for all tastes. Hopefully we will see you soon at least for the food.
Thank you again from all The Four Lords Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

Travelled down from north wales to spend a couple of days sightseeing. Came across the four lords and decided to have a meal. The hospitality was friendly the food was great and we ended up eating there every evening. Great value for money. Well worth a visit if your passing.

1  Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil C, Owner at The Four Lords, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2016

Thank you to the Mank for your review.

It was great to meet you on your visit. Hopefully on your next visit to Cornwall The Four Lords will be again on your sight seeing trip.

We hope to see you again very soon.
Thank you again from all of The Four Lords Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016

We called into this pub on the way to St Austell for a quick meal. We both had Fish and Chips and the haddock must have been the best tasting I have had for quite sometime. Well done to the staff!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank trytobeasnorkeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil C, Owner at The Four Lords, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2016

Thank you for review.

I have passed on your review to all the staff. Its always nice to have a review on the staff not just the good food.

We hope to see you again very soon.
Thank you again from all of The Four Lords Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stopped here for Sunday lunch after a visit to the Eden project. We were so happy that we stumbled across it. The service provided by the staff was exceptional. They were so friendly and attentive. The food was great. We each had roast beef Sunday dinner. It was freshly cooked and fantastic. We'd definitely visit here again.

Thank Nicola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil C, Owner at The Four Lords, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2016

Thank you Nicola for your review.

The Four Lords has been here for well over 100 years. I guess exceptional and fantastic places take time to find and hard to forget.

We hope to see you again very soon.
Thank you again from all of The Four Lords Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2016

Found this pub on the way down to our Cornwall holiday. Staff were very friendly and more than welcoming. Food was great, nice and hot, good portion sizes and reasonably priced. Specials board was a bonus. Would certainly recommend.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CC2606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil C, Owner at The Four Lords, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2016

Thank you cc for your review.

Another Great Find with welcoming staff and great food. What more can be said 5*.

We hope to see you again very soon.
Thank you again from all of The Four Lords Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Four Lords also viewed

 

Been to The Four Lords? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing