We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel Right by the Beach”
Review of La Posada Azul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Posada Azul
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel Right by the Beach”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This cute little hotel was one of the best places we stayed at on our trip to San Juan del Sur. You can tell the owners took a lot of time to decorate the place very, very nicely and infuse it with cultural elements, like nice art. There is a small gift shop, a little lounging area with a pool and honor bar, and very clean rooms. The breakfast was basic and tasty with a very nice presentation. WiFi is included, which is always a plus. The location of the hotel was great - one block away from the beach and right in the middle of other hotels, restaurants, bars, stores, etc. I will stay here if I go back to this town.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    62
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
57
189
25
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Very clean, lots of charm, they serve an amazing breakfast, Maria was very helpful and friendly. Nice peaceful oasis in a great location. Pool was cozy place to unwind after day out and about, nice to have honor bar for beers and drinks. Great living and porch area to hang around. The only drawback might be the noise from the managers child and another child running around early in AM, you can hear everything on the porch. If we weren't early risers, this would have driven us to another hotel.

We would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miamaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We recently returned from 6 days at La Posada Azul in San Juan del Sur, which is our second visit to La Posada Azul in the past year. This last trip has again confirmed that La Posada Azul is one of, if not our favorite, place to stay in the world (and we have been lucky enough to travel to many incredible places.) Here's what we love about La Posada Azul: set in the eclectic little fishing town of San Juan del Sur, La Posada Azul offers a combination of peace, tranquility, relaxation, beautiful attention to detail and beautiful surroundings, delicious breakfasts, and a warm staff. La Posada has just 6 or 7 rooms, which lends to its intimacy. Inside, La Posada feels like an elegant yet simply-decorated Nicaraguan home with hardwood floors, a beautiful open-air dining and reading area, a separate living area with a TV, a small pool area, a cute outdoor bar (drinks, small snacks available all day on an honor system) near the pool, with spacious/clean/tastefully-appointed rooms.

Each day starts with my personal highlight, La Posada Azul's breakfast, which consists of a tropical fruit plate starter, a homemade muffin (picture coconut or dulce de leche), the fresh juice of the day (varying from melon, pineapple, guava, traditional Jamaica and Tamarind, orange, etc) coffee, and the main dish (varying from dishes like huevos rancheros to french toast to scrambled eggs with gallo pinto to frittatas).

A second, equally important highlight is the attentiveness and warmth of the staff. The managers Andy and Maria, in addition to multiple other staff members, are always around and available to greet you and help coordinate or advise any part of your stay/vacation. They were happy to hold on to our keys for us when we journeyed off to the surfing beaches. There is also a guard (probably not necessary, but always nice to have more security) who stays overnight to let you in and out of the front door.

I came to know La Posada Azul after living with a local Nica family in San Juan del Sur during the winter of 2011 where I "shopped around" more than 10 local hotels/posadas/hospedajes before choosing La Posada Azul for a final vacation spot when my own family visited. After seeing the interiors of so many different accommodations/rooms in town, La Posada was by far my favorite. It is the only one that offers such beautiful and clean accommodations at an affordable rate while still maintaining charm and authenticity. Because of this, La Posada is frequently booked far in advance, and we have seen other guests/friends experience the disappointment when La Posada gets fully booked, and they have to move on to another accommodation in town with much less charm for a higher price. That being said, if you are looking for the more corporate hotel complex/resort experience with multiple pools and room service, you might want to try somewhere like Pelican Eyes...but you'll be missing out in many other respects :)

Personally, I cannot wait until the next time we can return to La Posada Azul. If they hadn't had availability during this trip, we were actually planning on traveling to a different town because one of the best parts of San Juan del Sur is definitely La Posada Azul.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PinkHydrangea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise ID
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

This hotel is a clean nice hotel to stay. If you are looking for upper end this is not it. Sheets were of low quality. Rooms were cleen and roomy. Pool was very small but nice. Breakfast was excellent and included. I was not happy with the resort not allowing their towells to be taken to the beach. Who brings towels with them on vacation. Ridiculous. Otherwise pleasant stay. If you are looking for something more resort feel try pelican eyes.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Idahogreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotton, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

My husband, brother in law and I stayed in the triple room at the front of the hotel...an absolutely lovely place, comfortable and well decorated, that provided perfect
privacy in what could have been close quarters. The hotel is cozy, warmly appointed, wonderfully maintained. The staff is knowledgable, friendly, just the right amount of attentive, and welcoming. Breakfasts are delicious. Absolutely the best place on our trip and our only disappointment was that we had failed to book a longer stay. Pool area inviting. A perfect boutique hotel experience.

Room Tip: No bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauletteallyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
170 reviews
0.1 km away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#5 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
224 reviews
7.9 km away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
318 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Victoriano
Hotel Victoriano
#12 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
174 reviews
4.8 km away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#3 of 4 in Playa Marsella
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada Azul

Property: La Posada Azul
Address: Avenida del Parque, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — La Posada Azul 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada Azul is located just steps from the beach in a beautifully refurbished historic wood house in San Juan Del Sur, Nicaragua . Each elegantly appointed room has a private bath, hot water and air conditioning. Enjoy a cold drink in the palapa by our large pool in our garden that is filled with colorful bougainvillas. Our famous breakfasts are served on the porch and are included in the room rate.We are proud to announce the opening of our "little sister" Hotelito El Coco Azul located adjacent to our Posada. El Coco Azul offers a more moderate priced stay in San Juan del Sur, but with the same cleanliness and attention to detail as we are known for at La Posada Azul ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your La Posada Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada Azul Hotel San Juan Del Sur
La Posada Azul Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing