We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveller rating
104
20
8
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
104
20
8
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub hadrian's wall beef and ale pie stuffing three nights selection of beers helpful and friendly staff restaurant quality sea bass base for exploring ate here kielder forest quiet location coffee machine good size sunday lunch a great place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 136 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2018

Stayed in the next village but walked here on a couple of evenings for some food and drinks and really pleased they were dog friendly.
Nice place inside with lovely wood burner. They have a restaurant or you can eat in the bar area which is what we did due to having a dog with us. Nice real ales to opt from and great to see a place that has nice cider and not the usual cheap strongbow. We ate here twice and I have to say I was not that impressed with the food for the money. I had chicken curry, rice and a popadom.....unfortunately my chicken was dry and the rice was rubbery, my husband had twice cooked belly pork which he said was ok. On our second visit we had the potato skins to share, not many on the plate and very greasy, also not what we were expecting they were more like the potato peelings that they had deep fried. I had sea bass whch was ok but nothing to get excited aboutand my husband had the chicken with haggis which tasted more like stuffing from the christmas lunch. All in all from the write ups I was looking forward to great food and was disappointed and unfortunately the menu is very limited and there is no specials board to fall back on in the bar area and we were not offered one if it was in the restaurant.
For a dog friendly pub as well only the locals made a fuss of any dog that came in and this is one of the pubs in the area that do not give out doggy treats, most places have jars on the bar for you to help yourself to doggy biscuits which is disappointing.
The locals were very friendly and very helpful with information and they told us that the people that own this place also own the Boatside in Warden where the food is much tastier and we were made to feel more welcome by the staff.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kep70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

Wow. Stayed here, 3 blokes on the C2C Hadrian's Wall route.
Firstly it's in exactly the right spot, more or less halfway. The owners are fabulous, friendly and welcoming. Rooms were excellent, HUGE bath, very welcome after cycling, hot water didn't run out, even after 2 bathfulls!
The food is excellent, varied and reasonably priced, beers really good.
If we'd known how good this place was we'd have stayed 2 nights.

Secure store for bikes a huge plus!

Several mile downhill to the pub if coming from the West.

Cannot recommend this place enough.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Lala L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

Great location for visiting Hadrian’s wall. Room was nice but tiny. A quiet location with a good breakfast provided. Dinner at the restaurant was good with very generous serves. Staff were all very pleasant and friendly.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank RB5655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018 via mobile

We spent three nights here to explore Hadrian’s wall, including Housesteads and Vindolanda. We had a wonderful time, the inn is cosy and comfortable, the room was spotlessly clean with well stocked tea and coffee making facilities. The breakfast and dinners were lovely, staff friendly and we were made to feel very welcome. Would definitely recommend this as a base for exploring the area.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Tanya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue S, General Assistant at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

Dear Tanya P,

Thank you for leaving your lovely review. It was a pleasure to accommodate you for your 3 night break.

We are immensely proud of our northumbrian hospitality and local food produce.

We hope to welcome you back very soon as i'm sure there is still plenty for Northumberland to offer you that you have not experienced yet.

Lian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

My wife’s last name is Newbrough, so we thought we would add a couple of days after our British Isles cruise to visit Newbrough, England. She loved seeing her name all over and couldn’t get enough pictures. I enjoyed playing quoits with the local farmers (Max, Phillip, Richard and Andy are the only names i remembered). Both dinner and breakfast were well worth it. The host and hostess welcomed us with great hospitality. We plan on going back next year and spending more time in Newbrough. Looking forward to playing quoits with the locals again. BTW, don’t forget to try the black pudding!!!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank thomasm966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue S, General assistant at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Dear thomas m,

Thank you for leaving your lovely review. It was a pleasure to accommodate you and your wife..

We are immensely proud of our northumbrian hospitality and local food produce.

We hope to welcome you can get back very soon as i'm sure there is still plenty for Northumberland to offer you that you have not experienced yet. Maybe a few more games of quoits!!!!

Lian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews