We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$123
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$143/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$94
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$188
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$187/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$152
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
US$145
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$93
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clarion Inn(Gresham)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$153/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (253)
Filter reviews
254 results
Traveller rating
138
83
24
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
138
83
24
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall airportsoupcookiesroom was cleanfront deskdairy queenbiscuits and gravycascade lockspet arearooms are nicehot tubeasy accesswafflesvery nice stayportland airportfresh fruitstay there again
Filter
Updating list...
204 - 209 of 254 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2012

After a long day on a motorcycle touring the Columbia River Gorge area, this hotel was a welcoming break for the night. The room was clean and spacious and had a wonderful comfy bed to retire in. No problems with the free wifi offered.
The hotel is located next to a small airport which raised an eyebrow, but our room was facing the opposite direction and noise was not an issue.
No restaurants nearby to walk to unless you crossed over the busy highway. However,breakfast was included in the price which was wonderful. It was our first stay at a Comfort Inn and we were impressed enough to try another!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bieder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loree_Harrell, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

:) Comfort be us... most glad that you enjoyed your stay - the new king pillowtop beds rock, don't they?

We're missing having the restaurant next to us open (Wendy's closed in May), but an electrician came and got keys yesterday so that PGE can get the meter turned back on, so we're optimistic that someone is opening it back up in the near future. We worked closely with the city last year to get them put safe crossings under the freeway and that has helped the foot traffic (guest and staff getting to work) getting over to shopping and restaurants a lot, but it will be great to have options on our side again.

Appreciate you taking the time to write!

All the best,
Loree

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Great place to stop after touring the Columbia River Gorge area, especially if the family dog is along for the trip. There was plenty of space to walk our dog and the location across from the airport was a hit with my husband, who found the small planes coming and going very entertaining. The staff was extremely helpful and very knowledgeable about the area. Troutdale is a little tricky to maneuver around, but they had lists and maps handy to help us find restaurants. The room was comfortable and clean, the internet worked just fine and there was a good variety of breakfast items. Overall highly recommended; will definitely stay again when we're in the greater Portland area, with or without our pup.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCubBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loree_Harrell, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

:) I'm in the like-to-watch-the-planes camp, too. Did we get you over to Thousand Acres (just across the Sandy River) with the pup? If you missed that, it's hands-down the best place on the planet to let a dog be a dog - you can walk for hours without covering the same ground, swim in the river, sniff lots of new... dogs..., and most of the landscape is posted off-leash.

Very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and in Troutdale. We've got a good bunch of people here, so I appreciate the kudos to them very much, thank you.

All the best,
Loree

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed a couple nights on "staycation." We wanted to stay somewhere near lots of natural beauty (Multnomah Falls, Sandy River, hiking) but not too far from restaurants, and friendly local shops in downtown Troutdale. And it's across the street from the Troutdale airport, which is great if you like watching small planes.

In spite of its' close proximity to the freeway and small airport, it was surprisingly quiet.

I was impressed with the room. It felt modern and clean. Plus, there's a small fridge and a microwave. And they serve a full, free breakfast each morning.

When we arrived at our room after dinner, we heard a dog barking in the room next to us. We notified the front desk and they promptly moved us to a room far from the dog and took $20 off our bill. We were impressed.

It was nice to have a flatscreen with cable/HBO. We took advantage of thier workout room, too.

Overall, a great experience for us. No downside... Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tvmoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loree_Harrell, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Natural beauty doesn't get a whole lot better than the Columbia Gorge and (my personal favorite) the Sandy River, does it?

So glad you enjoyed your time with us and that we got you taken of appropriately... we'll see you the next time you decide to get away close :).

Best to you,
Loree

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We were towing a boat and the staff was great with their suggestion of where and how to park it so they would be able to see it from the front desk. Staff was friendly and helpful.

The hotel was full with a large group of high school swimmers for a meet. Doors slammed and loud conversations in the hallway went on all evening. (not hotel's fault, just a very noisey and loud group.

Woke in the morning and had problems with our toilet (they fixed it very quickly and we had no more problems)

I planned to come back after breakfast to nap a bit before checking out. But, someone knocked 3 different times (with the "do not disturb out") and when I finally got out of bed to answer it , it was the maid asking if she could clean my room!! I said I planned leaving at 12:30 (check out is 1pm). The maid seemed disappointed she couldn't clean right away. I could not get back to sleep so I packed up and to the front desk.

The staff checked and realized it was a new maid and verified she should never have done that. They apologized and sent someone right away to talk to her. They also gave me a credit for everything that happed during our stay.

I would stay here again, because it was a nice clean hotel, and the staff was great. They took each one of my complaints/requests seriously and responded to all with speed.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Mjtruett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loree_Harrell, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

Well, if we can take three hits and still get you back, we must be doing something right :).

Seriously, thank you for taking the time to write this - once in awhile things don't go perfectly, and while that can't always be avoided, we always do our best to make sure you leave smiling and knowing that it's important to us that you had a good stay.

Enjoy the rest of summer, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Loree

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel for almost a month as we were traveling for my husband's job. We didn't know from week to week how long we were going to be there and they worked with us on the room with no problems. Even gave us a room with 3 queen beds for the same rate as a regular room!! Very good breakfast and friendly staff. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: They had no pool but are in the process of building one.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1tumbleweedmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loree_Harrell, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

Bless your heart :) - it was great having your family here... you're a delight. We were happy to be able to upgrade you for the days we had the family suite available - nice to have a little more room to get out of each others' laps, isn't it?

Thank you for taking the time to write - I was just handed the final drawings on the pool and portecochere, so we're moving as fast in that direction as the powers that be will let us, and hope to have everyone swimming soon!

Hope to see you again, and that your family is well and happy.
Loree

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews