We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Under New Management"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kah-Nee-Ta Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Warm Springs
Condon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“"Under New Management"”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

This is my family's 12th spring break at this resort, and this is the first time we have come away feeling a little dissappointed. There were no activites (crafts, games, movies) for the kids. There were no activities (casino, comedy or music in the lounge) for the adults. The prices for EVERYTHING have increased and the services have decreased. Pool towels for guests are now $2 ... each. Our room price was twice what we paid the year before. The lodge casino has moved, along with the snack bar.
The staff was as friendly ever, but it seemed they were a little embarassed about the lack of services. "We are under new management," was the standard reply to our concerns about the dissappointing changes.
We will be watching closely to see if New Management finds a way to operate this resort in a way that maximizes their budget without breaking mine. Till then we, regrettably, will stay away.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank bnte2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    146
    120
    95
    85
See reviews for
245
141
3
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Corvallis, OR
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I took my boyfriend away for one night at kah nee tah. Since this was a special occasion I made sure all the arrangements were made.

If you have a pet, you must stay down at the village rooms which are about half a mile from the actual resort. not close enough to walk. Also the casino is not at the resort. Down at the village, the pool was closed, the coke machine was broken, and the ice machine didnt work. Not impressed with the village whatsoever for a romantic night but at least it had a big balcony for the pup.

Food was amazing and the service was good. Wuld choose again for pet friendliness but not much else.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the village in winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoastieGirl2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukie, Oregon
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Had a really wonderful weekend getaway at the resort. The food in The Chinook Room was WONDERFUL. The service was amazing!!! The only negative we noticed was the service in the lounge... it was REALLY BAD. We tried twice, different people working, and the second time was worse than the first. We wouldn't go back in there for a cocktail, drink in your room. The casino is small but fun. Rooms are old but clean and we like that they all have balconies. Wonderful friendly people everywhere except the lounge.

Room Tip: All the room have basically the same view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OregonMom97222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

I stayed and enjoyed it. People have to realize the location and to expect bugs around the High Desert. Only problem were guest that threw hissy fits at checkout about little stuff that dont make any sense. I would recommend this place to everyone. (P.s. just not to yuppy's)

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Screame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

My wife and I like to celebrate her birthday at this resort. We love the views of the desert and the aroma of Sage and Juniper.

If you are looking for a fancy "Bellagio" type experience, look elsewhere. This is a resort 12 miles off the highway, with no other services nearby.

Activities include tennis, golf, swimming, horseback riding, spa services, and gambling at the casino. My favorite is one not featured: I like to hike the trails into the desert and up to the rim rock. The views are even better from the top (see photo). Ask at the desk for a map of the trails, and consider taking water with you.

Every room has a view and a balcony. Some rooms only have showers, so inquire before booking if a tub is important to you.

The Chinook Room has moderately priced meals and a wonderful view. I recommend the Indian Fry Bread where it be for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. The Juniper Room is open for dining during the busy times, The prices are much higher and there is no view. It has not been open while we were there, so we have not tried it.

We have been there three times and plan to return next September. We recommend this resort to others.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warm Springs
24.3 km away
Inn at Cross Keys Station
25.1 km away
Quality Inn Madras
Quality Inn Madras
#2 of 5 in Madras
161 reviews
24.1 km away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Madras Chateau Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.4 km away
Motel 6 Madras OR
Motel 6 Madras OR
#3 of 5 in Madras
61 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Kah-Nee-Ta Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kah-Nee-Ta Resort & Spa

Property: Kah-Nee-Ta Resort & Spa
Address: 6823 Highway 8, PO Box 1240, Warm Springs, OR 97761 (Formerly Kah-Nee-Ta High Desert Resort & Casino)
Region: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Warm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Warm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:3 star — Kah-Nee-Ta Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kah-Nee-Ta Resort and Spa offers a variety of accommodations from suites and private view balcony rooms in the Lodge to Village suites and teepees and even a full-service RV Park. Every option is close to all the fun and diverse activities available at Kah-Nee-Ta.Kah-Nee-Ta Village was completed in 1964 and named for the Indian woman Xnitla, "Root Digger" who had owned the property. Xnitla was a scout and spiritual leader who used the natural hot springs and indigenous plants and roots for medicinal purposes and religious ceremonies. The Lodge and Convention Center opened in 1972Kah-Nee-Ta Resort is located on the 600,000+ Sq Acre Warm Springs Indian Reservation. It is owned and operated by the Confederated Tribes of Warm Springs. The Warm Springs Reservation was established by The Treaty of 1855 on a small reserve of land where our ancestors lived for thousands of years. In 1937 the Wasco, Paiute and Warm Springs Tribes organized as the Confederated Tribes of Warm Springs and became a sovereign, self-governing nation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Kah-Nee-Ta Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kah-Nee-Ta High Desert Resort And Casino
Kah-Nee-Ta High Desert Hotel Warm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing