We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sunday Roast”

The Britannia Inn & Waves Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 26 Restaurants in Par
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$32
Cuisines: Seafood, Pub, Grill
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

Been here quite a few times before and once again couldn't fault it, great Sunday roast, good quality food, hot & plenty of it, good friendly staff, very busy on Sundays so need to book in advance.

1  Thank Michael I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BritanniaManagement, General Manager at The Britannia Inn & Waves Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on the Britannia Inn. We are so pleased you enjoyed your Sunday roast with us, thank you for your lovely comments. It is great to hear that you have visited us previously and we hope you will continue to do so!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (666)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 84 of 666 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

After looking on Trip Advisor for somewhere with fairly good reviews to eat for a Sunday roast, we decided to try here.
All but one of us had the carvery , they had scampi, which was 'tasty'.
Very pleased with the vegetables on the roast-they were lovely, the meat was nice too.
We were so impressed that we decided to book a table for Wednesday evening.
I had beef stew, and it's the best & tastiest thing I've eaten in many years!
It's rare for me to go out and actually enjoy; yet finish a whole meal (yes, I'm a very fussy eater) but it was amazing, hence why I want to steal the chef!
Serving staff were polite and helpful.
If I have to pick fault, it's certainly not the food or cleanliness.
The outside male toilets could do with covering with a screen, as when sat in the dining room, men coming in and out going to the toilet and looking into a toilet isn't ideal when eating.
Also, was disappointed to have a dog inside the dining room Wednesday evening. I understand people enjoy dog friendly establishments, but unless health and hygiene standards have been dropped, personally, I feel it's not appropriate.
Thank you very much for such lovely meals and will/have recommended to others!

1  Thank Lassx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BritanniaManagement, General Manager at The Britannia Inn & Waves Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Hi there! Thank you very much for leaving your lovely review of the Britannia and great to hear you returned to us for a second visit during your time in Cornwall!

Lovely testimony to our kitchen team also thank you, however please don't steal any of our fantastic chef's, we kinda need them!!

We agree whole heartedly regarding your suggestion of screening the gents garden toilets access and it is something we have scheduled in to be done soon. Thank you again for bringing this to our attention though.

Hope to see you again when visiting and thank you once again for taking the time to leave your fantastic review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017 via mobile

Attended a party here and was amazed with the food which the party i was with were all happy with.Great atmosphere, pleasant staff.

Thank ManchesterBeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BritanniaManagement, General Manager at The Britannia Inn & Waves Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Thank for taking the time to review the Britannia Inn. Such fantastic comments to read and we are so pleased you enjoyed yourself, and also the food. We hope that if you are ever in the area again you will visit us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017 via mobile

We booked the Britannia Inn based on Trip Advisor (it is rated 2nd in Par). Booking was easy. The restaurant has been nicely renovated. Service was excellent throughout. Main courses were excellent. Desserts were a bit of a misfire. An apple strudel was borderline burnt and chewy to the point of inedible. Gluten free and vegetarian options were limited but they were there and there was a choice. A pavlova was dry and dull. But overall it was a good meal

Thank asant2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BritanniaManagement, General Manager at The Britannia Inn & Waves Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Britannia Inn. It is always great to read that our service was excellent, and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your mains. We are really very sorry that your desserts were disappointing, and this will be looked into. With regard to vegetarian and gluten free meals, we try to offer a good selection, however if at the time there is something that is required that isn't on the menu, then we will most definitely do our very best to accommodate. We really do hope you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

Food always lovely and staff always helpful. have never had a problem. thank you very much look forward to going again.

Thank jacksamuelTruro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BritanniaManagement, General Manager at The Britannia Inn & Waves Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Britannia Inn. We are so pleased to read your lovely comments regarding our food and staff, and even more pleased to read that you are looking forward to coming back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Britannia Inn & Waves Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Britannia Inn & Waves Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing