We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful Boscastle. The best position in Boscastle”
Review of Pencarmol

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boscastle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pencarmol
Ranked #15 of 16 Boscastle B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I stayed here for a few nights back in July and would definitely go back! Captain Jack was a fantastic host and so welcoming. The view from the B&B is absolutely lovely - the best in Boscastle. I can't recommend this place enough. I had such a lovey holiday and was made to feel very welcome and comfortable particularly as i was traveling alone.
Truly amazing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachelmozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

We decided to stay at Pencarmol after reading positive reviews on this website. We were very glad that we chose to stay here. After the rather intimidating arrival (The B&B is at the very end of a rather narrow, bustling street with not much room to manoeuvre in the car) we were met by the extremely friendly owner Jack, who welcomed us into the property with a lovely pot of tea and some very tasty chocolate cake! There were lots of interesting things to see inside the house too, with local literature and books as well as all manner of musical instruments scattered around.

We were led up to our room which was as expected from the photos, quite old-fashioned, but with gorgeous views of the harbour, an extremely comfy bed and the largest chaise longue style seat we'd ever seen!

The next morning Jack prepared a very nice full English breakfast for us, and gave us lots of options as to how we could have it prepared.

We would definately consider Pencarmol the next time we travel to Boscastle - and we will be back, it's a beautiful place!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank navidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Spent a lovely 3 nights at the Pencarmol in Boscastle. It has a beautiful location above the harbour and spellbinding views. Nothing was too much trouble, and Jack and his wife were excellent hosts. They were happy to give us information on places to visit and couldn't do enough to make sure our stay was enjoyed. Rooms were homely, well decorated and clean. The breakfasts were delicious and we were asked each day exactly what we would like to eat. Could not have asked for a better place to stay. We'll be back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cornishpasty75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Spent two nights (three days) in Boscastle, (last week), and stayed at this truly amazing place. The hosts were genuinely wonderful, and the accommodation was both clean and comfortable. The location of the place is most definitely the highlight, as it couldn't be closer to the sea, and some truly lovely coastal walks are on your doorstep. The hosts provide an amazing breakfast, which really sets one up for the day. Nearby places such as Port Isaac and Tentagel are also worth a visit. We are certainly going again, as this is one of the best bed & breakfast places we have been to for quite some time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManooP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Having trawled the internet, if you pardon the pun, for a last minute holiday... I chanced on the Pencarmol B&B. From the second I spoke to Jack on the phone to confirm my booking I felt the warmth of caring hosts for whom nothing is too much trouble. Having to travelled from London after finish work we arrived just before 21:00 and were warmly welcomed by Fay who showed us to our rooms and asked if we wanted anything to eat or drink. The view from our room was fantastic and drew us out to follow the path that starts from outside Pencarmol's door. We walked the path and watched the sunset over the Atlantic Ocean. We met Jack in the morning at breakfast, he was out singing with his Cornish Singers when we arrived... Jack is a real polymath and expert on all things Cornish... very interesting conversation and information.
The surrounding area is brilliant for walking the South-West coastal path, fishing, enjoying a good pint of Cornish Ale or just sitting high up on the cliffs and watching the sun set over the Atlantic. An absolutely superb holiday and we will definitely return again.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem good to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muzman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boscastle hotels
0.3 km away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#1 of 2 in Boscastle
507 reviews
1.2 km away
Tregatherall Lodge
Tregatherall Lodge
#10 of 16 in Boscastle
60 reviews
0.2 km away
The Riverside
The Riverside
#3 of 16 in Boscastle
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
YHA Boscastle
YHA Boscastle
#2 of 6 in Boscastle
63 reviews
0.7 km away
Boscastle House
Boscastle House
#9 of 16 in Boscastle
31 reviews
2.3 km away
The Old Rectory St. Juliot
The Old Rectory St. Juliot
#7 of 16 in Boscastle
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pencarmol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pencarmol

Address: The Harbour | North Cornwall, Boscastle PL35 0HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Boscastle
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Boscastle
Price Range: €68 - €80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing