We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Salem
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 10 September 2011

I've never seen so many dogs in one hotel... There were dogs everywhere, I'd asked if there was a dog show. There was not.. anyway, i thought that was odd..
All i have to say is average.. Oh, it is RIGHT NEXT DOOR to Costco, which makes the entrance to the hotel kind of difficult if you are going down Hawthorne.
This hotel is not located downtown, which was a bummer.

Room Tip: i tried to find a cheaper rate on the internet there was nothing they charge by the person. It was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kch101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    185
    93
    43
    32
See reviews for
244
140
28
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

I loved the breakfast and the staff was professional and kind. The areas are all clean and there is a lot of parking. The location is ideal for downtown Salem. On the bad side, one of the towels was obviously blood stained in the bathroom and the walls were so thin that it gave me nightmares. I also was on the first floor, in the middle and the foot traffic in the hallway was long into the night and early in the morning. They allowed dogs too which I did not like as the room next to me had an arguing couple and a yappie dog.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iamannie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

My family and I stayed at this hotel for just one night but we wished we could have stayed longer. I could not have asked for better accommodations. The staff was super friendly and accommodating, the rooms were very clean and nice looking. The beds...AMAZING!! super comfortable!! The breakfast was excellent! And they were really good about keeping things stocked up so if something ran out, they were replacing it immediately. Hotel was super easy to find. And its a pet friendly hotel so our puppy could come with us. The ONLY reason I gave my overall score a 4 was because the indoor pool was a little on the chilly side. It is heated but the temp could have been bumped up a notch. My children didn't seem to mind the temp one bit though. So it wasn't too bad. Other than that little detail, I was very happy with our stay and we will be going back any time we stay in the Salem area!! Thank you to all you hard workers at La Quinta in Salem Oregon for making our stay so wonderful!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cristamcd3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLC, UT
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2011

We were at this La Quinta for only one night, but it was a really nice visit. The staff was gracious, helpful, and genuine. It felt very much like they cared about providing a good experience. Our double room was adequate and comfortable, with nothing too crazy-special, nor amiss. We found none of the negative issues mentioned in previous reviews. We didn't have any special requests, but honestly feel that if we had had any issues, they would have been resolved immediately. Although we didn't expect much from the free breakfast, it turned out to be more than we thought it would. We spent Easter morning here, and had all the breakfast requirements of a larger, more impressive restaurant. It was self-serve, but more than sufficient to get us back on the road. We would definitely visit this La Quinta again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aerojeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2011

Muddy parking lot. Inside of building looked rundown. Elevator needed to be painted do to graffiti. Room was dirty, very dusty and lots of cobwebs. Floors needed to be vacuumed all throughout. Key card did not work properly. Night shift staff was very unprofessional.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 13richie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salem hotels
0.2 km away
Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn
4.1 km away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
0.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Phoenix Inn Suites Salem
0.4 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#10 of 23 in Salem
127 reviews
3.2 km away
Shilo Inn Suites - Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites
Address: 890 Hawthorne Ave SE, I-5 at Exit 253, Salem, OR 97301-9683
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salem
#6 Business Hotel in Salem
#6 Family Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
100% Non Smoking Hotel Welcome to the La Quinta Inn & Suites Salem OR. Our friendly hotel is located just off I-5 and minutes from Oregon's capitol building. Whether your stay is for business or pleasure, we are sure to have everything you'll need to make your stay in the Salem area a memora...See moreble one. We are 2 miles for Bush House Park, Historic Downtown Salem, the Oregon State Fairgrounds, Willamette University and the Oregon State Capital. Salem AASF - McNary Field, the Salem Armory, the Salem Conference Center and Corban University are around 3 miles from the hotel. Our hotel is conveniently located by many business areas and we have comfortable guest rooms to let you finish up the last few work item. Our complementary Wi-Fi in your room or around the hotel will make it easy to stay in touch with the rest of your team. We have a great Business Center and also have Meeting Space so you can bring your team here to finish up the project. In town to visit the Capital or go downtown? After a day of site seeing or visiting you can relax and unwind in our great guest rooms. You can take a dip in our Indoor Pool or work of the stress in our Fitness Center. Family coming together? We can host them here in our meeting room. After a long day you can relax in your room or grab a bite to eat in one of the nearby restaurants. Get a great night sleep and wake up on the Bright Side in our comfortable guest rooms with all the comforts of home. Relax on our Pillow Top Mattresses while you watch your favorite programs on our 32" Flat Screen HD TV's with Premium Cable Channels. Refrigerators and Microwaves are in all our guest rooms with all the amenities you expect from a La Quinta. Ask for details on our Whirlpool Tub Suites. Start off your day with our complementary Bright Side Breakfast with items like Hot and Cold Cereals, Fresh Fruit, Yogurt, Pastries and Bagels. We also have hot items like Scrambled Eggs, Bacon or Sausage with Biscuits and Gravy. Our almost famous La Quinta Waffles go great with all you can drink Coffee, and assorted Juices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LaQuinta, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Suites Salem Hotel Salem
Holiday Inn Salem
Salem Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing