We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Customer service / Thumbs Down”

Shula's Steak House - Center Valley
Price range: US$30 - US$90
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Rt 309 & I 78
Description: Shula's Steak House is the classic American, fine dining steak house. Our restaurant is themed after 1972's Undefeated Miami Dolphins and showcases their "Perfect Season" - the only team in NFL history to finish a season 17 - 0.Our custom center cuts of Premium Black Angus Beef® steaks accompanied with our aging process make up our award winning SHULA CUT ® , the best beef money can buy. Our custom cuts and aging process are the highest in the industry. You won't find a better steak anywhere.Shula's events and social gatherings offer a winning tradition and atmosphere, combined with exceptional menus, professional service and dedication you would only expect from the NFL's winningest coach - Don Shula.Each restaurant is themed after the 1972 Miami Dolphins' "Perfect Season" - the only team in NFL history to finish a season undefeated. We invite you to experience Shula's Steak House, where we only offer the biggest and the best.
Hazleton, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Customer service / Thumbs Down”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

This restaurant is for couples only. If you want a FREE MEAL or a FREE bottle of wine with dinner, this is the place.....just tell the assistant that the table next to you is being a little loud or enjoying themselves too much and it is ruining your evening....IT WORKS LIKE A CHARM. BUT BEWARE if you are the scapegoat.....because you will pay through the nose !
This is 100 percent true.....except my family was the scapegoat for over $1,000 dollars.
Please pass this on and enjoy as many FREE meals as you can.... We were 8 adults, 4 of us seniors, had one drink apiece, we're celebrating with our adult children , no profanity, no obscentity, just grandchildren stories & fun conversation. Remember this is a sports grill with many big screen TV's. Food was good but not exceptional.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Cynorl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Shula's Steak House - Center Valley, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Cynorl, we would like to thank you for leaving us your feedback. We are aware of the incident that happened while you were dining with us and we attempted to create the best outcome for all our guests currently in the restaurant at that time. After several complaints about the level of noise coming from your party we had a manager kindly ask if things could be kept down a bit because of complaints from other guests. We love to hear when our customers are having a great time with their friends and family, and fully encourage it. We realize that sometimes when having such a good time, one can get lost in the fun of their experience and become unaware of outside opinions. It was our goal to attempt to please all our customers that night and we hope that you can understand this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    40
    30
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

We went to Shula's to celebrate my wife's promotion. From beginning to end, our dining experience was exceptional. The service was superb, and the ambience was pure American at its best.

I had the 22 oz cowboy steak medium rare, and it was perfect. My wife had the prime rib which was cooked perfectly and had excellent flavor. Our friend Scott had the steak Mary Ann, which was the most tender steak he had ever eaten. Our side dishes were crab mac and cheese, lobsbter mashed potatoes, and creamed spinach. They were extremely large portions. Much more than one person could handle.

If you have the pleasure of being served by Erin and Stephanie, your evening is guaranteed to be exceptional.

We are already looking toward to our next trip to Shula's.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank duckbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Shula's Steak House - Center Valley, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
duckbrian we first would like to thank you for leaving us a great review and we would also like to thank you for your patronage. We'd like to offer your wife congratulations on her new promotion! We are happy to see that your dining experience with us was spectacular. It makes us extremely glad to hear back from satisfied guests. We will make sure to pass along the kind comments you had about our staff, they love hearing back from happy guests too! Once again we'd like to thank you for taking the time to leave us an awesome review and we hope to see you and your wife very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I really wanted to love it!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

I don't want to write this review, as I only like to write positive ones! I wanted this to be a nice spot for our weekly dinner date. First, the atmosphere is very nice... Beautiful, subtle but upscale. We were seated and ordered a glass of wine each. The server described everything in detail and very thoroughly, happy to answer any question.
Quite some time later, she returned to take our order. We both ordered the filet and some sides. Both filets were ordered medium-rare. We were seated in a smaller room and others around us were much further along in their meals and had arrive much later than we had. It wasn't that big an issue, we were having a nice evening, and in no rush. Just an observation.
When our dinner was served much later, our steaks were cold and not even close to med-rare, these were med-well. No red center, not even pink! We were both very disappointed, but aren't the type to complain and send things back. Particularly since we had already been there an hour and a half and were pretty hungry. Our side dishes were cold as well.
Overall, for a $200. dinner for 2, I would have expected much more attentive service and an even passable meal. I hope this was an aberration for Shula's, but we did not have the experience that I've enjoyed at other locations in the US.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank BeckyVogt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
167 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Sexy, Chic and Sophisticated”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Whether you are looking for a drink at the bar or dinner in the main dining area, you can't go wrong visiting Shula's Steak House. The drinks, food, service and decor is top notch!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Shula's Steak House - Center Valley, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
MrTG we first would like to thank you for leaving us a great review and we would also like to thank you for your patronage. We can't thank you enough for the very kind comments you made about us, and it makes us very happy to hear back from a satisfied customer! We strive to create an excellent experience for our guests through our impeccable service, outstanding steaks, drinks and our fine dining atmosphere. If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit please don't hesitate to contact us. We want to make sure that all our guests' visits to our restaurant result in the ultimate dining experience. We'd like to thank you again for taking the time to leave us some great feedback and we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
allentown pa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Top quality service and eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

Went there for first time on a week-end. Had to make reservation but easy process. Valet park was efficient. Server was excellent. The choice of meats was good and the quality was top. It was a busy place but not noisy. Service was rather quick. I recommend strongly. I have tried Blue Steakhouse and emeril's steakhouse and these are good (but not also consistent). This is better although i need to go o e more time to see if it is consistent (although it appears to be)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nettlebayguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Shula's Steak House - Center Valley, responded to this review, 24 November 2011
nettlebayguy thank you for the great review! We are extremely happy to hear that your first experience dining with us created a great first impression of our restaurant. We see that you mentioned that some other restaurants you have dined at have been "good", but lack the consistency you desire in a fine dining restaurant. Everyone knows that you don't become undefeated without being consistent, and here at Shulas, we embrace that mentality just as Coach Shula did with his undefeated team in 1972. Simply put, we know how important it is to be consistent which is why our staff strives to always create the best experience, whether it be the service, food or the atmosphere! Once again we'd like to thank you for taking the time to leave us a wonderful review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shula's Steak House - Center Valley also viewed

 
Center Valley, PA
Center Valley, PA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing