We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Certainly not a 3 star hotel! :(”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East
Ranked #31 of 51 Hotels in Harrisburg
Reviewed 24 September 2014

I am writing this review from inside my room which reeks of stale cigarette smoke. The carpet is torn and actually wet in places, The bathroom vent fan clearly does not work, the stale smoke smell has a moldy undertone. They have no rooms to move me to, which I can only assume are nice? If you stay in this hotel, please note there are horrible hideous gross rooms on the first floor. I have never been so disappointed at a hotel, and I have to stay here another day!!! :( :( :(

Room Tip: Dont stay on the first floor - for sure!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Allison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2014

Dear Allison M,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. Providing excellent customer service is one of the things we pride ourselves on and we are sorry to read that in this case you feel we have fallen short of your expectations. We would love to regain your faith in our hotel and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional detail regarding your stay.

We look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 145 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2014

My stay began after an awful days drive.I arrived exhaused and mentally drained.The crew at HIE were quickly accomodating. .All i really wanted was a hot shower and a clean comfortable bed... Which is what i got...A very clean and fresh room and bed along with a sparkeling clean bathroom..I woke rested and ready for my day . >>>> After an abundant breakfast with fresh hot coffee....
I will be staying here again on my travels thru Hrrisburg , Pa .... Nice Place , Friendly Crew !.... Thank You !

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Garik A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2014

Over all had a great time went to Hershey for the weekend . The staff was very helpful found us some great places to eat. The pool was nice and clean . The room was clean nice sheets. cute little breakfast when u gotta run .Mcds right next store when ur craving ur coffee or nuggets lol . would stay again anytime .

Room Tip: higher rooms for quiet time..............
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Todd A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We're currently stuck staying at this dismal property thanks to a hockey tournament, and I can assure you that the rooms have NOT been taken care of as the manager says in previous reviews. They are still damp, and the still reek of smoke. The bathrooms are tiny, the rooms are not clean, and the whole place is depressing. All this can be yours for the low, low, price of only $125/night!!

Surely you can do better elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for one in a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Akula_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Good afternoon Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Please allow us to apologize for the issues you had with your room accommodations and any inconvenience the situation may have caused you. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,
Tiffany Alvarado
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed here with my sons baseball team. We really liked this hotel BUT and it
is a big BUT, rooms on the lower level smelled of stale smoke. It was disgusting and
actaully made me nauseous. Luckly their sheets were clean and fresh. I covered my
face and slept that way. Believe me I would of called the front desk to change our
room but we got into the room very late and my kids were fast asleep, I would of had to wake them and change rooms late at night. I just buried my face. The next day I found out others
also said their room smelt of smoke. These rooms were on the first and second floor. The
rest of the families on the higher floors loved their rooms. Word to the wise, book this hotel
but DO NOT accept a room that was once a smoking room which appears to be on the
1st and 2nd floor. I am glad the Holiday Inn made the switch to non smoking but it still smells a year later. Maybe the need to change out the carpet.

Room Tip: Request a room that was always a non smoking room.
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Good afternoon Carolyn B,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am sorry that your experience with your room did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Thank you Tiffany Alvarado General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
11.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area)
0.7 km away
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisburg at Union Deposit Road
4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Harrisburg North
12.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisburg Northeast (Hershey)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East

Address: 4021 Union Deposit Rd, Harrisburg, PA 17109-5925
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range: €81 - €133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East is perfect for both business and leisure travelers with easy access to the Pennsylvania Turnpike, I-83, I-283, and I-78. Nestled among major corporations such as Phoenix, Contact, Tyco, Highmark Blue Shield, UPS, Pepsi and Sysco, the Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East is conveniently located 5 miles from the Pennsylvania State Capital and just 4 miles from downtown Harrisburg. It is easy to plan a family fun day in Historic Gettysburg, beautiful Lancaster or charming Pennsylvania Dutch Country. Make a sweet ending by visiting Hershey Park. The Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East is also close to Harrisburg International Airport (12 miles), the National Civil War Museum, the GIANT Center sports venue and Carlisle Events. Complete your day with all the comforts of this Harrisburg hotel while enjoying your favorite snack and drink from the hotel s market. Surf the Internet free with wireless access. All our guest rooms are fully equipped with plenty of work space to spread out and make your trip a success. Every day starts out complimentary with the Express Start breakfast. We look forward to you experiencing a warm welcome to our new Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East Hotel Harrisburg
Holiday Inn Harrisburg
Comfort Inn Harrisburg
Harrisburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing