We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
54
7
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
54
7
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews french room breakfast was delicious homemade granola gracious hosts stayed here local holiday great shower bottled water other guests inn express road trip two nights elizabethtown college place to stay chocolate bedroom slippers
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

My fiance and I stayed here Halloween weekend. Amanda Gish House is a charming cozy little place that reminded me of my grandmother's house; filled with antiques and old photos and history.
The innkeepers were friendly and informative- we had great conversation over breakfast and they directed us toward the Antique District when we asked where to find them.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank The_Diddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Stayed here two nights for a getaway/anniversary. Inn was beautifully restored and convenient to Elizabethtown and Lancaster County. Comfortable beds, great shower and an excellent breakfast. Hosts are very welcoming and knowledgeable about the area. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tuowl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2017

> Places like the Amanda Gish house leave us wondering why we ever stay at a chain hotel. Immaculate, comfortable and filled with enough period pieces to qualify as a minor museum, this three-room B&B can serve as an excellent base to explore Lancaster County or just get away from an urban rat race.
> Hosts Ann and Dave Royer are as welcoming as old friends but are skilled enough hoteliers to be worthy of managing the New York Hilton. They take care of such small details such as the coffee, tea, cocoa and bottled water that are always available and the soothing music during breakfast, but ensure your stay is far beyond simply comfortable. Breakfast for us consisted of baked apples and an asparagus quiche that featured local goat cheese.
> The house itself is a bit short of two centuries old, but includes modern updates such as the two-person Jacuzzi in the largest of the three rooms and as realistic an electric fire as we’ve ever seen. It’s right on the edge of Elizabethtown, which even in its core is hardly a teeming metropolis, so it’s easy to get a good and very quiet night’s sleep.
> Lancaster is not far away, and Elizabethtown is close to all sorts of attractions, Amish and otherwise. Ann had prepared an eight page list of all the things that were open even on Sunday to keep us amused if we chose. We were in town to scope out the town’s two breweries. They’re within walking distance in good weather. It’s worth checking their websites to find out when they have live music; the quality is amazingly good.
> We suppose in a town this small, they can’t charge as much as they could elsewhere, but it seemed to us that the rates were remarkably reasonable. Even in rural Pennsylvania, we have paid more to get less. We almost hesitate to write this review – we’re afraid readers will fill the house and leave us out in the cold world of highway motels. ---Bob & Ellie Tupper, authors, “Drinking In the Culture, Tuppers’ Guide to Exploring Great Beers in Europe.”

Room Tip: The largest room is very spacious and features the Jacuzzi in a huge bathroom. It's well worth the extra bucks.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2017

We had gone to Bube's for dinner and didn't want to drive the 2 hrs back home. So we booked this B&B, we could not have been happier with our stay. Anne & Dave were perfect host's. They go out of their way to make sure your needs are met. We stayed in the French room, beautifully decorated, and comfortable room. I had mentioned to my husband is was the best sleep I had had in several days. The breakfast was delicious, loved the home made granola.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kellee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2017

Anne at the Amanda Gish house was incredibly nice—very fitting for such an incredibly nice house! The room was very spacious and clean and had great amenities including a hot-tub bath tub with clean robes and slippers provided. The house itself is wonderfully old with elegant fixtures. Anne and her husband allowed us full use of the guest fridge and other household amenities—including some great whiskey! Anne's breakfast was delicious and I am very happy that we built up an appetite before sitting down. All in all, I could not recommend this house higher. Thanks Anne!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ethan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews