We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveller rating
23
27
13
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
27
13
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tent camping amusement park sound of the waves picnic tables lake erie presque isle drive through window camp office nice campground bathrooms and showers summer weekends labor day hot water road trip water park peninsula units
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 68 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

A group of our family stayed here this past weekend. We had a great time. The sites were clean but extremely tight for bigger units like 32 feet and up. It was extremely shady and awesome access to Presque Isle and all the beaches. The major con was the bathrooms. My mother in law utilized them and they had to use quarters for hot water and it didn't last long. Overall great stay and I would stay again.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sdjlaj20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

Yes the sites are packed in and there is an established permanent community here. Also a major amusement park next door. Also it's short on amenities but the present management is making improvements. it also includes adjoining 50ies style fast food outlets. But come for the natural enhancements. Tree shaded sites and a short walk to Lake Erie and Presque Isle Peninsula with its 30 miles of beach front, walking/biking trails and a cool breeze on hot summer days. Walk up to the State Park Interpretive Centre. The staff are relaxed and helpful. I just got a sizeable discount for paying cash because their credit card system isn't live yet. I'm a repeat customer. Expect the place to fill up summer weekends.

Room Tip: Beach camping or under the trees across the way
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GarthM601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Location is good but not much room unless you are in small tent. Lots of full timers who have built around & onto their trailers. Mostly older trailers. Very funky, we saw one big rig that was over 36' tucked into a corner spot.

Stayed: September 2016
Thank muchmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016

I've been going to Sara's for the past 4 years and the staff is fabulous! I have always stayed on the beach side because the waves are nice to fall asleep to. Also, the people who own the permanent sites are very polite and help campers with anything. If you have kids they will love the swimming and the movies on the beach. As for restrooms, the women's restroom can get a little sketchy after around 11pm. Showers at Sara's a clean, but you must pay a quarter for 5 minutes. Overall, Sara's Campground is fabulous and I plan on coming for years!

Room Tip: If you want to tent on the beach side for a weekend come on Wednesday or early Thursday.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kendallrene26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

We have camped at Sara's campground before and it's still an amazing time. This is a unique camping experience and if you love the beach just as much as camping you'll have an incredible time. The sunset is like one you would see in the Caribbean. Beautiful. Located just outside the entrance to Presque Isle State Park (11 beautiful beaches) there are two campgrounds; one is wooded and more for campers/rv's and the other is across the street. It's the main office and where the beach camping is. It's approx $30/night and worth every penny. There are no reservations accepted so if you want a spot on the beach I would arrive on a wed morning. If you arrive on the weekend it will most likely be full. There are electrical hook-ups so bring a long extension cord. There are picnic tables and fire rings as well. Make sure you have tent stakes because some days are quite breezy. We like to spend the entire day and night at the beach and then watch the sunset with a beach campfire going. The water is crystal clear. There are no lifeguards as this is private so watch little ones. The beach is rocky though so wear your flip flops. The camp store also has everything you could need if you forget something. Just love it here. Enjoy!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews