We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (273)
Filter reviews
273 results
Traveller rating
165
41
39
13
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
165
41
39
13
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wedding reception homemade biscuits wedding venue wedding breakfast food and wine between courses beef special occasion great meal pudding fish and chips pleasant staff birthday party sunday lunch great night food was lovely couldn't do enough
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 273 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2018

we were taken there by friends ,and were unsure having travelled miles in inclement weather, driving uphill in the dark, but when we got there boy was it worth it, what an amazing place it is stunning, not at all what you expect, its like something from a film set not a little village in Lancashire, the atmosphere is warm and welcoming, the rooms are each an individual set, and the food is 4 star at reasonable prices, I cant say enough, will definitely be going back, this time in the spring/summer to also enjoy the stunning views it has (so I am told could see them on my trip) a real hidden gem !

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
2  Thank obecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018

Beautiful wedding venue and meal ,but went downhill after that .Don,t know how you can charge a pound extra for a pint in the wedding venue which is next to the main bar .Rooms were nice but small double bed and shower cubicle , also came down for breakfast no glasses no orange , no bacon ,sausage eggs and everybody waiting .When it came only small amounts which went quickly so waiting again just very poor service ,145 overpriced rooms plus point service for the wedding was really good

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 521steve737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

Great night with good friends which all went by far too quickly. The food was lovely, (fillet of beef especially tender & tasty) though a tad larger portions would have been appreciated. After all it was definitely not cheap. Service was organised & excellent though obviously dependant on the kitchen which may (an assumption I know) have been struggling due to lengthy periods between courses. It was a shame that the bar ran out of tonic - before midnight too. The band, UTC, were entertaining and the midnight fireworks splendid. We were all more than ready for the bacon sandwiches later. I would have awarded 5 but for the wee (though nonetheless important) aforementioned issues. Well done and thanks to all.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank anne167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

Checked in at 3pm. Reception staff friendly and welcoming. Stayed in room 1 James Farrar. The room was lovely, spotless, well equipped. Home made shortbread was a lovely touch. Molton Brown toiletries. A group of 14 (family & friends) booked for the party night. It was fantastic. All inclusive bar included premium drinks and a 5 course meal which was delicious. Bacon butties at 1am. Fireworks outside at 12pm. Great live band. Well done to all the staff. We thoroughly enjoyed it. Breakfast was lovely. We will definitely be returning. Highly recommended. Thank you for making our New Year's Eve special
Alison & Jason Holmes

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017

Had drinks here last week with friends! This is a wonderful venue with a great atmosphere and look. Definitely the place to be seen in the area! A great range of beers and exceptional wine choices. Little snug rooms go off from the bar which are cosy with log fires burning. The night that we were there too was just before Christmas so we benefitted from the local brass band and choir visiting to sing carols. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews