We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the cheap deal...EXTREMELY poor quality. :(”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Ocean Front Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Front Motel
Ranked #7 of 9 Seaside B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not worth the cheap deal...EXTREMELY poor quality. :(”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

Hands down, the hotel had a great location. It was footsteps away from the beach. However, you really get what you pay for. The rooms were extremely outdated.The worst thing was the smell of the room -- extremely muggy and smelled like cigarettes! The smell was so bad that the first thing we did was drove to Safeway to get some air freshener. :( I promise you I am not an overly picky customer at all, I just want to be real honest in my feedback to help others who may be thinking of booking this motel. Overall, cheap hotel but it's probably worth it to stay somewhere else and pay a few bucks more than to stay here. Trust me, your peace of mind is priceless at the end of the day on your vacation.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank marydethgrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    13
    11
    12
    14
See reviews for
31
17
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

We booked the room for Saturday on the Thursday before. We did not know it was the Hood to Coast weekend at the time we booked. Since the room was available that close to the relay I assumed it would be hot and cold running cockroaches but for $113 for the night, I figured I would just have to lump it. I was actually quite pleasantly surprised. The room doesnt offer any frills, bring your own shampoo and such. But it was clean. The bed was firm and comfortable. The coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator worked fine. The shower is large and has fantastic water pressure.Things to note: When I say right on the beach I mean it. The sidewalk was 3 feet from our window! The room we stayed in had a double and a dorm twin. My husband is 6 '1" so we ended up sleeping in separate beds so he would not hang over (he slept diagonally on the double). We will definitely stay here again since we really only need the room for sleeping. I think I would prefer a second story room next time, with a bigger bed!

Room Tip: Right on the beach means it. Window is 3 feet from sidewalk. Be sure to ask about the bed size since...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rhonda_Henderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tri Cities, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

The saying "you get what you pay for" couldn't be more well said. The rooms are very outdated which I soon realized was part of it's charm. I looked out our lower floor window (see picture)and knew we made the right choice for our family. We didn't come to Seaside to sit in a motel room. We came to play on the beach and walk to the shops. This motel had easy access to both. With the lower price, we had more money to play, dine, and shop. We will stay again.

Room Tip: The lower floor rooms have great views but also have many travelers walking by. Will try getting se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teddfamily2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

Just returned from a short 1 Saturday nite stay here and I have to say for the price we paid I was pretty impressed for the location and the view. Funky and old but so are most of the other hotels in the area and priced at least $50.00 less for the night we stayed than the the hotels on either side of The Ocean Front Motel. We had a queen unit #4A which was on the ground floor directly on the promanade. The down side of the ground floor is when the curtains were open anyone passing by on the promanade was basically at eye level. They only had heavy blackout curtains on the huge ocean front window so sheers would have been nice to at least partially block any prying eyes. Located about a block from the turn around and directly on the beach makes this place worth every penny we paid. The room had a coffee maker, microwave, small fridge and a TV. They only provide a couple of small bars of soap but apparently have sample size toiletries for sale for like .75 cents if you need them in the office. Within walking distance to everything in downtown Seaside. Very basic and completely no frills and no nothing luxury but comfy enough as you probably arent going to be spending much time in the room with that beautiful beach right out the door.

Room Tip: Bring all toiletries and blow dryer if needed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mazatlanbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallesport, Washington
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2011

The room had mold in the shower, with no water pressure, my kids ipod was stolen out of the room when we had even said we did not want maid service, there was a used condom under the bed, and we had to ask for the cooking supplies that were supposed to already be in the room. The front desk and manager were very rude.
The only positive thing was we could see out of the corner of the room to the beach.

Room Tip: Do not leave anything in the room take it with yo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LES1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Seaside hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seaside hotels
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort
0.3 km away
Inn at Seaside
Inn at Seaside
#6 of 27 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
0.4 km away
River Inn at Seaside
River Inn at Seaside
#3 of 27 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Inn
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Inn
#12 of 27 in Seaside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
0.5 km away
Hi-Tide Oceanfront Inn
Hi-Tide Oceanfront Inn
#5 of 27 in Seaside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.1 km away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Seaside Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Front Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Front Motel

Property: Ocean Front Motel
Address: 50 1st Ave, Seaside, OR 97138-5902
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Seaside
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Front Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Ocean Front Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Front Hotel Seaside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing