We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cornish Treasure”
Review of Hollow Tree House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Helston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hollow Tree House
Ranked #20 of 39 Helston B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This B&B has got to be one of the best in the UK. Our hosts could not have been more welcoming. Our room just perfect, and the breakfast choice was excellent as was the food. In a perfect position in Helston for touring The Lizard and all compass points, you can capture so many places to visit without having to clock up the miles.
Book in. You will not regret it.

Room Tip: Book early.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ramjam143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
There are newer reviews for Hollow Tree House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2013

A warm, welcoming, immaculate family home was made all the better by Pete and Marjorie. From the homemade shortbread, carefully thought through facilities to the docile cuddles from their dogs made for this very happy holiday traveller. A delightful place and wonderful people. Not to be missed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coralie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Our stay with Marjorie and Peter was lovely. Quite apart from the comfortable rooms and luscious food, our hosts were more than welcoming. Every detail was attended to and we were treated like royalty.
I can highly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: Make sure the beds are comfy.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max6053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights, chose as result of Tripadvisor reviews which were spot on. Marjorie was lovely and nothing was to much trouble for us. After our 6 hour journey a cup of tea & homemade cake was most welcome Thank You. The room was cosy, comfy and best nights sleep we have had ever away from home. Breakfast was plentiful and we loved the endless supply of homemade shortbread on the tea tray in our room. the luxurious bathroom was a real treat not ensuite but we had sole use. We would definitely stay here again should we return to Helston and hope that Marjorie & Peter along with their 2 lovely doggies have a vacancy.

Room Tip: either room both overlook the lovely mature gardens.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I was in Helston for work but took a few extra days in Cornwall. Hollow Tree House was a place to stay. If you are looking for boutique chic then don't go but if you are happy with old fashioned comfort, a cosy bed, a lovely outlook onto the garden and a delicious breakfast then you wont be disappointed, in fact breakfast lasted me all day with no problem at all but light options are available.
Marjorie and Peter are good hosts, their dogs are lovely and very well behaved. The ginger cake on arrival was very welcome and the room was well equipped with a comfy chair and home made shortbreads. Although the bathroom was not ensuite I did have sole use of a luxurious bathroom and everywhere in the house was spotlessly clean. There's off road parking for the car too. I can't think of a drawback really.

Room Tip: The room with juliet balcony was lovely and quiet with a view over the garden,
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nanna2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helston
0.5 km away
Angel Hotel
Angel Hotel
#3 of 3 in Helston
88 reviews
9.3 km away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
813 reviews
0.7 km away
Strathallan Guest House
Strathallan Guest House
#3 of 39 in Helston
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
No.52 Bed & Breakfast
No.52 Bed & Breakfast
#17 of 39 in Helston
30 reviews
3.7 km away
Harbour Inn
Harbour Inn
#1 of 8 in Porthleven
494 reviews
7.3 km away
Tregaddra Farm B&B
Tregaddra Farm B&B
#4 of 39 in Helston
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollow Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollow Tree House

Address: 27 Church Hill, Helston TR13 8NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Helston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Helston
Price Range: €38 - €64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hollow Tree House is a Silver Award winning, 4 Star rated B&B in Helston, Cornwall. It has two double rooms, each with wash basin and access to a private bathroom.Furnished in traditional fashion the rooms allow visitors the space and comfort to relax at their leisure. Choices of hot drinks, home made shortbread and a flat screen digital television in each room allow for private-time for guests.Located at the head of the Loe Valley and situated on the edge of the sixth century market town of Helston, Hollow Tree House looks down this sweeping landscape and onto the sea at Loe Bar. The house is situated in its own grounds down a quiet and tranquil private lane, and it is here that Marjorie and Peter Webb offer you the opportunity to relax, accompanied by the very best in Cornish hospitality and the finest English home cooking.Come and stay! You might not want to leave! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing