We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (460)
Filter reviews
460 results
Traveller rating
299
98
40
13
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
299
98
40
13
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews older clientele spa treatments golf club sea view swimming pool regular visitors restaurant staff friendly hotel north cornwall coast public rooms coastal path breakfast and dinner local produce enjoyable stay short break high standard lovely location
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 460 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

What a gem!! We wanted to stay somewhere quiet, relaxing and close to the beautiful north Cornwall coast for our first wedding anniversary. We regularly visit Constantine and Harlyn however did not know this hotel was here until a friend said how incredible the restaurant is.

The hotel was very generous and upgraded us to a beautiful sea facing room With balcony to celebrate our anniversary.
A large, spotless room with an incredibly comfortable bed and Elemis toiletries in the bathroom. Very quiet at night with the only sound being the crashing of the waves against the rocks - it was bliss!

We used the pool and jacuzzi. We were fortunate that no one else was using the facilities and had the place to ourselves. Again, very clean and relaxing.

We had dinner in the restaurant and were not disappointed. Food was delicious, service was attentive and the ambience relaxing.
Cooked breakfast was equally as tasty and the little touch of an anniversary card and chocolates was lovely.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be back soon. Thank you Treglos.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Delia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim B, General Manager at Treglos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2018

Delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the food delicious.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018

M and i wanted a relaxing break with some walking and, hopefully, good food. We elected to stay in one of the self service apartments at Treglos as lord and master wished to bring Jake, the black labrador, with us. (Jake’s early morning and late evening comfort stops seemed easier to mamage based in an apartment.) Reception staff were efficient and welcoming and we were soon ensconced in flat 3, Booby’s Bay. It was clean, spacious and comfortable although the entrance and surrounding area was desperately in need of some tlc. Weeds, unkempt grass, etc. A shame because just a little attention would make such a difference. Food in the hotel dining room was beautifully presented and delicious with exemplary setvice. We also ate in the bar which was equally good. M enjoyed the small indoor swimming pool and the lounges were spacious, elegant and comfortable. The beach at Constanine is a five minute walk away and beautiful. We visited some dog friendly gardens, shopped at Padstow and had fun. We hope to return to Treglos but perhaps next time in a dog friendly room in the hotel itself.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank gaisie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim B, General Manager at Treglos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2018

A lovely review thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018

Good hotel in quiet location near padstow. Nice dining area and breakfasts. Rooms could do with updates, particularly tv's. WiFi intermittent. This is text just to fill out the 200 minimum requirement. Don't know why it's 200 ?

Room tip: Upgrade tv's
Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rryan518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim B, General Manager at Treglos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2018

Thank you for your review, it is much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018

Spent five nights here with my partner and two young children, We were attracted to the place because of it's close proximity to Constantine Bay and the neighbouring beaches. We booked our room at relatively short notice and were in room 36. It was a tad noisy due to it's location to the staircase but it was generally OK.

As the title of the review suggests, my experience falls under three headings. Lets start with:

The Good

Wonderful location - only a five minute walk down to Constantine Bay.. Most of the staff were very friendly - most notably those at breakfast time (we didn't have dinner there). The breakfasts were wonderful. A fine selection of fruit salad, cereals, bread, pastries, nuts and seeds. The cooked breakfasts were also nice. The pool was perfectly adequate albeit looking a little tired. That said, my eldest child loved it. Didn't use the other facilities like the pool and snooker tables but they were an added bonus.The shop at the end of the road was genuinely charming with a wide selection of what appeared to be locally sourced produce. The surf shop next door was also excellent.

The Bad

Creeky floors and heavily sprung doors made the hotel much noiser than it should be. I accept that it's an old building and that the floors might creek as a result, but a bit of dampening on the door hinges and replacing the clunky, old fashioned locks would go some way to making it feel quieter. The hotel didn't seem very child friendly. We noticed tjhis most at breakfast time when it was very quiet, we felt that we had to keep "shushing" the children for fear of disturbing what fellow diners there were.. I think that has something to do with the fact that the hotel seemed to attract (how can I put this?) a more mature guest. The situation wasn't helped by the fact that the staff insisted on placing said mature guests right next to us when there was acres of room elsewhere to accommodate them. At least have an area in the breakfast room dedicated to families. The flight of stairs leading down to the pool area was dangerous. As you came from the pool back up the stairs, the door at the sumit opened towards you. I'd be suprised if it hasn]t in the past caught someone unaware and sent the hurtling back down the stairs. The chemicals in the hot tub / jacuzzi were, in my experience at least, imbalanced. I spent a few minutes in it and felt as though I'd been overcome with fumes. The grounds felt a little bit neglected.

The Ugly

I knocked off a whole point for this On our second day at the hotel. a family came down early in the morning to see that the bumper of their rather expensive looking car had been torn off. Witnesses said that a delivery vehicle carelessly reversed and damaged it in the process. And rather than stop to inform the hotel, they just made off. There are signs plastered around the car park informing guests that cars are parked there at the owners' own risk. The manager was called out and explained this to the family. From what I understand, the manager gave the family the details of the company that made the delivery for them to make contact themselves and seek redress. I had no problem with this. What I did have a problem with was the fact that the lady of the family was very distressed. Not least because they'd discovered the damage on their last day at the hotel and they were due to start their 300-odd mile journey home that morning. The lady explained that she felt that the hotel did nothing to help them. We happened to be loading our car which was parked next to theirs and the lady was growing increasingly distressed to the extent that she became tearful. The manager reiterated the fact tthat there was nothing more that he could do and walked off with one of his colleagues. As he walked off, he mocked the lady crying with his fellow countryman within earshot of her. I thought this was unprofessional and shameful behaviour.

So in conclusuon: Lovely breakfasts. Not really suitable for people with young families. Be careful where you park your car..

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Jellylegs76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim B, Owner at Treglos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Thank you very much for your review.
We are glad that you and your family enjoyed our location, swimming in the pool and " wonderful " breakfasts.
The hotel was almost full during your stay with lots of families in residence. The more mature guests are aware it is the school holidays and generally enjoy the buzz of children staying.
As you mentioned it is an older building and does have some creaky floors. The locks on the room doors are all new as required by H&S legislation and can be a bit clunky.
I would also like to reassure you that the chemicals in the jacuzzi are checked and balanced daily although for hygiene reasons a fairly high chlorine level is required to which some people and children are more sensitive.
The delivery van catching the bumper of a vehicle in the car park was very unfortunate and a very rare occurrence. The driver did however immediately claim responsibility and left his details. We also spent some time with the lady in question who was distraught and arranged to have the vehicle checked at the local garage before the family drove safely home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

My husband and I came here to use the spa facilities. We both had massage treatments which were really good and we would recommend to others. We then decided to have some lunch in the hotel and afternoon tea. Afternoon tea is £7 each and you help yourself to cake which is perfect! The cake was really good and staff were very friendly!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank xxsagittariusxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim B, Manager at Treglos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

I am very pleased you enjoyed your treatments in the Spa and afternoon tea and cakes.
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews