We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B with Exceptional Value”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bloomsburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pump House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Bloomsburg B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 2 September 2011

This was the first family trip for me, my husband, and 2 1/2 year old son; we could not have asked for a better place to stay! There was a beautiful stream that ran behind the grounds of the B&B that we were all able to wade in. We had more fun on the grounds of the Pump House then we actually did at Knoebels Amusement Park. We loved the hospitality of our host and the overall ambiance and will return in years to come.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lalalosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 60 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2011

We pulled up late on Sunday night to a very gracious host who helped us get settled. As soon as we got out of the car, you could hear the Catawissa Creek in the background. We stayed in the Catawissa suite and the bed was so comfortable, which my husband and I feel is hard to find these days. Our 2 little ones thought sleeping on the futon (in another room) was so cool. Each morning, we got a homemade delicious breakfast with all the fixings, omelets, eggs over easy, and a breakfast burritos. Doug and Marika were so kind and the kids had different type of pancakes each day. The grounds are beautiful and there is a game room that is huge. We would definitely go back there again and have already referred several people.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bridey21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

for the price and last minute ( 12 hour advance booking) it was good. location was beautiful, breakfast was great. furnishings and special touches, like hand made tiling an antiques, were cool. However, the small bed and uncomfortable futon were not so great .
Very nice host and hostess.

Room Tip: ask about size of bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pamemarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarikaPennsylvania, Owner at Pump House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2011

We were very glad we could accommodate you at the last minute and with a special rate and we do appreciate your business very much. Guest satisfaction is our most important concern; that is why we restored our unique vintage property with loving care using special touches like handmade tile designed and installed by the innkeeper that was featured in This Old House magazine, original antiques and unique features like the hand-painted colorful tin ceiling in your room. That is also why we offered organic, local, sustainable and high quality food and beverages and served them to you on vintage Fiesta ware along with antique sterling silverware. Therefore, we are puzzled by your dissatisfaction with the size of your bed since that is precisely the size you booked; if you had mentioned your wish for a larger bed, we would have moved you to another room. Your review also misleads others by referring to the bed as "tiny" and we feel we owe it to the travel community to set the record straight; double beds are all a standard size and yours was no tinier than any other double bed. We also recommended the futon as a seating area only, not a sleeping area. As you seem to be seasoned travelers, we are further puzzled as to why you did not request the size bed you wished for, nor did you mention, even when asked, that things were not as you wished. Thank you for this learning opportunity. We will be sure to confirm all our guests' expectations in advance from now on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed at the Pump House in early July when the heat of the summer was at its fullest.When we arrived I knew what I was expecting,but my hubby was a little hesitant because we were in the mountains in Bloomsburg and he being from NY, it can get a little scary for a city guy. We pulled up and Doug greeted us, which is nice, because I didn't know where to go. We parked, and Doug introduced himself and his son,who helps him out around the property. Doug let us pick rooms, either the brand new room with queen bed and futon, no kitchen in one of his restored houses.Very pretty and tailored homemade tiled bathroom, or the one bedroom with kitchen and the same beautiful bath. We picked the one bedroom. We got settled in and then we wanted to go wade in the Catawissa Creek, which was breathtaking. It wad so clean and very refreshing on a hot summer day. You need to wear sneakers or water shoes though, tons of boulders. Went back and relaxed, explored a little bit an then went to sleep on a very cozy bed. We got up the next morning and had a good breakfast. We are foodies, so that's why it wasn't great. We stayed 2 nights, and the 2 things I would recommend to Doug is a little more attention to detail on cleanliness and some weedwacking. Love the cats.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaxx1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

I am almost reluctant to post my review, as my experience was incredible and I am concerned it might make it difficult to book in the future. This place was fantastic. Doug took painstaking care of all the details from the rooms to the morning breakfast. It is located quite a bit off the beaten path, but works perfect for us. It is real close to many of the area's "attractions" - whether that's the Berwick Marathon, Knoebels Amusement Park, or the Bloomsburg fair.

The property itself is beautiful. Fruit trees, maples, oaks and Catawissa creek within a few hundred feet - all you can hear at night is nature. I sat outside on a bench sipping wine and watching the thousands of fireflies on a July evening.

The rooms are works of art. Restored antiques, handcrafted tile, and comfortable furniture and also accompanied by modern amenities such as high speed internet, cable, and air conditioning.

Then there's Doug and Martika. Awesome hosts - attentive, pleasant, but not hovering. You can just kick and chill. Breakfasts made from scratch in the morning are the best I have ever had.

We brought our kids (1 and 3) and had a great time. Will be back again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoctorPoisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bloomsburg hotels
12.4 km away
The Inn at Turkey Hill
The Inn at Turkey Hill
#2 of 8 in Bloomsburg
303 reviews
12.6 km away
Hampton Inn Bloomsburg
Hampton Inn Bloomsburg
#1 of 8 in Bloomsburg
627 reviews
16.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Bloomsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 km away
Comfort Suites Bloomsburg
Comfort Suites Bloomsburg
#5 of 8 in Bloomsburg
270 reviews
12.9 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Bloomsburg
9.1 km away
Budget Host Patriot Inn
Budget Host Patriot Inn
#6 of 8 in Bloomsburg
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pump House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pump House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 623C State Road, Bloomsburg, PA 17815
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Bloomsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bloomsburg
Price Range: €98 - €123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient to Elysburg's Knoebels Grove family fun park, Ricketts Glen State Park with its waterfalls trail & Bloomsburg FairOur two 3-room suites and four rooms with ensuite baths offer many country pleasures in a private, intimate setting. Our rooms are decorated with your comfort in mind, and showcase original art and tile work by Innkeeper Doug Hopkins. Wade in the Catawissa Creek or roast marshmallows in the fire ring. Play ping pong, foosball, bongo drums and the piano in the attached game room, or try your hand at darts. Cook your own dinner on the gas stove or use the BBQ grill outside on your patio. Inquire for special hands-on art classes for ceramics or stained glass with Doug. Now offering a gorgeous venue for your country chic wedding. Tie the knot under the trees or in our new 1,600 square foot Celebration Space! We can do everything for you or allow your outside vendors to help customize your unique wedding weekend. That's right - you have the place for the entire weekend for setting up and enjoying friends and family in a beautiful and relaxing environment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pump House b&b
Pump House Hotel Bloomsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing