We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and view of the river”
Review of Mac's Diner

Mac's Diner
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Shady Cove
Cuisines: Diner
Description: We are a full-service restaurant and bar open for breakfast and lunch and dinner. We are currently closed on Monday and Tuesday and now also on Wednesday until labor shortages resolve.
Restaurant details
Description: We are a full-service restaurant and bar open for breakfast and lunch and dinner. We are currently closed on Monday and Tuesday and now also on Wednesday until labor shortages resolve.
Reviewed 5 August 2020

Mac's has a 1950's theme which is fun and serves up good food with good portions. The chicken fried steak was good and quite large. We waved at the rafters floating past on the river.

Date of visit: July 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank WaysideTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2020

There are relatively few restaurants that take advantage of the lovely Rogue River, which is why we decided to try Mac's. It is very cute - all full of 50's memorabilia - and has large windows on the river side for a nice view. We were seated right by the window (but moved farther away because we were next to a large party with several out of control kids). The tables away from the windows are slightly raised, so they also have a decent view. Two of us had sandwiches and the other member of our party had an omelet. All of us rated our meals as okay, but not wonderful.

That being said, we will probably go back at some point. It would be a great place to stop on the way to Crater Lake with visitors, and the view and decor offset the food.

Date of visit: March 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NEKVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2019 via mobile

Interior is decorated in the style of the 50's very cute. We both had burgers with fries and onion rings. All very good. Dessert death by chocolate yummy and big. Strawberry margarita over iced and not much flavor. Staff very friendly and attentive.

Date of visit: October 2019
1  Thank Jjp16788888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2019 via mobile

We had a wonderful experience at Mac's Diner. Our waitress was great. The atmosphere was fun. We had a nice view of the river. Our boys enjoyed the chicken nuggets and tater tots. Portions were good and yummy, two chicken fried steaks with mashed potatoes and gravy. The Turkey dinner was great. After dinner, we shared a banana split.
We will definitely visit again.

Date of visit: October 2019
1  Thank 863ElizabethM863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2019

Great place for great food and good service. Actually went there for dinner last night with a fairly large group, and again today for lunch. Ambiance is 50's all the way from statures of Marilyn Monroe in the dress blowing thingy, and Elvis with a guitar. Lot's of fun stuff on the walls, and the menu is a hoot to read. Not one member of our group had anything negative to say about their meal. My wife and I had the Salisbury Night Fever dinner (meat loaf with onion, and mushroom gravy), veggies and choice of potatoes. Preceded by soup or salad. The house salad was good, and the bean and ham soup was awesome. Very fast service despite the number of folks to take care of. Good prices too.

We went back today for lunch and had a bowl of chili and cornbread. The chili was quite good, but the cornbread not so much. Too dry and not enough sugar in it. Yeah, that's my taste, perhaps not yours.

The drinks were well crafted.

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mac's Diner also viewed

 

Been to Mac's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.