We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Getway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn of the Dove - Bensalem
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Bensalem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I stayed in the Red Room and it was a blast. The room was very clean and fresh. As we enter the room they had the music playing and the lights dim. The rose pedals and teddy bear on the bed really set the mood. The fridge was also filled with water and coke and there were some cookies to snack on. I also was please to find that adult channels were included. The Customer service was Excellent (specially Ricky)! The water was very hot which is nice and never ran out. The only thing I would recommend would be to have softer sheets. Thanks

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesse P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

394 - 398 of 594 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2012

This is not a review of the property, its rooms, and its amenities. It is a review of our experience on a recent visit to Inn of the Dove and the unfortunate circumstances surrounding that visit and the lack of compassion and flexibility which will always taint the memory of the place in our minds.
I booked a night at the Inn of the Dove because of the positive reviews on Trip Advisor. I have been a long supporter of Trip Advisor and have generally had very positive travel experiences based on the recommendations I found there. I chose Inn of the Dove because of its positive reviews and the often negative reviews of other hotels in its general area. My wife and I needed to stay in the Bensalem area because of a early morning appointment at the Fox Chase Cancer Center. After check in at the Inn of the Dove, we made a trial run to the hospital in evening traffic to try to determine the length of the trip the next morning in rush hour traffic. We determined that the trip would take us over 40 minutes in optimal travel conditions. We decided that the anxiety of that travel time in rush hour added to the anxiety we were already experiencing about the upcoming appointment would not be good. We thought that we should seek a hotel closer to the hospital to ease that anxiety, even if the hotel had not received the same kind of reviews as Inn of the Dove.
When we returned to Inn of the Dove, we explained our situation and desire to the desk manager on duty. She was compassionate about our plea but told us that we had "used the room already for two hours" and, therefore, a refund for the stay was not possible. After some discussion, she offered to give us a gift certificate for a future stay because she could not issue a refund. We were not happy, but we accepted this settlement of the situation. That we were only dealing with a desk manager rather than the management of the hotel factored into our acceptance.
However, when we arrived home and I contacted the Inn of the Dove to see if we would indeed be receiving a gift certificate, I was told that we would but only for part of our charge. We were being charged $50 for room cleaning because we had "used the room." My wife and I compared notes and realized that we had both washed our hands, and I had taken one of the complimentary bottles of water from the refrigerator, drank it, and placed the empty bottle in a wastebasket in the room. We had "used the room" and were being charged $50 for washing our hands and drinking one bottle of water.
I realize that hotels generally have strict cancellation policies and must have them. I also appreciate flexibility in treating individuals and individual situations as an important part of being human and running good establishments. I found the treatment at the Inn of the Dove was strong on the first and very, very weak on the second.
I could not recommend Inn of the Dove to anyone based on this treatment.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
11  Thank grmm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_dove, Manager at Inn of the Dove - Bensalem, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2012

To our valued guest, this has been very unfortunate that you were unable to stay with us at that time due to circumstances out of our control. Here at the Inn of the Dove we have very high standards for cleanliness and hospitality. This is just one of the reasons why we have so many good reviews from other valued guests for our clean rooms. Here at the Inn of the Dove ~ Bensalem, we work very hard to maintain our rooms to keep them as beautiful as we can. As this guest stated that they have went in the room for about 2 hours before they have arrived back to the front desk and used some of the amenities, such as the sink in the bathroom. This right here is enough for us to clean the room as we are not going to resell this room and have not be cleaned again, the room must be cleaned and after the guests checked out, housekeepers were sent over to clean the suite. The manager that this guests talked with is the Assist Manager for the hotel and was at the same time helping guests at the front desk, as this is part of her job. The manager also after the guest have check out went to the room along with the housekeepers to check to make sure everything is okay with the suite. The bed was not made the way that our housekeepers make the bed, so that states that this guest had used the bed but also made the bed back again. The sink was used and soap was used and trash in the room. Here at the hotel, having high standards for cleanliness this room to us has been used and needed to be cleaned before we can sell the suite to another guest. When the manager was talking to this guest, she was very concerned and felt very deeply for this guest and what they had planned for their appointment the following day. She did offer a gift certificate for the suite so the guests are able to spend a relaxing get-away without the stress. We did not charge the guest anything else we just were giving the guest the gift certificate that is valid for 1 year, for the same amount that they have paid just we have deducted the amount for the cleaning. As we thrive on meeting all of our guests needs as much as we can having clean rooms is very important. We do hope and wish all is well with this guest and hope to see the return to spend a relaxing time in our suite and see why we have so many positive reviews.

Diana Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We enjoyed our 2nd anniversary in the black and gold room and it was very nice. Would def spend another occasion there.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hdeperro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

My girlfriend and I were looking for a quick getaway and picked this place due to location. Check in was a breeze. The room was classy, and very clean. Clean is VERY important when dealing with a sexual retreat! The heater was AWESOME. Due to the fact their was a lot of nudity (in our room, of course) we were constantly changing the temp. It was almost instantaneous and kept a nice mood going. The whirlpool was awesome, and the fireplace is nice. Note: Bring your own durlast firewood starter because they run about $9 a pop there.

Oh yeah, a bidet. Worth it right there!

Overall we got the privacy we wanted, and were able to be free without any constants.

Room Tip: We did the Honeymoon suite. It was pretty dope.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeontheHut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

I would highly recommend this inn for those looking for a nice fun romantic getaway.
It is well worth it!

Room Tip: Get a room with a jacuzzi, its the best! Rooms were very quiet and clean. Service was excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJ W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bensalem
0.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Philadelphia/Bensalem
0.5 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#7 of 9 in Bensalem
211 reviews
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Bensalem - Philadelphia Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Radisson Hotel Philadelphia Northeast
10.4 km away
Sheraton Bucks County Hotel
1.3 km away
Courtyard Philadelphia Bensalem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Dove - Bensalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Dove - Bensalem

Address: 3901 Old Street Rd, Bensalem, PA 19020-1573
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Bucks County > Bensalem
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Bensalem
Price Range: €124 - €195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn of the Dove - Bensalem 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Bensalem, Pennsylvania, hotel is the perfect location for weekend family getaways and for people traveling on business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Inn of the Dove - Bensalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Dove - Bensalem Hotel Bensalem
Hotel Of The Dove Bensalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing