We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RANCHO CHILAMATE IS A MUST!”

Rancho Chilamate Adventures on Horseback
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rancho Chilamate offers guided horseback rides for adventurous travelers looking to get up close and personal with Nicaragua. The ride leaves from the ranch through the local community, into open fields and over hilltops for spectacular views, crossing the river several times for excellent wildlife viewing (almost guaranteed to see monkeys) and then to the secluded beach for a refreshment break and more riding adrenalin.This solar-powered private ranch caters to smaller, more intimate groups to ensure only the best of service. Let's Ride!
Destin, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“RANCHO CHILAMATE IS A MUST!”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

If you're heading to San Juan del Sur you MUST head to Rancho Chilamante for a horseback riding adventure! This was by far my favorite part of my trip to Nicaragua! Not only are you riding on beautiful horses but you get to see so much of the country that you probably wouldn't see if you stuck with traditional transportation. The uncharted country is truly remarkable! Blue and Jamie are so warm you feel as though you've known them your whole life! Don't miss this opportunity if you're there...you won't regret it!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank christina4syth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    352
    4
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Most Amazing Thing We Did in SJDS”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

If I could give Rach Chilamate 100 stars I would. This was by far and away the coolest thing my husband and I did while we were in San Juan Del Sur....and we did a ton of stuff! Blue and Jamie made us feel like we were old friends and had known them all our life. Once we were "cowboy'd up" (they give you cowboy hats and boots) it made you feel even more like a local! My husband had only been on a horse once in his life and he was galloping on the beach, they are with you every step of the way!

The horses were amazing, the scenery was unlike any we have seen and the ride on the beach was more than I could have imagined. We even saw a sea turtle laying her eggs.

Blue takes the most breath taking photos. We didn't even end up using our camera because she takes so much and they are professional quality.

You MUST do this!

Thanks Blue/Jamie for a wonderful ride!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank kas358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“WE LOVE RANCHO CHILAMATE! MUST DO IN SAN JUAN DEL SUR”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

A friend recommended that we go horseback riding with Blue and Jamie, the owners of Rancho Chilamate just outside of San Juan del Sur - and man, am I thankful we listened!
Blue and Jamie were WONDERFUL and made us feel right at home, like we were hanging out with friends. Their ranch is beautiful and horses were wonderful as well. Not only did we get a wonderful ride, but full cowboy gear and photoshoot as well! (Blue's pictures are amazing! Check out her Facebook page!)

And nothing compares to galloping on a horse across a pristine beach!

This is a MUST DO if you are in San Juan del Sur! We LOVE Jamie and Blue and will be sure to visit then again when in Nica!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Suzie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A perfect ride to go with a perfect vacation”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Having been raised with horses this is more than just a walk along behind the horse in front of you kind of ride. Blue picked a few of us in San Juan del Sur and drove us to the ranch. From there we were encouraged to dress the part with cowboy boots, hat and bandana. From there we were matched by our size and riding experience. We rode through pastures, saw a one week old baby mule along with lots of other animals. The Howler monkeys sarinaded us as we rode by. When we reached the beach it was spectacular. the view was to die for. The ride back was just as exciting. Blue and Jamie are wonderful hosts and have thought of everything. A must do for anyone who likes to ride.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dianna314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The One MUST DO Activity in San Juan Del Sur!”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

If you have only one day in San Juan Del Sur...join Blue and Jamie on this fabulous-beyond-words horseback adventure! You will get an unforgettable afternoon, complete with:
* ride to and from the ranch
* use of cowboy hat, boots and bandana - cowgirl or cowboy up people!
* gorgeous professional photos taken of the entire trip
* horseback ride on beautiful, healthy horses
* picturesque views of the hillside and beach
* cold beer break on the beach
* rum shots at the end of the trip
* pet parrots that sit on your shoulder and say "hola" while you cool your toes in the pool
* and MOST importantly - an afternoon with Blue and Jamie!! They are wonderful hosts full of stories about living in Nicaragua.
* you may even be lucky enough to see and hear the monkeys in the nearby Chilamate tree (we were)!

As if all of the above isn't enough - they give a portion of money from each ride to a local fund that pays for medicine for neighbors. They truly give back to their community.

BTW...I have no experience with horses - and I felt safe for the entire ride. This is for riders at any experience level.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rancho Chilamate Adventures on Horseback also viewed

San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 

Been to Rancho Chilamate Adventures on Horseback? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing