We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing value - very pleased customers”
other travellers have booked this property
The Shippen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Shippen
The enclosed drive, garden and patio with a wooden gate at the entrance. The sunny patio area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
The Shippen
The enclosed drive, garden and patio with a wooden gate at the entrance.
The sunny patio area.
The Shippen is the first barn on the right as you come down the lane.
Reception is at Pitt Barn, the second barn on the right as you come down the country lane.
Bodmin moor from The Shippen.
Sunset at Pitt lake. A double reflection on the lake from the solar farm.
The Shippen is behind the trees to the left of Pitt Barn.
See the moorhen with her chicks and nest of sticks.
See the mallard duck with her ducklings.
See the duckling in the garden.
Can you see the great spotted woodpecker in the tree?
See the sheep in the field beside The Shippen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Callington, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
JamesBrow...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing value - very pleased customers”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Spent 4 nights at The Shippen.
Frances was very helpful with plenty of info about the surrounding areas and Cornwall. The place was cute and fit for purpose. Its very private with its own drive and outdoor seating area and even a BBQ pit.

I propsed to my partner while staying there (at the top of Kit Hill Park), so it will be in my memories forever. Thanks Frances!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very private
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2016
Thankyou
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete H
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“PERFECT”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Wanted a cottage where we could get peace and quiet. PERFECT !. Great host , very clean. Ideal if you want to explore the Moors.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2016
Thankyou
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1987danny
Reading
1 review
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Very clean and very helpful owners. Nice quiet location and within driving distance of the sites of cornwall

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2016
Thankyou
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missjane...
brisbane
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hosts, top location, ideal for self-catering”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I travelled from Brisbane to Cornwall in England in July 2013 at short notice to attend to family business and stayed in The Shippen while we were B&B “hopping”. We returned in April 2014 to finalise the family business and thankfully were able to secure The Shippen for the duration of our stay, which was three weeks. We were seeking to self-cater and it was perfect for our needs. We called it our “haven” when we returned after a busy day. The Shippen contains all the amenities we required, was clean and very comfortable, and we had plenty of room to spread out.

Hosts Frances and Colin could not have been more helpful – they were not intrusive at all, but were there if we needed them, and they provided some excellent “local” advice that we put to good use. The booking process was very simple and the rate is excellent value for what is provided. The location is lovely and quiet, but is not remote and would provide a good base for touring. And it was wonderful for us city folk to have some rural “neighbours” in the form of sheep and lambs, and also some rabbits, so close by.

We would not hesitate in recommending Pitt Barn Cottages to anyone who wishes to stay for a quiet holiday (Frances has a lovely large garden and pond to explore), or to use as a “base” for some serious touring. We certainly hope there will be a vacancy next time we head over to England!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location and central to all parts of Cornwall. Friendly and knowledgable hosts. Had everything we needed for a comfortable stay.
Liked least: Having to go into the garden to use wifi - minor issue. Gardens are beautiful.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2016
Thankyou for your wonderful comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewChe...
Romsey, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Facilities, Comfy Bed”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I spent two nights at The Shippen, one of the cottages available at Pitt Barn Cottages. It is a very good self-catering cottage, with a comfortable double and single bed, a washing machine that dries your clothes too (a revelation for me) and a well-resourced kitchen. The washing machine is in the kitchen, which I understand is the norm in Britain. There is a supermarket in Callington, a 10 minute or so drive from The Shippen.

The owner was very helpful in providing directions and making suggestions. The one negative, which is made clear on the website, is that wifi isn't available except in the garden of the owner's cottage. Indeed, mobile signal for the tesco phone we got wasn't available in our barn either.

Those minor problems aside, which are in all likelihood down to where the barn is, we found the Shippen to be a good location to explore Cornwall by car.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: please note that wifi available in the owner's garden only
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2016
Thankyou
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing