We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family meal”
Review of The Old Rectory

The Old Rectory
Get food delivered
Ranked #10 of 56 Quick Bites in Stockport
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went for a family meal and the food was lovely and service was even better. The staff was kind especially Tyler who served us. Well done to Steve and the team.
Another thanks for Steve for having a conversation with us. Very friendly people.

Date of visit: September 2021
1  Thank deany74
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Old Rectory, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Lovely to read your comments about your experience, I'll make sure to pass them on to the rest of the team. Have a great day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (891)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 892 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2021

My wife and I decided to come in here for a all day breakfast, We had not been in for a while. The restaurant looks clean and modern, and not as tired looking as the last time we went. it is worth noting that if you come by car, make your you get your free for 3 hours car parking tieket. My wife and i both ordered the large plate big breakfast. Two slightly overcooked pork sausages, 3 hash browns which were okay, a reasonable portion of baked beans, a decent portion of mushrooms, a half slice of fresh grilled tomato, a couple of decent rashers of bacon, two runny yolk fried eggs for me, and hard yolk fried eggs for my wife, along with a slice of thick white toast no option if you wanted wholemeal toast. For 50p extra I had a delicious slice of black pudding. My wifes only complaint was that the food should have been hotter. I had a decent latte, and my wife a cup of tea. All served with sugar which we were not asked if we wanted or not. We did not. Good service. overall a positive experience.

Date of visit: September 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Old Rectory, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Lovely to read your comments about your experience, I'll make sure to pass them on to the rest of the team. Hopefully next time you visit we can achieve five stars take care and stay safe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2021

Came here for my dads birthday. Staff were very welcoming. The roast was lovely. Nice little find. Will be back when in the area

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank kayleighm907
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Old Rectory, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for this, Kayleigh! We're very happy that we could help make your dads birthday so special and we're glad you loved the roast! We can't wait to see you back again next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2021

We visited this evening for a meal for our anniversary, waited ages to be seated, staff running around like head less chickens and ignoring customers, i wouldn't mind but the restaurant and bar area wasn't busy.
The meal was poor items missing, ordered off the bjg plate menu and main meals were small with items missing, no cheese in garlic bread, waiter stated the chef had done it wrong no replacement offered.
Visting for the weekend and this meal has been a complete disappointment, we eat in hungry horse restaurants all the time at home and this restaurant has let the company down.

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank Natalie2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Old Rectory, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are really upset to hear how disappointed you were with your overall visit to us at the Old Rectory Natalie. We are sorry that you had to wait so long initially and that you weren't offered replacements for your missing items. We will feed back all of your comments to our team so they know where to make improvements and ensure that we don't get this feedback again. Thank you for bringing everything to our attention, take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2021

Management and staff need a kick up the arse last orders not called food sent back rock hard food cold gammon says 8ozas a head chef was def 4oz bar staff slow manager to interested in talking on the kitchen sheneeds replacing goodstyle as a exwhitbread manager she would be given her cards a total waste of your money paying for her

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank whitty1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Old Rectory, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2021

We really do apologize that you were disappointed with the food that you received and that it was cold, as well as this, we're so sorry that you were unhappy with the service the team provided. If you could please email us at 6382@greeneking.co.uk, we'd be happy to look into this further for you. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Rectory also viewed

Stockport, Greater Manchester
Hazel Grove, Stockport
 
Stockport, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.