We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good room, good price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Troutdale
Certificate of Excellence
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
59 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good room, good price”
Reviewed 19 September 2008

I've stayed in a LOT of Holiday Inn Express hotels. This one is fine.....not one of their newest or best, but fine for the area.
It had a small bathroom with stool and shower/tub. The sink was out in the main room, which I have never cared for. Its hard to wash your hands without waking the other person.
Overall, I slept well. The gal at the desk was friendly and check-in was fast and efficient. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable.
It is located by interstate, so its convenient, I guess, but it does make it a little noisy.
Overall, I was happy with it, and would stay again if in the area.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suemar63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    72
    21
    4
    2
See reviews for
59
73
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2008

This is the second time I've stayed here recently because it's near family I've come to visit, but I bring my dogs so I get a motel. I brought one of my adult kids with on both trips so we got double queens each time. They charged between $79.00 and 71.95 - but then $10 pet fee and taxes. The clerk this time was not particularly friendly and when we got there at 330pm initially wanted us to wait "for twenty minutes because the room wasn't ready". I asked that they just give us another room, so they did. The put the people with pets on the ground floor with a back door to take them out. That door does say "No Pets Allowed", but I can't see why?! It is a confusing message... .

Anyway the rooms are nice; comfortable beds with duvet-covered quilts and throws; TV, microwave, fridge, lots of clean towels.

The breakfast this time was a bit picked through and I was out there by 830. There was a large group of Asia tourists who were loading on a bus. They filled the tables and went through all the fruit...oh, well. I usually just eat a banana and yougurt. The rest of the stuff is bacon, eggs, cinammon rolls, biscuits and gravy; not my kind of food. They had plenty of good coffee, through.

I would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Pet friendly and budget minded without being dumpy or dirty
  • Disliked — Little bit cold reception - could be more welcoming especially with a previous reservation
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Cinnam0nGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2008

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights as it was between Mt. Hood for skiing and downtown Portland for shopping. The website stated that pets were allowed, but when we arrived, and after checking in, there were signs on the doors "No pets allowed". We decided to be discreet as our dogs are very small, quiet and well behaved. We happened to notice other families with dogs as well.

The hotel was quiet, even though it was close to Interstate 84 and a small airport. Breakfast was the HIE routine - bananas tended to be on the green side and not much in the way of whole grain breads but enough to put a decent meal together.

We reserved a family king suite, which had a king bed, and two double beds, refrigerator, microwave and small counter area. It was very spacious and comfortable for our family of 4 and two dogs. The rate was $115 a night including the breakfast.

The hotel was clean and well located. There is a large outlet mall on the opposite side of the freeway, and a Safeway and Hollywood Video a short distance away. Free Wi-Fi access and a computer in the lobby for guests. Free local newspapers.

My only complaints: one of the bedsheets had a small cigarette hole in it and the hot tub was outside and closed for maintenance. It would only really be usable in the summer months.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bargain_hunter46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2007

My wife and I stayed in a King Bed Executive on pedestal. The management tried to explain their non-reserved hotel rooms even with credit card. We had no problem with check in, and were confused as to why it was even brought up. The room, bed, pillows were wonderful. We did ask for a non-smoking room and the halls and the air out of the air conditioning unit made the room smell of smoke. The evening food snack bar had clam chowder, and fresh hot cookies, milk and water, coffee, hot coco. The morning had, pan cakes, scrambled eggs, biscuits and sausage gravy, cereals, fresh fruit, drinks, honey buns. A few other things and everything was keep full, and trays were available, just ask. Our room had a jet tub; we didn’t have time to use it but did notice a repaired crack. This was the last of a 7 day trip and was one of the best hotels we stayed at. They had a very friendly staff. We paid 109.95 with our AAA membership.

  • Liked — The bed, pillows
  • Disliked — cig. snoke
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank MarkLasVegas_Nevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GREEN BAY
Level Contributor
882 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2007

Stayed in Troutdale for access to Columbia River gorge, Mt Hood, and Mt St Helens. King size bed with 6 pillows! 4 firm and 2 soft labeled on the pillow. They had soup one night when we came back from touring around. Room was clean and kept clean all 3 days we stayed.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank dsj5777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troutdale
2.6 km away
Best Western Plus Cascade Inn & Suites
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Portland East-Troutdale
3.8 km away
Quality Inn Gresham
Quality Inn Gresham
#1 of 11 in Gresham
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Camas Hotel
Camas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Camas
42 reviews
6.8 km away
Hampton Inn Portland East
Hampton Inn Portland East
#15 of 139 in Portland
457 reviews
3.7 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Parkersville Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway

Property: Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway
Address: 1000 Northwest Graham Road, Troutdale, OR 97060-9549 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Portland - East)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Troutdale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Troutdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway! Our hotel is located 10 miles east of Portland International Airport at the gateway to the Columbia River Gorge National Scenic area featuring majestic Multnomah Falls. Activities and wonders abound in this land of rugged cliffs, sweeping vistas and cascading waterfalls. Start your morning out right with our complimentary hot breakfast including meat and eggs, biscuits and gravy, fresh waffles, plus a great selection of breads, cereals, muffins, yogurt, juice, and fruit. Spend your day hiking the Gorge, enjoying great food and shopping in Troutdale and on the river, or just relax and enjoy the day with a stroll by the Sandy River. Spend your evening wine tasting at McMenamin's Edgefield, featuring three restaurants with an onsite distillery, winery and a brewery. All of our guest rooms include a microwave, refrigerator, coffee-maker, and iron and board. We are a pet friendly facility and will be happy to give you directions to the best places to take the pup for a romp. Our pet friendly rooms are maintained to the same high standards as our pet free rooms. To keep you connected we offer free wireless high-speed Internet access and a business center in the lobby. Looking forward to having you in the house soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portland - East Hotel Troutdale
Holiday Inn Express Troutdale
Holiday Inn Troutdale
Troutdale Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing