We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Hell”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Econo Lodge Clarks Summit
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Clarks Summit
Reviewed 22 February 2016

We needed a stop-over place on our way to Penn St. from Boston and rolled the dice on this dump and wow, did we lose, big time!...like Holmes taking on the chin from Iron Mike, it was fugly...The front desk staff was nice and the continental breakfast was OK, but it went quickly downhill from there, like an out-of-control car with no breaks heading for a filthy ravine. The rooms were completely outdated, with filthy, cigarette burn-holed sheets and disgustingly stained pillow cases that were, I assume, at one time, white, but are now cream colored through brown...nasty...have the chamber maids heard of bleach?...wow...and on top of everything else the ancient heating unit blew cold air...in Nov.!...I can sum up our stay in 2 words...STAY AWAY!!

Room Tip: Stay as far away from this dump as possible!..It's like a set of a horror movie circa 1982..the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
economgmt, Manager at Econo Lodge Clarks Summit, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2016

Subject: Your recent stay at Econo Lodge in Clarks Summit
Dear Bob,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Nicole Packette
Manager
Econo Lodge, Clarks Summit
5705861211

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2016

We stopped here for the night on the way to New York and it did exactly what it needed to. It is very basic but clean. The service was a little slow but overall good. For $50 CDN a night we couldn't complain.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank klein3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
economgmt, Manager at Econo Lodge Clarks Summit, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2016

Dear Klein3,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Nicole Packette
Manager
Econo Lodge, Clarks Summit
5705861211

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2015 via mobile

I had an overnight stay here on Labor Day weekend - I was on a budget and needed a decent place to stay, and when I saw the prices for this (and remembered staying here once as a kid), I booked the room. Don't expect a 5-star hotel, but this place isn't bad at all either. The room is about average for a economy chain motel, everything in the room worked fine, the bed was comfortable enough. Shower pressure (a big thing to me) was amazingly good. I ordinarily would have given this place three stars, but it got a fourth from me due to excellent service from the front desk. I had a late check-in and an early departure, but the guy working the desk was extremely cool, nice, accommodating to anything I might have needed, and he alone gave this place a fourth star from me. It's great customer service like this that will have me seriously considering returning here in the future for overnight stays.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled solo
1  Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny M, Manager at Econo Lodge Clarks Summit, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2016

Dear Jim L,
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Sincerely,
Nicole Packette
Manager
Econo Lodge, Clarks Summit
5705861211

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2015

After reading some early reviews, I was reluctant to stay here, however! this hotel accepts Pets! The room was fairly large with a balcony, very clean, bed comfy, bathroom clean and nicely done, I liked the tiles. Had a micro & refrig in it. My husband travelled for work, I just tagged along, At no time staying alone did I feel uncomfortable. I would rate this hotel as very good, it needs updates as do all, the premises were extremely clean and well cared for. This hotel is owned by a couple and you would see the wife working all the time, including planting flowers.
As for pets, we have a dog and he sometimes went to a doggy day care right around the corner (great location) and as for somewhere to do his " business" there was ample green space, (we picked up after) So we were pleased and will return in Sept. for a week. If you want a fancy place to stay with a spa & etc. this is not it, however if you want the basics and not spend a fortune this is the place. We travel a lot and stay in different hotels/resorts and you pick the place according to what you want to do & stay.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annplyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny M, General Manager at Econo Lodge Clarks Summit, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2015

Dear Ann,
Subject: Your recent stay at Econo Lodge in Clarks Summit
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.Your kind words for Nikki was really appreciated yes she is a gem in our team.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon! also like to extend

Sincerely,

Sunny Mehta
General Manager
Econo Lodge of Clarks Summit/Scranton
5705861211

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2015

Unlike other motels, this was squeaky clean, friendly staff, and everything worked. It was also very close to the highway and very inexpensive. I will definitely return if im in the area. If you want a fancy hotel with nice amenities, try a different hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cfrie1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny M, General Manager at Econo Lodge Clarks Summit, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2015

Subject: Your recent stay at Econo Lodge in Clarks Summit
Dear CFrie,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Sunny Mehta
General Manager
Econo Lodge of Clarks Summit/Scranton
5705861211

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clarks Summit
0.4 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 6 in Clarks Summit
171 reviews
4.9 km away
Days Inn Scranton PA
Days Inn Scranton PA
#8 of 10 in Scranton
670 reviews
0.6 km away
Ramada Clarks Summit Near Scranton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dickson City/Scranton
7.5 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites Scranton Dunmore
19.3 km away
Comfort Inn Pittston - Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Clarks Summit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Clarks Summit

Address: 649 Northern Blvd, Clarks Summit, PA 18411-9025
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Clarks Summit
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Clarks Summit
Price Range: €29 - €80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Clarks Summit 2*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Econo Lodge Clarks Summit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econolodge Clarks Summit
Clarks Summit Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing