We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,764)
Filter reviews
1,765 results
Traveller rating
1,381
266
85
18
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,381
266
85
18
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubthe cliffspa journeyrelaxation roomeco hotelgenerous roomoutdoor natural poolopen plan bathroomglass of champagneworth every pennyamazing hotelspecial occasiontea and coffeeoverlooking the beachwine liststeam roomnothing is too much trouble
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 1,765 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2018

Fantastic hotel, stunning location and view, directly at one of the most beautiful beaches I ever visited. The Spa area offers lots of amazing services, the hot tubs outside are a must. I loved the daily yoga sessions in the morning. Different styles each day and always focused on relaxation, recharging and connecting the guests back to themselves and their inner peace. The rooms are lovely and thoughtfully designed, with lots of focus on small details.
We loved the fact that we got a fantastic, different, and delicious vegan menu each day. Carefully selected wine list with tasty wines; the wines are all labelled, e.g., organic, vegan, and many more. For breakfast, we also got a vegan menu, very creative, innovative, fresh and delicious.
If you have a few days and want to get the most relaxation out of your time, I highly recommend spending your time at The Scarlet.

Room Tip: 1st floor and you can walk out the terrace door and down to the beach.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TamaraSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennie W, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

What a fantastic read! Thank you so much for your review and recommendations. The complimentary classes in the morning are a great way to start the day and I am pleased that you found the breakfast menu to be so delicious. We are immensely proud of our eclectic wine list, it is a pleasure to showcase smaller producers and champion bio-dynamical and organically grown varieties. Do come and visit us again soon, all the best, Jennie (House Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018

Myself and my husband visited this beautiful eco hotel just after our wedding at the beginning of June. The hotel staff were all very friendly and the hotel gave a very calm relaxed vibe which we loved. Nothing was too much trouble.

We booked to have a cream tea and a copper bath on the first day and it was so relaxing, exactly what we needed just after our wedding. The following day we took a lovely walk along the beach which was phenomenal, such a beautiful and peaceful area. We also booked to do the Rhassoul treatment at the spa which was great, we left there feeling completely zen. The cliff side hot tub is an absolute must - with a cocktail! A great place to just sit and take in the amazing scenery and sea breeze.

We had a sea view spacious room which was so clean, and lovely - the only thing I will say is that it was the last spacious room left and was a double bed, which was fine, but there was plenty of space for them to fit a King in, which would be better.

The food was just unbelievable, everything is locally sourced. We booked to have dinner at Jamie's Fifteen restaurant on the second night but cancelled as we loved the hotel restaurant so much, we went back! I must say, we thought the scones with the Cream Tea were dry, but don't know if that's just how they are in Cornwall - I'm a Devonshire cream tea'er!

We couldn't have asked for a better place to spend our "minimoon" and are already arranging our second visit. It's the perfect place to escape the daily routines and take some well deserved time out. I would say that for us, it was worth every penny as it was the perfect way to celebrate our recent marriage.

Thank you The Scarlet, and see you again soon!

Room Tip: For the best views and room sizes, choose a Spacious sea view room. We had no.5
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank caitlin_jn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennie W, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Congratulations again to you both, and thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review and recommendations on Trip Advisor. It is always wonderful to read about our guest’s experiences, and to see you enjoyed the restaurant and spa so much is superb. We really appreciate and value your comments and look forward to seeing you again soon. Until then all the best, Jennie (House Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018

having a few days here to unwind was perfect for my wife and i
we loved the ethos of the hotel the quiet understated way that the staff go about their business
we will definitely return as we would love to experience thew hotel in the Autumn or winter - great location with fantastic staff

Room Tip: not sure we had room 9 with great view but i think they all had a great view
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjbones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa B, Deputy House Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

Its lovely to read you had the perfect unwind. We would love to welcome you back later in the year; it really does bring new elements to your stay. Trade sun bathing for exploring empty beaches, sunsets for storm watching and sun shades for cosy cuddles under a blanket. Warmest wishes, Lisa (Deputy House Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for a week and had a very relaxing chilled time. The staff were always polite and attentive . The added bonus was we could bring our dog! The location of the hotel was fantastic so close to a quiet beach and 2 wonderful coastal walks. We had a couple of treatments each in the spa and they were also to a very high standard.

We ate breakfast there everyday and it was really good so much food we never really needed lunch ! Dinner was also good. The menu was simple but that’s to my taste. We will 100% plan on staying again maybe we’ll try it out in the winter months as well .

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa B, Deputy House Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

Please do come back in the winter! Winter brings about a whole different type of stay, its lovely. Blustery walks, hot chocolate in the hot tubs, storm watching from the outdoor sauna. I love the change of seasons, thank you for taking the time to share you experience. Warmest wishes Lisa (Deputy House Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

We stayed in June for 3 nights and the experience was brilliant as usual. Everything from the staff to the menu to the room was top notch.
The informal style and feel ensures ultimate relaxation, exactly what we needed.
The views are stunning - make sure you visit soon

Room Tip: Just right double is a lovely room and has a great view of the beach and sea
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Evs_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa B, Deputy House Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

Thank you for your review and recommendations, I am so pleased that you had another amazing stay. We do indeed want our guests to relax and feel at home as soon as they enter the building! Do come and see us again soon, all the best, Jennie (House Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews