We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ribs, collard greens, grilled vegetables, macaroni salad, and two waters.”
Review of Pickled Pig Bbq

Pickled Pig Bbq
Ranked #9 of 17 Restaurants in Greentown
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Reviewed 10 May 2015 via mobile

This was what we waited all Winter for, now that Spring is here, ribs are back, and so are collard greens. The grilled veggies were excellent. The pasta salad was great too. The inside dining area is comfortable and cool on hot days. We are so happy for another season of the best Bbq around Lake Wallenpaupack.

Thank randyorso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

This would have been a 5 star review, if it was based on just the first visit, but we went back a second time.

We had a really great experience here on Sat night, on our way to the Mt Pocono area. Having just sat in traffic galore, we were ready for bathrooms, a stretch and some food, and we spotted the 84 Country Store, so we stopped. The Pickled Pig is an eatery out behind the store.

Sat night, the food was AWESOME - huge portions, reasonably priced ... had burgers and fries, corn on the cob and mac salad. Really tasty!

We were looking forward to a repeat experience the following night on the way home, but were really disappointed. They were incredibly short staffed and had also run out of several menu items. Our food came out in stages and one of us was even done eating before his grilled corn on the cob came out. My fries arrived cold, but there was no way to send them back because the only guy working outside had to run into the deli part of the store to make sandwiches. The gentleman behind us on line ended up waiting nearly 40 mins for his food, and there were only 4 families there total. I don't think they planned ahead for the volume of people stopping there on their way home from the Pocono Raceway, to be honest.

Will we eat there again? We'll probably give it another try, IF we happen to be passing by, but as I commented when getting in the car last night, if the 2nd experience had been the 1st, we never would have gone back. I sincerely hope you have an experience like our first visit.

Date of visit: August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kimberley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This outdoor restaurant is found to the side of the 84 Country Deli and can be easily found by following the scent of wood smoke. It is definite al fresco dining being under a tent. There is a simple menu to choose from and you stand and place your order and later come back up to pick it up. We ordered the pull pork sandwich which arrived in a few minutes with a few slices of pickle. The meat had a bit of smokiness to it and was a bit dry. We tried one of the sauces but it did not enhance the flavor much. All in all, not bad, probably the best in the area and most likely the only place in the area.

They have monster sandwichs at 13.95 and then were enough for two for a lunch. As you enter the place, you pass the smoker and can get the great smell of roasting meat.

Date of visit: July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NJTravellingfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Really enjoy the brisket and the Mexican soda (great flavors like Sangria and Mango). Burger and fries at the next table looked amazing, and the burger was HUGE. Ribs were a bit greasy for our liking, but others might like them like that. Day was perfect for dining under the tent, and Iloved the store, too!

Date of visit: September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Located at the 84 Country Store in Greentown, this has become our go to BBQ place. The ribs are ample and tasty. The sandwiches are huge and delicious. The country style sides are delicious as well, the corn on the cob and the collard greens are our favorites. Great place to take a photo at the 84 Store and enjoy the outdoor views of the hills nearby. The tent is comfortable and their are fans which cool the area and keep it comfortable. Very friendly staff and excellent BBQ! The brisket is very tasty as well!

Date of visit: August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank randyorso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pickled Pig Bbq also viewed

Greentown, Pocono Mountains Region
South Sterling, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Greentown, Pocono Mountains Region
Greentown, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Greentown, Pocono Mountains Region
Greentown, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Pickled Pig Bbq? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing