We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,327)
Filter reviews
1,327 results
Traveller rating
989
197
91
30
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
989
197
91
30
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews drawing room window seat four poster bed radcliffe room afternoon tea service lift groupon deal cream tea pre dinner drinks steeped in history special occasion dressing room high tea wedding breakfast main building scones fine dining
Filter
Updating list...
367 - 372 of 1,327 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

Wonderful weather set the grounds and castle as picture book.
We arrived early ,no problems shown to the lounge had soft drinks whilst perusing menu. The roast beef was perfection also the veg ,pudding sticky toffee pudding umm

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank stalin01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton_Phillips, General Manager at Langley Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

Dear Stalin01 - Thank you so much for your review of the lunch you had on Sunday - We have worked very hard in recent years to raise the standards of food and service in the Restaurant - The Roast Beef is excellent and I am totally delighted that you enjoyed and I look forward to welcoming you back to Langley soon - Best regards - Anton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2016

The hotel/castle is situated in a very attractive, peaceful location, close to many places of interest in the
stunning Northumberland countryside.

First impressions were good. We stayed in the castle itself and our room was quiet, clean and comfortable.
The window seat set into 7ft thick walls afforded tranquil views over the well-kept grounds.

However:
The decor was a little tired (torn ceiling paper, scuffed and pitted wallpaper).
The television was old and did not appear to work properly. We did not report this to staff
as we did not want our space invaded on a special occasion.

The grand drawing room is both imposing and inviting but 30 minutes is quite sufficient for a pre-dinner drink.
On two evenings of our stay we were kept waiting an hour for our table.

The dinner menu is masquerading as fine dining, but in reality offers poor value for money.
We neither wanted nor expected a large first course, but the main course was appropriate for
a 7 year old child. The dessert was also very small and horribly sweet.
To pad this out we were offered two tiny canapes and some olives (pre-dinner) two mini bread loaves
(the size of a child`s Duplo brick) and amuse bouche.
All this was presented with an air that was quite ludicrous.

On our second evening,having noted with dismay that the table d`hote was the same,
we opted for the "relaxed dining" menu. This was very basic. We had not travelled nearly
300 miles to eat fish and chips and burgers, even if they were `gourmet`.
Where was the pan-cooked chicken dishes, the salmon fillets, the sea bass?
Where was the lamb, which is very good in this region, or would that too
incur a `supplement`, as did a quite ordinary steak.

On both menus there was a conspicuous lack of fresh vegetables.

On a more positive note, the breakfasts were very good, with a pleasing balance of self-service
(juice,cereal etc.) and a waitress taking the order for hot food.

Our room was well cared for during our stay and was a pleasure to return to after a day exploring.

We would recommend this hotel for an overnight stay to appreciate the ambience of a fine
old castle, but would strongly advise considering other options in this area for a longer stay.

Date of stay: August 2016
2  Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton_Phillips, General Manager at Langley Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

Dear Helen - I would like to thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Castle - I am delighted that you enjoyed the Castle itself and your accommodation but obviously somewhat concerned regarding your comments about the restaurant - The menu changes over a period of time and not daily - we currently have Lamb, Pork, Grouse, Beef, Turbot and Halibut featured as main courses and I do feel that all the portion sizes are appropriate - All the bread is baked at the Castle and I think that the standard of food is very high - We do have the casual dining menu option and it is just for Burgers, Fish/Chips etc - When guests are staying for multiple nights we do have an additional starter and main course prepared so that there is some additional variety - I have also looked at the room you stayed in and the ceiling paper has been replaced - so I thank you for your comments which help me maintain our standards - Best regards - Anton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2016

Visited with Great Rail Journeys, stayed in a twin bed Castle view room. Very comfortable good size and furnished to a high standard. Rooms have air conditioning which is a must for first floor rooms. Breakfast is served to you from a extensive menu, very welcome. Certainly to be recommended

Date of stay: September 2016
Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton_Phillips, General Manager at Langley Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

Dear Ken - I am delighted to note the positive comments not only from yourself but other guest on the Tour - when you have so many diverse guests getting it "right" across the board is not easy and requires the hard work and attention to detail from all the staff - I am so pleased that all enjoyed and hopefully we will have the pleasure of your company again soon - best regards - Anton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2016

We had our daughters reception at Langley and the experience was so enjoyable and easy! Langley were so accommodating we were able to go in the day before and sort things out in no time at all , the whole family stayed and all rooms were brilliant , best day and night ever, if you are thinking of booking do it xx

Room tip: Always discuss needs when booking the staff will help book right room
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cazolyn42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton_Phillips, General Manager at Langley Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

Dear Cazolyn - I am so pleased that you and your family enjoyed the wedding celebrations - the build up to any wedding can have its share of pressure but hopefully we can make light work of that and then let the Castle do what it does so well and that is run Weddings - I am sure you will all have memories to treasure and we now just look forward to welcoming you back - Best regards to all - Anton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2016

The meals were the highlight of our visit. Very interesting food, well prepared and served. The tour of the castle was also very interesting and Hadrian's Wall (a must visit) was nearby.
The "castle view" room was just that. Kind of a standard motel room and nothing to get excited about.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sawdusted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton_Phillips, General Manager at Langley Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

Dear Sawdusted - I would like to thank you for your review of your recent stay at Langley and I am delighted that you enjoyed the food and service in the Restaurant - The rooms in the grounds I think are well appointed and do have that special View of the Castle - I do hope that you will return to Langley and please keep an eye on our web site for special offers - Best regards - Anton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews