We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland - Tigard
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Tigard
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We payed under $70 through Travelocity name unknown, about half price. This is a nice hotel: clean, very quiet, excellent beds and bedding, large rooms, nice breakfast room with a better-than-most fare. Only negative thing I can say is there was no bottles of shampoo, etc. Only a wall-bound dispenser of a 2 in 1 shampoo, and a body wash. Less than a block from the Washington Square Mall.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharireid65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels5636, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland - Tigard, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind and positive comments about our hotel! I will make sure your comments are passed along to our staff. The staff and management takes pride in the accommodations and services we offer. Comments like yours reinforce our efforts to better serve our guests!

We appreciate that you chose Phoenix Inn - Tigard, and look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    140
    64
    37
    15
See reviews for
152
92
25
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Everything about this hotel was perfect for us and our stay. We had a king sized room that was very very comfortable. The room also had a living room area with desk and a couch.
The continental breakfast had waffles, breads, muffins, fruit, scrambled eggs, tortillas, cereals, coffee/tea, milk and juices. It was a little busy just before the 10am shut down. The inner courtyard was a nice relaxing quiet space from the breakfast room. The location is convenient to Washington Square mall and several restaurants including one we loved called the Thirsty Lion.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_W_Vancouver_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

My wife and I stayed a few days at the Phoenix Inn-Tigard in late July for the second half of our Oregon Coast/Portland trip. We're generally value travelers that do the odd splurge; married, no kids; mid thirties/early fourties.

We received a good deal on the hotel based on how we booked. Overall, we found it to be a good place to stay for our trip, due to location and complementary amenities. Would not hesitate to stay here again. Looking at the recent reviews, it looks like Portland was a popular destination for Vancouverites during the Canadian August long weekend.

Location
This Tigard location of the Phoenix Inn chain is located across the street from the Washington Square Mall (still have to hike across a big parking lot though), about 15-20 minutes south of Portland. It’s not directly off the I-5 but rather 5 minutes east along the 217 Beaverton-Tigard Hwy. Having a car, we found this to be a very good location to visit Portland and vicinity. Getting to the I-5 was fairly easy for access south to Woodburn or north to Portland. (Note: Your GPS may also route you on another route west/north to Portland which is also 15-20 minute trip but can help you avoid any gridlock on the I-5.)

We didn’t explore the area immediately around the hotel very much. The only thing we noticed of note in the neighbourhood (apart from the mall) was a Red Lobster. In Washington Square Mall area, there are a few different food choices including a Cheesecake Factory which seems always busy, standard food fair, Starbucks, etc.

In terms of big box shopping, there’s a Best Buy across the 217 from the mall and a Costco at the next exit west along the 217.

Room
We stayed in a suite with a king bed and enjoyed the space it provided. While it was not the most modernly decorated room IMO, it was clean and had most of the base amenities we look for as value travelers.

The seating area was fairly spacious with a sofa, desk, and wet bar. Around the wet bar was a coffee maker, microwave, and mini-fridge. One minor disappointment was that the mini-fridge did not have a small freezer area which would have been handy refreezing our cooler’s gel packs.

Bed was comfortable/fine with a pillowtop. As I’ve said in some previous reviews, my wife usually complains if the bed is not good and she was ok with this bed.

The sink and counter space area was configured outside the washroom. There was lots of counter space which was very handy. Shower/bath combo with soap and shampoo dispensed from a push unit. Water pressure was good.

Other amenities included: a medium sized tube tv with a good selection of channels, clock radio, iron/ironing board, and hair dryer. Closet and drawer space was adequate.
The free wireless Internet was stable with decent speeds. The large HVAC unit easily kept the room at a nice temperature.

We did not encounter any issues with the room other than slightly hearing some chatting going on outside in the parking lot. The pictures of the rooms on the website are a fairly accurate representation IMO (though the public areas look better in the pictures than in reality). Potential room selection points to be aware of: Some rooms are smoking. There is a room located at the end of a mini-corridor (size of a walk-in closet) where you catch the elevator. I can see this room potentially getting a lot of noise with guests getting on/off the elevator or chatting while waiting for the elevator.

Service
Check-in took a while because there was only one clerk and the single person ahead of us was checking in multiple rooms & had a bunch of questions. A clerk appeared from the back to help answer the phone but didn’t help check us in. Checkout was a breeze.
Housekeeping was fine.
The staff in the breakfast room kept it well stocked.

Miscellaneous
The hotel had free parking and surprisingly, we never had a problem finding a spot when returning late at night even though we overheard the front desk say the hotel was fairly full. We tried to park near the front of the hotel and brought everything to our room because of previous reviews that referenced break-ins. However, we did not see any issues when we were there (eg. lack of lighting, broken glass, etc).

The breakfast was fairly good for being complimentary. There was a standard coffee/tea area with a couple of different selections. A juice machine served OJ, a peach drink, and a cranberry drink. They had a good selection of cereals, breads (regular sliced bread, bagels, and English muffins along with standard jams and butter packs), sweet pastries, and biscuits & gravy. There was even a self serve waffle maker with syrup, strawberries, and whipped cream. There was a limited selection of fruit with pre-cut pineapple chunks, bananas, etc.
In terms of a hot food rotation, day 1 there was scrambled eggs, tortillas, bacon bits and cheese to build breakfast burritos. Day 2 there was scrambled eggs, sausages, and French toast.
Breakfast is served from 6:30am to 10am. We got there at 9am on Sunday and Monday mornings. There was still lots of food left and replenishment even with our late arrival (other than seemly running out of sweet pastries Monday morning). There’s a fair amount of seating (~30 seats) but it did max out both days. If it’s sunny, there’s additional seating just outside in an adjacent courtyard area.

They have a small indoor pool, hot tub, and fitness area adjacent to the front desk which is surprisingly open 24x7. There’s a coin operated laundry machine and dryer by the breakfast room but only one of each. We didn’t need to do laundry but they both seemed to be in use every time we walked by so it’d likely be a bit of a challenge to queue up to use it. There was one pc in the lobby that got a lot of use.
Lastly, fresh cookies at the front desk at night was a nice touch.

Conclusion
We found the Phoenix Inn in Tigard a good central place to stay for our trip to Portland/Woodburn. With a car, the pros outweigh the cons of staying just outside of Portland versus staying downtown for us. We would not hesitate to stay here again or recommend it to others looking for good value accommodations.

Room Tip: Smoking and non-smoking rooms. Careful of the room by the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milhouse123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels5636, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland - Tigard, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
Thank you for choosing The Phoenix Inn for your recent stay in Tigard/Portland. We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.It was a pleasure to have you as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Good first experience with Phoenix Inn. We got an amazing deal through Travelocity 'top secret hotel' deal and when we discovered that it was the Phoenix Inn, we were a bit unsure as we have never heard of this hotel chain before. Upon arrival, we were swiftly checked in and provided with a non-smoking room at the end of the hall way (bonus!). Here's a list of pro's and con's (from my opinion):

Pros:
-spacious rooms with mini kitchenette (bar fridge, sink, counter space, microwave, coffee maker)
-plenty of free hotel amenities (parking, breakfast, internet, coffee/tea station, swimming pool, warm cookies at the front counter, etc)
-conveniently located across Washington Square Mall and off Hwy 217
-comfortable bed, with real down comforter and choice of feather or goose down pillows
-sink & vanity is separated from the bathroom
-friendly staff
-quiet location, away from heavy traffic and appeared to be in a safe location.

Cons:
-sound transfer from walls, floors and doors. I could hear my neighbor's TV and screaming kids in the morning.
-noisy HVAC unit. If you keep this on throughout the night, bring ear plugs.
-shampoo and soap dispensed from the bathroom wall. Bring your own toiletries.
-outdated decor with well worn furnishings (but very well maintained and clean).

I had to be particular to come up with a list of con's so I would say that the pro's definitely outweigh the con's. Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: Do not stay in Rm 211, it's right beside the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frugalvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels5636, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland - Tigard, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Phoenix Inn and look forward to seeing you again in the future. All comments are great to see. I will make sure to share your comments with my staff.
Tracey Philbrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
96 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

This was our second stay at a Phoenix Suites and I was a little dubious as our previous stay in Eugene was not pleasant. This one was much better. The guy who checked us in was friendly and helpful, and the location is just a couple of minutes off the I-5 and walking distance to the Washington Square mall and several restaurants. Our room was oversized: two queen beds plus a sitting area with a love seat and small coffee table. The last time we stayed at Phoenix Inn I honestly wondered if they had bought the furniture at a garage sale but this property had the exact same furnishings so I guess it's just their style! Everything was fine, they just have very ugly green love seats and all around shabby looking furniture. That said everything was comfortable and the beds were great. Breakfast was also better than most in this category, for instance not only did they have waffles but they had strawberries and whipped cream to go with them! There were also many other options like bagels, yogurt etc. Coffee drinkers beware though. They had the worst coffee ever! It was just slightly brown water, we thought it might have been a mistake in the breakfast room but we tried the coffee in the lobby and it was equally watery and tasteless. Fortunately Oregon is full of Dutch Brothers!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlackberryBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels5636, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland - Tigard, responded to this review, 1 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time from your busy day to fill out a review. It is always such a lift to my day to find that we have pleased our guests!

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind and positive comments about our hotel! I will make sure your comments are passed along to our staff.

The staff and management takes pride in the accommodations and services we offer. Comments like yours reinforce our efforts to better serve our guests! We look forward to having you stay with us on your future visits to the Tigard area.
Tracey Philbrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tigard
1.0 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square
4.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland/Lake Oswego
2.9 km away
Comfort Suites Southwest
Comfort Suites Southwest
#55 of 141 in Portland
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Grand Hotel At Bridgeport
2.4 km away
Quality Inn Tigard - Portland Southwest
4.9 km away
Courtyard Portland Tigard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland - Tigard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland - Tigard

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland - Tigard
Address: 9575 SW Locust Street, Tigard, OR 97223-6677 (Formerly Phoenix Inn Suites Tigard)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Tigard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Tigard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:2.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland - Tigard 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel conveniently located 15 min from downtown Portland with comfortable guest rooms, indoor pool, onsite restaurant, complimentary WiFi, in-room microwave and refrigerator, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland - Tigard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Inn Suites Tigard Hotel Tigard
Phoenix Hotel Tigard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing