We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From nov 2008 to jan 2009 Casa Oro great times”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Oro Eco Hostel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“From nov 2008 to jan 2009 Casa Oro great times”
Reviewed 15 January 2009

I was at Casa Oro hostel in San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua, with my brother for a period of 39 days over Christmas and New Year’s and it was just great.. Casa Oro hostel is a very cool place where you just feel at home, that is why we stayed so long. The kitchen is well equipped and we had a fantastic time cooking with friends and watching free movies on the 42 inch plasma screen TV. The mattresses are good and the place is kept clean. Of course it got really busy during the Holidays but the staff always managed to get us what we needed.
We were at the right place because Casa Oro offers a great deal of services, it’s the only place in town that is well organized and with a great staff , some of them speak 3 languages and believe me it helps when you need information. From the hostel we got the beach shuttle, the canopy shuttle, the turtle expedition, and the best of all the surf rentals and lessons with Alfredo. Everybody who had a surf lesson with Alfredo will agree with me I am sure, this guy is gooooood. We also took the turtle tour because there were lots of turtles and hatchlings to see and we were just amazed by what we saw at the Reserve. The tour was well organized, eco-oriented and given in English. They gave us a very informative 30 minutes presentation on the wide screen TV with pictures and short video of these incredible creatures. They are really concerned about the protection of the turtles and involved with the reserve’s activities. Hi to Lilly, Bismara, Samuel, Anthony and Cyrielle.

Delta_bravo1

P.S : to Stefan many thanks for the info about turtles babies !!!

  • Liked — the adventures activities and eco-expeditions
  • Disliked — the olds private rooms
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Delta_bravo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    82
    38
    24
    33
See reviews for
6
55
65
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlemont, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2009

What the hell is the Lonely Planet boasting about with this hostel? Yes, the place is an information center, and is a great way to get to the beaches or go on excursions-- but you don't need to stay here to take advantage of those services.

For $18/night (private room, shared nasty bathrooms, and shared cold showers that say you must keep your shower under 2 minutes) we stayed in a craphole closet-of-a-space with an open window onto the loudest courtyard space. Drunk people yelled all night (we're talking until 6am) even though there is supposedly a 11pm quiet time enforced. In all fairness, the noise level depends on the guests.

Go stay at Casa Feliz instead...Oh, and definitely hit up the Pelican for happy hour on Wednesdays and Fridays...and to play with monkeys in the back of the hotel!

  • Liked — absolutely nothing.
  • Disliked — noise level, dirty everything
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JulietandNikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Juan del Sur hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.1 km away
Rositas Hotel
Rositas Hotel
#8 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
156 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
169 reviews
0.1 km away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#5 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hostel Pachamama
Hostel Pachamama
#27 of 65 in San Juan del Sur
155 reviews
5.4 km away
Casa Maderas
Casa Maderas
#1 of 6 in Playa Maderas
291 reviews
75.6 km away
Hostel Esperanza
Hostel Esperanza
#16 of 65 in San Juan del Sur
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Oro Eco Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Oro Eco Hostel

Property: Casa Oro Eco Hostel
Address: Saliendo del Colonial 20 | Varas al Sur, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 65 Speciality Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Oro Eco Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Oro was the first hostel and surf school in San Juan del Sur. Before that it was an obligatory spot on the historic gold route through Central America. Today, Casa Oro is the first eco-hostel in San Juan del Sur, part of the Circulo Initiative, a family of for purpose businesses in pursuit of regeneration. Tourism growth and development often leave destructive side effects for cultures, communities and the environment. It doesn’t have to be like this though. We find inspiration in how nature works and use this as our compass for holistic creation. In everything we do, our aim is to leave places better than we found them. So far, it’s working. -- Just a hop, skip and a jump from the beach, Casa Oro offers a variety of budget-friendly accommodations designed with conscious backpackers in mind. We have both dorms and private rooms available. All of our dorm beds come equipped with privacy curtains for your convenience. The second and third floor boast a balcony that wraps around the entire building. A scrumptious breakfast is included with any stay along with free Wi-Fi, lockers (bring your own lock), free filtered water and access to a communal kitchen. Friendly vibes and hugs are also included at no extra charge. Our beach shuttles are conveniently located just outside the front door, surf school is downstairs and there’s even a RestoCafe/Bar, so all you’ve gotta do is roll out of bed and everything’s at your fingertips. We’ve also got donation-based yoga classes regularly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Oro Eco Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Oro Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Casa Oro Eco Hostel Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing