We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveller rating
31
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews location was perfect his knowledge little touches welsh cakes warm welcome kelvin hosts bed
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 33 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2018

So pleased we found this first class accomodation this week, in such beautiful surroundings.

Rooms spotless and bright with all modern equipment.

Breakfast delicious and nothing too much trouble. ( although didn't try the Welsh breakfast!).

Great value and will certainly return

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelvin B, Owner at Mill Lodge Brecon Beacons, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

Thank you for your lovely review Bob. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to welcoming you at the lodge again sometime in the future. - Kelvin & Meryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018

We stayed two nights/three days at the Mill Lodge and loved every minute of it. Kelvin and Mel made us feel right at home at their place.

The Mill Lodge is perfectly located for exploring the Brecon Beacons and the little towns and cities around that are of Wales. Abergavenny/Gilwern are easy to access by transit from London or other areas around the UK so getting here is not too difficult for non-drivers. Kelvin went above and beyond by giving us a lift around to some of the restaurants and trails that he recommended - this was really appreciated as we were without a car on this trip. There is a local bus in the region (we didn't use it) and if you don't mind walking you can walk to both Abergavenny and Crickhowell from Gilwern without too much difficulty - we did this. There are some pubs right in Gilwern as well so you don't have to walk far.

Kelvin whipped up some truly great breakfasts for us, and they helped greatly to get get us ready to explore the area.

Kelvin is more than happy to give you a hand finding your way around so ask for some advice on what to do in the area. Or get him to take you on a photo excursion, or lessons!

Everyone was lovely in Wales. Had a fun night in the Corn Exchange in Gilwern - pop in for a pint!

Would go back in a second. Thanks Kelvin and Mel.

Room Tip: There are only 4 so you can't really get a bad one. Ask for the one that faces the river.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank noah g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelvin B, Owner at Mill Lodge Brecon Beacons, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Thanks for such a lovely review Noah.

We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Mill-Lodge in the Brecon Beacons.We're always happy to collect from the station and help people get around.

We'll hopefully see you again in the future. Maybe we can visit the waterfalls together.

Kelvin & Mel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

We only stayed one night but would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for that chilled retreat. The room was exceptionally clean. There are a couple of pubs nearby, The Beaufort and The Corn Exchange where we were made to feel very welcome. Kel and Mel made us feel like it was home from home and recommended local areas of interest including the Brecon Monmouthshire canal which is literally a five minute walk away. We were also impressed by the offer to take us into Crickhowell and pick us up at the end of the night. The breakfast was outstanding !! Thanks both for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickC2598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelvin B, Owner at Mill Lodge Brecon Beacons, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thanks for the awesome review Nick.

We're so glad you both enjoyed chilling out at the lodge and enjoyed your stay with us.The relaxing sound of the river and morning birdsong is often commented on by our guests.

Kelvin & Meryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We had 3 wonderful days at Mill Lodge, the overall experience was far better than we expected

The location is close to a myriad of areas of interest and immense beauty. The room was freshly decorated with good quality fittings, a decent shower and everything you need to make your stay comfortable

The food was superb, freshly cooked to order with top quality local produce, there was always plenty of options, and nothing was to much trouble

The hosts Mel and Kel were more like long lost friends opposed to landlady/landlord, and for me that made all the difference as they care about your stay and giving top notch customer service

Nothing is to much trouble for them, the effort they made to invite us in to there home and make us welcome was exceptional

So I fully recommend, we will be back again as this place is hard to beat.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Alan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelvin B, Owner at Mill Lodge Brecon Beacons, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thank you for your awesome review Alan. It's always great when our guests fully appreciate the beautiful countryside in the Brecon Beacons and take full advantage of it when they stay with us.

So glad you enjoyed your visit, and we'd love to see you again in the future.

Kelvin & Meryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Very friendly and welcoming hosts, nothing was too much trouble and they really go the extra mile. They also have impeccable knowledge of the area and gave us some great suggestions for days out and a lovely breakfast to fuel them! Every need had been catered for, from the drying area for clothes that fell victim to the welsh climate, to welsh cakes, fresh coffee and milk in the rooms, and a very comfy bed! A great location to explore the park.

Thanks again Kelvin and Meryl for a lovely break!

Sam and Alex

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelvin B, Owner at Mill Lodge Brecon Beacons, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thanks for such an awesome review Sam. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. There will always be a warm welcome here for you ....... and somewhere to dry your socks :-) Kelvin & Meryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews