We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (937)
Filter reviews
937 results
Traveller rating
541
254
94
38
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
541
254
94
38
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vista lounge family hotel sea view games room comfy sofas table football waiting staff amazing views private beach lounge area the cliff hotel is situated breakfast and dinner kids club this lovely hotel outdoor pool stunning location
Filter
Updating list...
170 - 175 of 937 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

This hotel is really good and was a pleasant surprise, I wasn't sure what to expect after booking it due to some of the reviews at the time.
We had a sea view room which was bright and airy with a lovely large bathroom, the staff were all really accomadating, the views, as per all previous reviews, are stunning, food is really good, breakfast is great as there is a whole raft of options, i would have liked a more 'basic' option on the menu in the 'fine dining' restaurant as although the food was good sometimes you just feel like something a bit more wholesome and hearty!! That's just a personal opinion though.
The hotel is very family orientated however they make no secret of that, we don't have children and there were a lot of kiddies there so a couple of glasses of wine in the vista lounge can be a bit noisy and chaotic due to the kids so if that bothers you then it's maybe not for you.
One bit of a ' bug bare' is the compulsory gratuity put on the bill at the end, I'm not mean and we always tip (unless we've received apalling service) however I take exception to being told I WILL pay and how much I will pay (it's 10%. . ALSO on waiter service if you just have a drink so bear that in mind)
Overall would definitely recommend

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 931sharonp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 May 2017

Thank you for your review and very pleased you enjoyed your stay. The hotel is busy with families over the holiday period however out of the school holiday times the hotel is better suited to couples I would say.
I take your point about having an option on the menu for something a little more homely and I have been talking to the chef about this.
The service charge is discretionary and in no way mean to come across as something that is expected guest have to pay. If a guest requests that some or all of the service charge is removed from their account then it will be removed without question.
We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017

Fantastic location overlooking the sea. Sea facing room almost essential. Beautiful gardens. Lovely cliff walks all around right from the hotel? Marconi Centre walking distance. Old hotel and it particularly shows in the plumbing, not exactly uncomfortable bathroom but complete renovation required. Good place for children. Far from anywhere except Cornwall! But on balance worth the effort. Food a bit pretentious, small portions and monotonous. Would we return? Probably not, mainly because of the time to get there.

Date of stay: April 2017
Thank shmz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 May 2017

Thank you for your review. The Polurrian Hotel is an old and historic hotel, built in 1912 with many traditional features. The hotel was refurbished 5 years ago with all rooms upgraded and renovated keeping some of the traditional characters. During these refurbishments we added a large Vista lounge that has the most incredible views over the sea. The hotel is getting re-painted this year and we are continually up-grading and improving the hotel. I have noted your other comments regards the food and in fact we have recently introduced a daily changing menu. I do hope you do decide to return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017

Myself and my partner had an amazing stay at the Polurrian Bay Hotel.The room was lovely, the hotel had everything you could want, a snug with books, games, a pool, gym, a pool table, outside games, tennis court- you name it, they had it! The amazing vista lounge looks out onto the sea and provides beautiful sunset views. The food at breakfast was great and our evening meal in the hotel was delicious. The staff were so friendly and went above and beyond to look after us. Would 100% recommend for families and couples.

Date of stay: April 2017
Thank hannahh563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 May 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely comments and so pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

When we booked we thought we were having a land facing room. This was not the case, we had room 107 and the views through both windows was superb. The young staff were very polite and nothing was too much trouble. We had excellent service through both dinner and breakfast meals. We booked a dog package and this was good value. You receive, a blanket, 2 bowls and a pack of dog treats. (You return all except the treats.) We will definitely return here, a great find.

Room tip: Room 107 has great views
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 May 2017

Thank you for your kind review and very pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2017 via mobile

The hotel is set in the most amazing position as shown from photos. But this is not the only good thing. From the moment we stepped into the hotel to the unfortunate day we departed the staff were amazing. The receptionist went out of her way to accommodate our request for dining and the restaurant staff were excellent. The food was definitely 5* so our compliments to the Chef. We used the gym and indoor pool and found them to be clean and well equipped.
Can't wait to return.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jamieedwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 May 2017

Thank you for your lovely review and for your kind comments about our staff and our food. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews