We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel good quality rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The White Hart Inn at Lydgate
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Oldham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for a Saturday night with family
Nice little hotel with great attention to detail in the rooms. Perhaps a little small but nice decor.
Great bar service but breakfast although nice was a bit hit and miss with the service( perhaps another server required)
I would recommend perhaps the smaller rooms need a slight room rate reduction.

All in all nice place

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank rothwell6162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

4 - 8 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2018

we were taken there by friends ,and were unsure having travelled miles in inclement weather, driving uphill in the dark, but when we got there boy was it worth it, what an amazing place it is stunning, not at all what you expect, its like something from a film set not a little village in Lancashire, the atmosphere is warm and welcoming, the rooms are each an individual set, and the food is 4 star at reasonable prices, I cant say enough, will definitely be going back, this time in the spring/summer to also enjoy the stunning views it has (so I am told could see them on my trip) a real hidden gem !

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
1  Thank obecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018

Beautiful wedding venue and meal ,but went downhill after that .Don,t know how you can charge a pound extra for a pint in the wedding venue which is next to the main bar .Rooms were nice but small double bed and shower cubicle , also came down for breakfast no glasses no orange , no bacon ,sausage eggs and everybody waiting .When it came only small amounts which went quickly so waiting again just very poor service ,145 overpriced rooms plus point service for the wedding was really good

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 521steve737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

Great night with good friends which all went by far too quickly. The food was lovely, (fillet of beef especially tender & tasty) though a tad larger portions would have been appreciated. After all it was definitely not cheap. Service was organised & excellent though obviously dependant on the kitchen which may (an assumption I know) have been struggling due to lengthy periods between courses. It was a shame that the bar ran out of tonic - before midnight too. The band, UTC, were entertaining and the midnight fireworks splendid. We were all more than ready for the bacon sandwiches later. I would have awarded 5 but for the wee (though nonetheless important) aforementioned issues. Well done and thanks to all.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank anne167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

Checked in at 3pm. Reception staff friendly and welcoming. Stayed in room 1 James Farrar. The room was lovely, spotless, well equipped. Home made shortbread was a lovely touch. Molton Brown toiletries. A group of 14 (family & friends) booked for the party night. It was fantastic. All inclusive bar included premium drinks and a 5 course meal which was delicious. Bacon butties at 1am. Fireworks outside at 12pm. Great live band. Well done to all the staff. We thoroughly enjoyed it. Breakfast was lovely. We will definitely be returning. Highly recommended. Thank you for making our New Year's Eve special
Alison & Jason Holmes

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oldham
5.1 km away
Best Western Hotel Smokies Park
5.4 km away
Saddleworth Hotel
Saddleworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Delph
324 reviews
6.9 km away
Clough Manor
Clough Manor
#1 of 1 in Denshaw
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
The Gate Inn
The Gate Inn
#1 of 1 in Diggle
66 reviews
6.3 km away
Premier Inn Oldham Central Hotel
5.2 km away
The Broadoak Hotel
The Broadoak Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ashton-under-Lyne
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart Inn at Lydgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart Inn at Lydgate

Address: 51 Stockport Road | Lydgate, Saddleworth, Oldham OL4 4JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Oldham
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet (WiFi) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Oldham
Price Range: €153 - €208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Hart Inn at Lydgate 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and refurbished in all areas, this traditional Coaching Inn offers a Brasserie with log fires, a bar full of cask ales and an enviable wine list. Or try the Cocktail Bar and Dining Room for the chef's tasting menu. The AA rates the rooms as Gold Standard 4 star in the 2017 Guide and the kitchen is recommended in the Good Food Guide 2017 (Joint 3rd best Restaurant in Greater Manchester) Michelin Dining Out in pubs guide 2017 - Inspectors Pick Michelin Hotel and Restaurant Guide 2017 with two separate listing for the Brasserie and Dining Room The AA Restaurant Guide 2017 two rossettes We hope you enjoy our hospitality. Charles Brierley ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The White Hart Inn at Lydgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Hart At Lydgate Hotel Oldham
The White Hart Inn At Lydgate Oldham, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing