We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel needs updating and a pest inspection completed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Salem
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Salem
Reviewed 21 August 2017

Check-in representative was friendly but kept us waiting for almost 10 minutes while she took two different phone calls. We arrived at our room to drop off our luggage and noticed tons of little ants crawling everywhere, window sill, near A?C unit, bathroom sink and on the floor. We abruptly left and reported to the front desk and she walked with us to another room. That room also ha ants in the bathroom and shower and we pulled back the comforter and sheets and saw stains in several different spaces, dusty TV and table, older smaller refrigerator that wasn't clean, nor was the outside of the coffee pot wiped down. We left with our luggage and drove back to the front desk and explained that we were leaving and we asked for a full refund the GM was there and he didn't argue with me other then saying the ants come out in the heat. We were fortunate we could find another hotel room on short notice as we were down for a park concert. Very disappointing that this is a Howard Johnson property.

Room Tip: Stay away till they update the room sand have a pest inspection completed. Ask first before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank M6172ZAlindam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (552)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 552 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2017

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank nathanhC6233QW
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 August 2017

Stayed at the Salem Howard Johnson hotel for about a month... The last 12 days I didnt have any television reception... Mgr tried his best to fix it. It was a Direct Tv issue that was only occurring in my room. I am very disappointed that the issue was never resolved.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Q8369HVwilliamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank joyner18
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 August 2017

This was the worst hotel experience of my life. It was dirty dirty dirty. From the windows to the rooms. We couldn't bring ourselves to even sleep between the sheets. There were prostitutes outside our window doing business. Everything about this place was down right disgusting. There was even dog crap on the carpet in the hallway and when I brought it to the managers attention, he basically shrugged it off. I will never stay at another Howard Johnsons again. First and last time!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank sallysU1371EZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salem hotels
1.7 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites
3.1 km away
Super 8 Salem
Super 8 Salem
#15 of 24 in Salem
349 reviews
3.3 km away
Shilo Inn Suites - Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Days Inn Black Bear
Days Inn Black Bear
#14 of 24 in Salem
564 reviews
5.6 km away
Crossland Economy Studios - Salem - North
3.4 km away
Red Lion Hotel Salem
Red Lion Hotel Salem
#8 of 24 in Salem
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Salem

Address: 2250 Mission St SE, Salem, OR 97302-1267
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Salem
Price Range: €51 - €88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Salem 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Updated Melm 3/11/07 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Salem Hotel Salem
Howard Johnson Salem
Salem Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing